We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Flamingo Beach Resort is ideally located in Simpson Bay. The resort is clean and the staff are very nice. The resort is not "luxurious," as it is a time-share rental and there are not a lot of hotel amenities. The restaurant, Toppers, isn't that great and they don't accept credit cards, but it is a good place to grab a drink. There are two beaches and the one by the pool is quieter than the one by the restaurant. My room was very clean and spacious for a studio. There are several restaurants that are within walking distance to the property and if you want to eat at one that is too far to walk, the front desk will call you a cab. I had a very enjoyable vacation and would stay there again if I return to St. Maarten.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeganMonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have been to Flamingo Beach Resort 3 times in the past 3 years and are going back again in 2013. Great resort, located on a point in Simpson Bay, away from all the tourist traffic. They have 2 beaches, we prefer the smaller beach in front of the pool as it tends to be far less crowed. Nice restuarant and bar on premise and several good restaurants within a short walk.

Room Tip: We stay in an Oceanview Studio, great for 2 people. Very large room facing west with a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GReadeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family had a beautiful time relaxing, snorkeling, shopping and re-charging at this location. The opportunity to use the kitchen when we needed to, step a few steps into the turquoise ocean or pool. Indeed the oceanview rooms are spectacular. The airport is close by and you have the chance to see all the airplanes' activities. The staff and front desk administration are so helpful, thank you for this. There is so much to see around this island, we too didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dajs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for this lovely review! We’re really pleased that you had a great vacation at the Flamingo Beach Resort, and we really hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here – we’d love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

this place was very clean,the people were friendly,and it was close to every thing you needed,walking distance to restaurants and casinos,and shopping,it also has great views of the bay and the island

Room Tip: get a room facing the water and away from the pool area,unless if u have kids,most of the units are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank altimajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent 4 days at this resort with my family and friends and it was amazing. It was perfect for what we needed and what we were looking for. We stayed in an ocean front studio on the first level and were able to walk right from our patio to the pool or beach. There was a bar right next to our room, nice! There is some work that is needed, but overall, it was very nice. The rooms are equipped with full kitchens, appliances, silverware, towels, plates, blender, coffee machine, everything you would need for a comfortable stay and whatever was missing, the resort provided. There's a mini mart just a short walk up the hill and a supermarket about a seven to ten minute walk down the hill. The pool was too small for my taste. I stayed on the beach most of the time. There are a few restaurants and bars to choose from to eat and relax. We cooked breakfast and went into town to eat. I'm the type of person that loves to explore different resorts when I visit places so I can't say that I will stay here again, but I would recommend Flamingo to anyone looking for convenience, comfort, cleanliness and quiet surroundings. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tashakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort – thank you for your review! We’re really pleased that you’d recommend the resort to others, and we hope that you will choose to come back here for another visit – we’d love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from our 4 days short stay in St Maarten at the Flamingo Beach resort, room 7106. I did a lot of research before booking this hotel, and it really paid off. This place could not have been more perfect. First off, the front desk staff were AMAZING, and always super helpful, polite and put a smile on our faces. We booked an ocean view studio and were nicely upgraded to an ocean front, which was wonderful. Steps from our patio was the beach and bar. The bar and restaurant staff were mostly friendly. The breakfast is very good. There are three very different beaches at this resort, and 2 bars. We really liked the daily specials and happy hours. The beaches were all calm and quiet. We love to snorkel, and were pleased with really great snorkeling right off the beach. The water is calm, and it is very safe and protected. We saw lots of older people even getting in to snorkel and small children as well. Every time we left we regretted it, this was the best place to be to relax, eat, drink, and get away from it all. Thank you so much. If we return to SXM (this was our second visit) we will definitely consider this as the only place to stay !

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank TPAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We came to this resort as it received great reviews and it was a pleasant stay. The hotel is located right on a beautiful beach. The facilities are well kept. When we entered our studio, we did notice some dirt and dust, but overall it was clean. The resort holds activities at the pool that are enjoyable. The pool is large, warm and we enjoyed it very much. It is worth it to splurge on an ocean view room. To wake up to the view of the beautiful ocean and waves is something that you do not get to appreciate during your daily life. The front desk was very helpful and friendly. Overall, had a great stay and did not want to return.

Room Tip: Splurge on an Ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busybee2129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort – thank you for your review! We’re sorry to read your concerns about dust in your apartment, though: we encourage guests to speak to the front desk if they have any concerns in this regard, as our housekeeping team will be more than happy to assist.

We really hope that you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another visit – we’d love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.3 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
5.3 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
762 reviews
1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort

Address: Billy Folly Road 6 | Pelican Cay, Simpson Bay, Philipsburg 29572, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range: $175 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful white sand, sparkling blue waters, sunny skies - where else can you find all of this but in Saint Martin/Saint Maarten in the Caribbean? When you stay at Flamingo Beach Resort, you will have all of this, and more. Here you can have the most relaxing vacation of your life, or enjoy some of the many outdoor adventures in the area. If you love water sports, you can go windsurfing, swimming and snorkeling. See the scenery on horseback, or go for a hike along the many trails. You will never be bored while you are staying here, unless of course you simply want to sit back and do nothing, which you are more than welcome to do. Just imagine spending a week or longer just lying around on the beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Flamingo Beach Resort St Maarten
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Sunterra Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing