We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flamingo st Maarten, diamond resort, lives up to its name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I returned again to the flamingo, it's an annual thing now. My dad has a time share and we stay in the units right behind Toppers on the beach. This resort is consistently good and they are maintaining it well. The check in process seems a little faster this year and they have painted the front facades on the balconies and porches a dark color to match the glittering and other trim. Looks great. If you are going to spend a week without a rental car, this is the place. Many restaurants in walking distance, close to the airport, right on a pretty beach, and next to a marina that offers boat trips everywhere. Car rental on site next to the casino if you want one for a day to explore the island.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you are near the bar. It closes by 10 and the rooms are well built, not much soun...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaeDae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay here at Flamingo Beach Resort, and an even bigger thank you for being a repeat guest with us. We are really delighted to read that our accommodations, customer service, and location have exceeded your expectations, and contributed to your repeated stays. The tips you have provided for our resort and the nearby area will really help our future guests when they plan their stay. We look forward to seeing you and the rest of your family again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,285)
There are newer reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed a week over the holidays and had a great time. This is a good place for a simple and relaxing vacation. There's a place right by the beach although it's enclosed for massages which were good. There are usually a couple of activities by the pool, bingo, bean bag toss, water aerobics, etc per day. The beach is fabulous although there are rocks so you have to be careful. There is great snorkeling close by. The sunsets are incredible and lots of yacht watching to do. The rooms have mini kitchens and comfortable beds and pullout couches. The staff were super friendly. All rooms have terraces which is nice. The ones with ocean views were great. This is a timeshare spot with a loyal following of repeat clients. There is a small deli/market in walking distance to stock up for the room. If you want daily room cleaning you have to ask and pay separately. There is a game room/activity center for kids. The airport is close by so it's a quick ride to and from, 10 mins or so. We had a terrific time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJ_Family_Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spent a week in St. Maarten over the holidays so the resort was at capacity but the staff did a great job taking care of everyone. The unit itself was great, except for our unit being on the hill and not on the beach. One of the terraces had an ocean view, but the other did not. Would have preferred to be in a building on the beach but the resort staff said they did not have anything near the beach available. It seemed that parking for the units on the hill was easier than parking in other areas.
The service was good. Very friendly/helpful staff. A few problems arose though: 1) the concierge made a reservation for us at L'Auberge Gourmande (in Grand Case), but when we got to the restaurant, the host/owner had no record of our reservation. We wonder if the concierge made one someplace else and gave us the wrong name or if the restaurant messed up. Either way, we ended up next door at La Villa (excellent) and booked L'AG (very good) for another night. 2) We wanted to book a day trip to Anguilla. Spoke with the activities desk person who booked us for two days later -- for nearly $180, which seemed high. When we went to the appointed location, we learned that the booking was for a snorkeling trip that stops off on Anguilla. Neither of us snorkel so we definitely did not want to book a snorkel trip, but that is what the activity sales person booked for us. When we explained the error, we got a full refund, but it was still disappointing. Also, the towel desk ran out of clean towels a few times.
Definitely minor issues, but they do keep the rating from being excellent.
We found Toppers on the beach to be very good for a quick beach break lunch and the Buccaneer down the beach had good pizza.
Agree with other reviewers that the shower heads leave something to be desired.
Kitchen is fully stocked and the market nearby has most everything.
All in all, a very good place to spend a week. If we go back to St. Maarten, we will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DCJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Once you've seen the beach that lies directly in front of building 7, you won't want to spend your time anywhere else. We are usually pool people, but the bay water is so calm and clean, we chose to sit under or near a palapa on the beach every day. Our one bedroom faciity was more than we really needed. It does sleep up to four, so a young family could use it more fully. We had everything one would need to eat in, because the kitchen area is fully stocked with dishes, utensils, etc., but we chose to eat breakfast either at the hotel restaurant called Toppers (wonderful blueberry pancakes) or at Zee Best about a mile away. You must eat breakfast or lunch there. It's special. The hotel has a very friendly staff. The bathroom looks like it was recently redone. There is plenty of storage room, something we usually don't find elsewhere. The mattress is very comfortable and the room is large. Even the studio is large. It has a sitting area for tv watching. There is no bottled water in the room, but the store on the premises sells a bottle for $1. We went to a supermarket and got 6 large bottles for $4. We left the last one for the next guest to use. Over all, we enjoyed our one week stay and plan to come back again. The weather was perfect all week. We rented a car and saw the island. You want to eat on the French side a couple of times. We also enjoyed a sunset cruise which included a 3 course meal at Le Petit Auberge in Marigot. That's one way to go if you don't want to drive. There's a place right on the beach of the hotel that offers every form of water activity, including cruises.The one thing we found annoying at the Flamingo was the toilet flush. It's the very quick but noisy kind. Really noisy. But, even so, go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Floors 2-4 in any building give the best views. Lowest level has lots of foot traffic.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank traveler1NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Just got back from a week in St.Maarten.. Stayed in building 3 on the hill. Had a wonderful room with access to the wrap around terrace from the sliding doors in the living room and bedroom. Had a great ocean view from the terrace and watched the cruise ships arrive and depart. Had a full kitchen that had every utencil needed. The room was clean and well appointed. I did have a problem one day with my TV but a phone call to the front desk had a repairmen at my door with in five minutes of the call. The staff was very freindly and very receptive to any need I had. I will definitly be returning here next year. The only thing I would suggest to the resort is that they install better shower heads. The grocery store was a five minute walk from my room as was the casino and resteraunts. Toppers on the Beach served excellant food at prices in keeping with the rest of the eateries on the Island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kenknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

March 2013 is our projected return. I just needed to remind anyone who is looking, that this place is the best. My husband ans I have gone to so many places. This hotel is amazing. Price, people, and location. I grew up simple, this hotel keeps the simpleness + class. Just had to reaffirm to my fellow travelers after watching under cover boss that this is a place to book. 3 months and counting till we return. I love this island, hotel, and the people.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holykow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

New to Diamond Resorts and the Flamingo was our first trip in October 2012. Wonderful trip - hotel, staff, rooms (bldg 7, 3rd Floor beautiful view of sunset) all good - we had a great time. Take the bus tour of the island that the hotel provides and then you'll decide where you want to go at night. After seeing all we stayed local, ate at Topper's, ate in town and down the street from the resort...Don't miss IZI Italian Pasta Lounge on Welfare Road - excellent food; The Greenhouse (there are 2 we walked to the one a couple of blocks down from the Flamingo) nice atmosphere and live music from the bar next door - that also looked good. There's a French restaurant across from the back of the resort and the resort restaurant on the water--Topper's. Their entertainment was nice - food was good, decent variety - breakfast, lunch and dinner... Angelica is Terrific!!!!! Take the sunset happy hour cruise at the hotel next door - 1/2 price on Monday's. And don't miss The Carousel ice cream parlor on Welfare Road in town - great ice cream/candy/gelato and nostalgic decor - go out in the back to the beautiful carousel. The weather was great the entire week (late Oct.) Go, you'll enjoy it - we will definitely go back again and again.

Room Tip: Building 7, 3rd floor. Ask for Ocean Front - all the Buildings have a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time in writing your review of our resort. We sincerely appreciate the tips you have provided for our future guests, especially those who are visiting Philipsburg St. Marteen for the first time. This will go a long way in assisting our guests when they make their trip here. We are extremely grateful for your recommendation of Flamingo Beach Resort, and hope that you return again soon, so that we can provide the same level of accommodations, amenities, and customer service that you experience this past stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.3 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Simpson Bay
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort

Address: Billy Folly Road 6 | Pelican Cay, Simpson Bay, Philipsburg 29572, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range: $111 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful white sand, sparkling blue waters, sunny skies - where else can you find all of this but in Saint Martin/Saint Maarten in the Caribbean? When you stay at Flamingo Beach Resort, you will have all of this, and more. Here you can have the most relaxing vacation of your life, or enjoy some of the many outdoor adventures in the area. If you love water sports, you can go windsurfing, swimming and snorkeling. See the scenery on horseback, or go for a hike along the many trails. You will never be bored while you are staying here, unless of course you simply want to sit back and do nothing, which you are more than welcome to do. Just imagine spending a week or longer just lying around on the beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Flamingo Beach Resort St Maarten
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Sunterra Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing