We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay on the dutch side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Diamond Resort owner and this was my 6th trip to the property. Ocean view room with great view. Walked out my door onto a patio and off the patio right onto the beach. Room is very spacious and clean. Full kitchen with updated pots/pans/plates/glassware/etc.. Enjoyed making breakfast and lunch and then sit out on the ocean view patio. Love snorkeling off the beach. Lots of fish to see. Many great places to eat within walking distance, including Toppers by the Sea. Staff is very friendly and accomdating. Finally have wifi available everywhere. Was great being able to check work email right on the beach or immediately upload photos to facebook. We love this place so much, it was our 6th stay. We rarely leave the place. The pool is great too and lots of activities over there (water aerobics, bingo, etc...) but i love being on the beach and snorkeling. water is crystal clear and just fantastic.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are the best, especially the ones facing west as you can watch the sunset right fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birdmen1637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here as Diamond Owners from Sept 13-20 and were very happy with our stay. The rooms are clean and well stocked, the views are beautiful and so close to the water. The snorkeling just out from the resort is as good as any of the beaches we went to (16 in all!). Toppers on the beach is a handy retreat when the sun beats down and the hotel staff from the front desk to housekeeping were always friendly and helpful. We would readily stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

We’re delighted that you had a great time at the Flamingo Beach Resort – thank you for this lovely review! We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to all our owners, members and guests, and we’re really pleased to read that our team were able to provide you with all the assistance you needed during your stay. We really hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another vacation – we’d love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have crohns and have to eat my own prepared food so the flaimingo was a godsend because it came with a kitchen on the ocean and the best deal we found on the island through expedia. there was good snorkeling off their one beach and the company that does the scuba next door is exceptional. our guide was Norwegian or sweedish and there were four of us in her group and she was awesome.

Room Tip: rent a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed one week - 9/14/13 - 9/21/13. Some blips during check-in, but we made it. We had an ocean view that was gorgeous. The room was nice and well stocked, although some of the furnishings were dated. The gardens are very nice. The pool was great; the pool bar was not. Went to get drinks one day, and there was no bartender. One lady came up and said she was there earlier and there was no one there. Finally went to the front desk to report this (it was happy hour and supposed to be 2 for 1 drinks), and shortly thereafter the bartender showed up in his bathing suit dripping wet. Two days later I bought a hot dog from the pool bar, and within an hour I had Montezuma's revenge in St. Martin. Just saying.....
The beach area is breath taking.
Bombarded with phone messages promoting Topper's restaurant - 6 messages the first 2 days, 4 another day, and at least 2 every day after. I won't go there for that reason alone.

Room Tip: Topper's restaurant sits DIRECTLY in front of several units - beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed there for my birthday Sept 10th-11th . The front desk staff was awesome major shout out to Dinesh he always had a genuine smile & always ready to answer all my question. The room was very clean & the bed was very comfy . I also loved the pool . I will definately return for a longer stay & would recommend this place . It awesome

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shanna69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We are delighted that you have chosen our resort as the perfect setting for your birthday celebrations and we are thrilled that we contributed to making this occasion even more special. We hope to see you back celebrating your future birthdays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very beautiful location and you can watch sunsets from the beach. Very clean and all you need for a great condo. Go to the Piano Bar up the street for a great time! The staff are very professional and accommodating. Small grocery up the hill has all you need to stock up for breakfast etc. Grills on the beach for lobsters or steaks! rooms equipped like a normal house.

Toppers restaurant and bar right on the premises, they also serve breakfast so enjoy a great view for morning coffee over looking the bay. Try to book an ocean view room and if not, tip the staff and see what you get! Loved this place, only 10 min from the airport, but far enough away...no noise except the ocean waves to lull you to sleep.

Room Tip: All are great, water view , pool or beach better choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abaco24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just returned from a week at beautiful Flamingo Beach Resort. We had a lovely deluxe ocean view on the second floor with a wonderful veranda overlooking the beach and also the airport across the bay. What fun watching the planes come in and take off along the runways.. The staff (thanks Ella for the great welcome) were very attentive to our needs and very personable. The restaurant, Toppers on the Beach was topnotch and just downstairs from our room. Lounge chairs (and noodles) were always available at the beach and complimentary.

We would have given this resort 5 stars except for a few problems we had in our room (7222). First, we had a TV in the bedroom that on our first night went on at 3 am. The staff checked it out and after that, it never went on at that hour BUT did go on during the day. Very strange.
We also had a leaky refrigerator (water pan was cracked) which we had to report at two different times. Other than these little problems, everything else was great and we would definitely come back. Thanks to the Bellhop (Clem?) who recommended Lees and Pineapple Pete's for dinner - Both were fantastic. One little tip, when driving up Billy Folly Road, watch out for both the potholes and the speedbumps (many very hard to see but you will certainly feel them if you are going to fast)

Room Tip: Building 7 overlooking the beach and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cruzluvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

It was a great pleasure to read your review, full of kind words and location tips. We apologise for the few inconvenience you mentioned and assure you that we will look into these matters. We are glad to know that you had an overall great stay and are looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.3 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.3 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
2.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort

Address: Billy Folly Road 6 | Pelican Cay, Simpson Bay, Philipsburg 29572, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range: $131 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful white sand, sparkling blue waters, sunny skies - where else can you find all of this but in Saint Martin/Saint Maarten in the Caribbean? When you stay at Flamingo Beach Resort, you will have all of this, and more. Here you can have the most relaxing vacation of your life, or enjoy some of the many outdoor adventures in the area. If you love water sports, you can go windsurfing, swimming and snorkeling. See the scenery on horseback, or go for a hike along the many trails. You will never be bored while you are staying here, unless of course you simply want to sit back and do nothing, which you are more than welcome to do. Just imagine spending a week or longer just lying around on the beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Flamingo Beach Resort St Maarten
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Sunterra Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing