We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea View Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
worcester ma
1 review
“love the sea view”
Reviewed February 13, 2009

I enjoyed my stay at sea view. The location was great. In the heart of it all. (day time activites. Across the street from mcdonalds. The hotel serves breakfast for $5.00. The rooms are small. But for the price it is a great deal. The hotel is a family owned business. I would stay again. Close to bus stop to adventure the island.

  • Liked — the proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pblondin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    27
    10
    7
See reviews for
6
29
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

I guess this hotel may be the cheapest option on the island (I paid about $60 per night), and even though it’s far from being chick, it’s location and personnel can compete with any other places in St Maarten.
Rooms were small but clean. Water in the shower didn’t drain until I asked for a maintenance person to come in and check on it. It was fixed while I was on a beach.
It’s right on the St Philipsburg boardwalk, next to the marina and the restaurants. Other side of the hotel faces the shopping street that is always full during the day by the visitors from cruise ships.
Don’t let the island fool you, it is indeed called “The friendliest Island in the World” however, it is just the opposite. If not because of the help of the desk personnel, I don’t think I would be able to book any restaurants or even get a taxi. Taxis at the official “TAXI” stand would stop but after inquiring your destination will not go there under any circumstance, just because “it’s not convenient” for them. Only the personal connections of our Front desk staff help me to get a car (with a female driver to make me feel secure), or book a whole day private tour around the island.

Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SvetaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U S VIRGIN ISLANDS
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2008

I live on a neighboring island and visit St Maarten about 2-3 annually. I have stayed in other 'resort' hotels on the island but after discovering Seaview 2 years ago, I now make that my home away from home. It is more than one expects for the price; rooms are clean, adequately sized and some have fantastic views. The staff is very helpful and the location......on the beach and in the middle of town......what else can one want? I have only awoken once to have the breakfast and it was fine. Why pay high prices if one doesn't have to? Making a reservation right now to return.

  • Liked — Location and the warmth of the staff
  • Disliked — walking up the steps with luggage from the street to reception area
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASLENE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2007

For a cheap hotel, I had a wonderful stay here. The manager was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were small, but clean and the a/c worked, there was always hot water and in good supply, cable tv and the best part - location location location. I stepped out of the hotel right on to Front Street, and the beach was to the back. What more could you want? I would recommend this hotel for singles and travellers who are not fussy about rooms - after all a great vacation is not one spent all day in a hotel room.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — not much
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunny28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2007

Stayed here one night before a cruise - as all other accommodation was either sold out or over $250/night. This is a simple hotel, and I knew that when I booked it. Despite the fact that the rooms and public areas are extremely basic - I found it to be relatively clean and my seaview room had a great view. I don't know about the other rooms - they must look out onto the busy street or nothing. The place was dated but I saw no insects and my bathroom was clean and had no problems. Breakfast is offered in a little room off the lobby and is a good deal. All in all be fair when you consider this hotel - it is a cheap and simple place - its not a resort so don't compare it to resorts.

  • Liked — price and central location
  • Disliked — basic accommodation
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank starburst71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montserrat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2005

My husband and I have stayed at the Seaview Beach Hotel every year, for the last 15 years, and have never been disappointed. We've always asked for a beach-side room, literally 2 steps away from the most beautiful whitesand beach. From the window of our air-conditioned room we watched cruise ships come and go.

The hotel serves up a tasty home-cooked breakfast each morning, but is also across the street from McDonald's, one block away from Burger King, and minutes away from KFC, Taco Bell, the Sub Shop, as well as Chinese, Indian, French, Italian and American (The GreenHouse) restaurants. Shopping is a cinch - we were right in the middle of the main strip, and a US$1.00 bus fare took us anywhere on the island.

The Seaview may not be a 5-star hotel, but it is centrally located, affordably priced (US$66/double in summer), and the rooms are clean and comfortable (with NO cockroaches, as a previous guest reported). A small fridge in the room is extra (one-time fee of US$5.00) and very convenient to have. Through the years, we've made friends with all the staff and they make us feel like family. Go, Seaview, go! We luv ya and we'll be back!

Shirley & Lou Spycalla, Owners
Erindell Villa Guesthouse
Montserrat, West Indies

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Erindell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 14, 2005

Only there for 1 night thankfully. No bellman so had to carry luggage up a long flight of stairs to lobby. Room was neat, fairly clean except for smashed roaches on the floor. Only bath towels and a little bar of soap in the bathroom. Beach view was of a large construction crane, cement truck, and a large ditch because of the boardwalk project. Room was across from the kitchen area so we were awaken early by cooking odors, rattling dishes and loud conversations from the hotel staff. Be prepared to pay an additional 20% in taxes. They don't take credit cards "because the machine is broken" and then later because "the manager says not to take credit cards", so bring cash or travelers checks.The owners clearly do not care much for tourist and have strong feelings against the use of online companies to make and pay for reservations. Due to construction, you aren't able to park near the hotel and it's a very, very long walk from the public parking lot. Would only stay there again if it was the last hotel standing on the island after a hurricane

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Philipsburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
3.9 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
261 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Beach Hotel

Property: Sea View Beach Hotel
Address: Front Street #85C, P.O. Box 965, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea View Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea View Beach Hotel features beachfront rooms, which are all seconds away from a beautiful, white-sand beach, ocean view rooms and standard rooms, some of which give views of the capital, Philipsburg. The Hotel is located on the boardwalk in the heart of Philipsburg and is well-known for its world-renowned shopping, including many jewelry, souvenir and electronic stores. It is also within walking distance to four Casinos and many fabulous restaurants, fast-food outlets and the Cruise Ship Harbor.Our Breakfast Dining Room opens daily from 7:30am-11:00am. Sea View Beach Hotel has been recently converted to non-smoking with designated smoking areas within the property.High Speed Internet is Available at an Additional Cost.Sorry no pets allowed, check out time is 12:00 noon and check in time is 1:00pm.Must be 18 years or older to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea View Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel And Casino
Seaview Hotel Philipsburg
Sea View Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing