We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super clean with amenities galore!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Super clean with amenities galore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Booked a studio here for my daughter and I to her spend spring break from college and rid ourselves of the Midwestern deep freeze. This place was a fantastic choice! Beyond the fact that the island is a really cool place to visit, the resort is fabulous! Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly faces, live Caribbean music, and fruit punch and snacks. Check in was a breeze and we were given our room keys to 7244 - a nice 2nd floor studio overlooking the ocean. The studio was quite large with a full kitchen and office area running the length of most of the room (full size fridge and stove, microwave, dishwasher, all equipment you will need to prepare and serve food including even a blender!). There was a super comfy king bed as well as a hide-a-bed in the living room. There was a pretty balcony with table and chairs and sun lounger. There was a large flat screen TV and DVD player in living area and another large flat screen in the kitchen which you can watch from the bed. Lots of closet and floor space!!! Our internet connection was fine with minor intermittent slow periods - who goes to the island to be online anyway! But for receiving your email, skyping, etc, it was perfect. The bathroom was nice and had a large shower - no tub, and lots of storage space for your bath items. The main areas were very nice and clean as well. There was a beautiful infinity pool, outdoor gas grills, and a shuffleboard area. There were also tennis courts across the street! You can rent snorkel equipment right outside on the beach as well as sign up for excursions and activities. Note that there is not a workout room - they do have a workout center at their sister resort down the road and their shuttle bus will take you there between 9 - 5 each day. The restaurant was really good and they have special theme nights as well as 2-4-1 happy hour specialty drinks. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful! If I had to point out anything bad it would be a couple of very minor wear and tear issues in the room - but these were VERY minor - some veneer coming off of a cabinet and an unfinished wall repair behind the toilet. Also cool, your US electronics will work here just like in US - same plug same wattage. I was very impressed overall with this resort.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking ocean, of course!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing you and your daughter’s experience here at Flamingo Beach Resort. We were delighted to read that our accommodations check in experience, and customer service met, if not exceeded you and your daughter’s expectations. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels take you to St. Marteen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    516
    159
    69
    50
See reviews for
275
619
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

The Flamingo Beach Resort is a very nice hotel with large apt like suites with full kitchen. It was very clean with all the amenities. The only problem was that the A/C was not cooling, I notify it to the front desk before leaving for dinner but it was not fixed upon our return at 11pm, no room change was offered. Thanks God it had ceiling fan and the night was cool. I only stayed one night.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank conradowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our resort’s spacious accommodations and fully stocked kitchen. Our resort is proud to offer basic kitchen amenities like blenders, coffee makers, cooking utensils, dishware and silverware, ovens, dishwashers, microwaves, stoves, etc., in hopes of creating a convenient and home-like atmosphere during your stay.

We sincerely apologize for the in-room climate control issue you experienced. Our maintenance manager has been made aware of this problem for correction and further review to prevent this issue from reoccurring in the future. Although this is certainly unusual for our resort, we have taken action to fix the problem. Our team will do its absolute best to accommodate any guests if an issue like this does arise and we apologize if that was not your feeling.

We hope that this has not tarnished your opinion of our charming Flamingo Beach Resort, and that you allow us the opportunity to provide you with a much more enjoyable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed in this resort in Feb 2014 for a week. It is in a good location, near lots of restaurants (within 10 min walk), and on the waterfront. The pool is lovely and the beach as well. The room we had was 7510 which had a great view. I would recommend even numbered rooms to get this view. The studio was large with a divider that works well for when some people get up earlier than others. Full size kitchen was a bonus. The rooms are a little dated but if you have a problem with anything at all, call the desk and they will move you or remedy the problem. good service! We rented a small car, which we found necessary to travel to different beaches and locations throughout our holiday. It was also handy just to run to the bakery in the morning for fresh pastries...yum.

Room Tip: even numbered room, studios seem to be all in front of resort. Higher up, nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

After many weeks of combing the internet for the perfect hotel and spot on the island for our trip, we decided on the Flamingo Beach Resort. We wanted to stay in a hotel on the beach and to be close to restaurants and nightlife. I have to say, this hotel is in the absolute best location.

When we first arrived at the hotel we questioned the overall appearance, somewhat lacking in luxury. After a short amount of time, the hotel grew on us tremendously and by the end of the trip we absolutely loved it.

Our oceanfront room was a nice size with a king sized bed and a queen sized sofa bed. The sofa bed, to my surprise, ended up being the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on in a hotel. Our room had a kitchen which was incredibly convenient. We didn't cook but the refrigerator was worth it's weight in gold.

The view from our hotel balcony was over the beach behind the hotel and almost directly over the beach bar- restaurant Toppers. I would have preferred not being directly over Toppers but in the end, it mattered very little.

If you want to sit and relax on your balcony, I do highly suggest that you stay in an oceanfront or garden view room. The rooms on the opposite side of the hotel overlook the street which is less than pleasing.

On the property, there are two beaches. The first beach on the side of the hotel by the pool is quiet and more reserved. The second beach directly behind the hotel is a bit more populated and it shares it's sand with the hotel next door. It gets semi-crowded but it was never lacking in space.

There were many restaurants close by to choose from. Everything from casual dining to higher end. There is a great little restaurant where we had breakfast some mornings directly across the street. You can choose to take a 2- 20 minute stroll to the surrounding restaurants or you can take a quick cab ride, which are readily available.

There was a mini market close by and a couple of shops where you can get some essentials you might need.

Something that I would suggest that you avoid is the two men in the front of the hotel with scratch off tickets. They aggressively try to rope you into talking to time share people at the hotel. This whole ordeal stole 2 hours of our vacation time away from us.

My favorite part of the hotel's location was that it was a 1 minute walk from The Red Piano. It was an amazing piano bar and while we were there we were lucky enough to be entertained by a very talented musician by the name of Geoff Healey. This bar was the highlight of our evenings.

All in all, I would stay at this hotel again. We had a great trip!

Room Tip: Stay in an oceanfront or garden room. Avoid rooms that face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We just came back from 5 nights stay in Flamingo Beach resort. I booked it randomly through Expedia, since there was a very nice promotion. Reading some of the reviews after I booked, made me uncertain on how my stay may turn out. Some complained on noise, service etc. I was pleasantly surprised to find hotel beautifully situated on a very nice beach, with quiet and beautiful water. Hotel itself is very nicely maintained. Grounds are clean and the staff is very polite and ready to help with anything you may need. Agree with most of the reviews: the location is ideal. We did not need a car. Great restaurants (and many of them) are within walking distance. Some of the walks are pretty steep, but you can learn some flat "shortcuts" through walkways and beach. The nearby store had everything you may need should you choose to have breakfasts/snacka at your condo. The kitchen in the room is very nice and equipped with all the basics you need. Enough chairs and umbrellas on the beach. We would definitely come back there and recommend to our friends too.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 7216. Even numbers face ocean. I booked the ocean view room and had no problem ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GalinaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We only stayed a few nights actually and we are not timeshare owners. It was a nice studio, good size, good views and has a lot of things to do close by. Everything was clean and the room service girls were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The resort is generally well maintained; and most importantly, is very clean. However, I found our room, although generally up to date, either need some refurbishment. The laminate on the bathroom and kitchen cabinets had peeled off in a number of spots. Also, rather than replacing the toilet seat, a non-standard screw was inserted in the side and needed to be regularly adjusted. This should never happen in a first class resort, even if it is a also a time share. However, overall the facility is very nice. Rather than being on a long beach, it has 2 small private coves with umbrellas and chairs. In high season, it was not too crowded. Also, there is a nice infinity pool near the side of the resort where the beach is not developed. Finally, please note that this facility is at the end of a long narrow, curvy and dangerous road. This was not fun to drive if you went out out night.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the inside rather than the beach. If you can't get beachfront,, then I reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort
Address: Billy Folly Road 6 | Pelican Cay, Simpson Bay, Philipsburg 29572, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful white sand, sparkling blue waters, sunny skies - where else can you find all of this but in Saint Martin/Saint Maarten in the Caribbean? When you stay at Flamingo Beach Resort, you will have all of this, and more. Here you can have the most relaxing vacation of your life, or enjoy some of the many outdoor adventures in the area. If you love water sports, you can go windsurfing, swimming and snorkeling. See the scenery on horseback, or go for a hike along the many trails. You will never be bored while you are staying here, unless of course you simply want to sit back and do nothing, which you are more than welcome to do. Just imagine spending a week or longer just lying around on the beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, West Indies, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Flamingo Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Sunterra Flamingo Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing