We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seaview hotel, definitely a 'Seaview'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea View Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
fort myers fl
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Seaview hotel, definitely a 'Seaview'”
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Overall nice hotel. Stairs from front street lead directly to lobby of the hotel. Lobby is minimal includes internet computer, snack machine and soda machine. Breakfast is available each morning from 7:30 to 10:30, for about $5. Room was definitely a 'Seaview' room...with 4 windows facing the beach. Views include port and cruise ship docks. There is no onsite parking, however there is a lot a few blocks away, not too inconvenient....The lot charges by the hour from 7am-8pm I believe...about $1 US per hour...with no charge for overnight. I only paid about $10 for my 4 day stay as most of the time there wasn't anyone to take my money. This hotel is definitely in the middle of all the action on front street.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daddymacmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
6
29
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

This was one of the cheapest hotels I could find in Phillipsburg, St. Martin. It is directly above a casino, Parking in this area is a pain, no on site parking for the hotel. Run down looking lobby but the room was ok. Hot water, clean sheets, etc.

I paid $75 for sea view, other rooms were $60 low season

It is right on the beach, and there is a nice little restaurant a block down .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

I have visited the Seaview on several occasions, it is ideally located with the front towards the main street and the back towards the beach.

The hotel itself is in serious need for a touch up, but if you don't mind things being a little outdated and needing a coat of paint, then this is your hotel.

Rooms are clean, sheets and towels are changed daily, there is no restaurant but who needs that when you live in the center of Phillipsburg??
oh, and the McDonalds is on the opposite side of the street ;-)

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolores-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I am a travel agent. When I travel and stay in different hotels, I usually do an evaluation for my clients and fax the evaluation to the hotel for their quality assurance (no one ever knows that the evaluation is being done so nothing is ever staged or pre-planned). I entered into the hotel and climb up the stairs to be greeted by the owner, Mr. George. We paid $87.50 for four nights and stayed in room #50. The view was breathe taken. The beach was so clean with white sands. The view of the cruise ships coming into port was magnificent. The boardwalk was always clean. The hotel, located on Front Street, which is the happening place to shop, is lined with Casinos (their is a casino downstairs of the hotel). The sheets was changed everyday, clean towels, running hot water, cold a/c unit and they serve breakfast in the morning for $5.00. Taxi from the Princess Julianna Airport is $15.00. Tour guide wanted to charge us $60.00US for tour. Please remember that this is a tourist destination so they find a way to make money off of everything including the beach chairs (although they did it in a clever way, 2 beach chairs, 2 heinekens, 2 hot dogs, $15.00 US)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TamishaPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester ma
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2009

I enjoyed my stay at sea view. The location was great. In the heart of it all. (day time activites. Across the street from mcdonalds. The hotel serves breakfast for $5.00. The rooms are small. But for the price it is a great deal. The hotel is a family owned business. I would stay again. Close to bus stop to adventure the island.

  • Liked — the proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pblondin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

I guess this hotel may be the cheapest option on the island (I paid about $60 per night), and even though it’s far from being chick, it’s location and personnel can compete with any other places in St Maarten.
Rooms were small but clean. Water in the shower didn’t drain until I asked for a maintenance person to come in and check on it. It was fixed while I was on a beach.
It’s right on the St Philipsburg boardwalk, next to the marina and the restaurants. Other side of the hotel faces the shopping street that is always full during the day by the visitors from cruise ships.
Don’t let the island fool you, it is indeed called “The friendliest Island in the World” however, it is just the opposite. If not because of the help of the desk personnel, I don’t think I would be able to book any restaurants or even get a taxi. Taxis at the official “TAXI” stand would stop but after inquiring your destination will not go there under any circumstance, just because “it’s not convenient” for them. Only the personal connections of our Front desk staff help me to get a car (with a female driver to make me feel secure), or book a whole day private tour around the island.

Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SvetaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U S VIRGIN ISLANDS
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2008

I live on a neighboring island and visit St Maarten about 2-3 annually. I have stayed in other 'resort' hotels on the island but after discovering Seaview 2 years ago, I now make that my home away from home. It is more than one expects for the price; rooms are clean, adequately sized and some have fantastic views. The staff is very helpful and the location......on the beach and in the middle of town......what else can one want? I have only awoken once to have the breakfast and it was fine. Why pay high prices if one doesn't have to? Making a reservation right now to return.

  • Liked — Location and the warmth of the staff
  • Disliked — walking up the steps with luggage from the street to reception area
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASLENE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.3 mi away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Palace Resort
Sea Palace Resort
#6 of 12 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
3.1 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Beach Hotel

Property: Sea View Beach Hotel
Address: Front Street #85C, P.O. Box 965, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea View Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea View Beach Hotel features beachfront rooms, which are all seconds away from a beautiful, white-sand beach, ocean view rooms and standard rooms, some of which give views of the capital, Philipsburg. The Hotel is located on the boardwalk in the heart of Philipsburg and is well-known for its world-renowned shopping, including many jewelry, souvenir and electronic stores. It is also within walking distance to four Casinos and many fabulous restaurants, fast-food outlets and the Cruise Ship Harbor.Our Breakfast Dining Room opens daily from 7:30am-11:00am. Sea View Beach Hotel has been recently converted to non-smoking with designated smoking areas within the property.High Speed Internet is Available at an Additional Cost.Sorry no pets allowed, check out time is 12:00 noon and check in time is 1:00pm.Must be 18 years or older to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea View Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel And Casino
Seaview Hotel Philipsburg
Sea View Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing