We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea View Beach Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sea View Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
New York City
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“An Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a convenient hotel, located in town. Anyone expecting a beach resort will be disappointed. That said, the rooms were very clean and the staff was polite and helpful. The room rate was excellent, the room comfortable. There are no amenities like shampoo or hair dryers, so be warned.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjsubway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
6
26
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed two nights April 24-26. I booked a sea view room and the ocean was visible out of the door/window at an angle - it was not directly overlooking the water. (However some rooms did directly overlook the water.)

The room was adequate and met expectations for a budget room. The air conditioner was very quiet and had a remote control with a temperature setting. My main complaint is that the bathroom mirror was not over the sink but instead was over an adjacent wall next to the toilet. Of course other rooms could differ.

When I arrived the regular front desk person was away and the desk was attended by a rather creepy guy who was minimally communicative. Of course I did not know he was temporarily covering the front desk, and it was not a good first impression. But after about 5-10 minutes the regular person returned.

Wifi was available only in the lobby. The hotel seemed to have guests mostly from the Caribbean (as opposed to Americans or Europeans), but that could have been due to Carnival in progress during my visit.

I booked the Sea View hotel so I could walk to the St Barths ferry, and the hotel is a short 5-10 minute walk to the terminal. The hotel is also well-positioned along the boardwalk, which was deserted when I was there but apparently becomes packed when the cruise ships are in port.

As for driving, there is no parking nearby and Front Street is very narrow with one lane, one way. The area around central Phillipsburg appears to be a difficult traffic situation at many times. So this is probably not a good place to stay if you have a rental car to park.

Overall, I rate the hotel as a good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxConcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

even though it was not what i expected in terms of location it turned out to be a pleasant surprise all around, as i learn a lot of my country folks stay at this hotel and the shopping was great the staff very helpful and friendly. and the beaches hmmm it was my only drawback as i found it too crowded with lounge chairs to really feel comfortable walking or bathing.but still a place i intend to bring my friends to visit bless.

Room Tip: if u want to use the beach which is located at the back of the hotel and a lovely boardwalk ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 90etta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at Seaview Beach Hotel on the 17th of April for only 1 night. We had no problems checking in or out and the room was sufficient. The location really can't be beat for Philipsburg as it is right on the beach, great access to Front Street and Back Street. It felt safe and the staff were very friendly. It is definitely not a luxury hotel, but you get what you pay for! Breakfast was good and very inexpensive. I would definitely stay there again if I were going to stay in Philipsburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyeScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

After reading other reviews on TA, I decided to stay here. This is the 1st time that I have been unable to read-between-the-lines of the reviews. We can all usually tell when a review doesn’t make sense…. Like ... “I have travelled the world, staying in many 5-star…” yet it’s their 1st review. You know what I mean. But I made a mistake with the Sea View.

I will begin by saying, “maybe I was given the worst room, in the worst part of the hotel”. But I doubt it.

I can say this: the room had no electrical outlets in the bathroom, no hairdryer, no shampoo. There were no extra pillows in the room, nor at the front desk. It may be the “friendly island” but when you walk up the stairs and into the lobby, no one greets you in this place. When we 1st arrived, we were taken to our room by a guy who had me hold his Lysol (yes, the spray freshener) as he carried 1 of our bags. When we got into the room, he took the Lysol and sprayed the room, and bathroom, to make it “acceptable” … I think is what he said. I’m serious. And the bed was not comfortable. Everything shows wear & aging from the door knob to the plumbing fixtures and windows.

The noise from outside is constant, from horns, mufflers, people yelling & talking … all night. Only to be drowned out occasionally by the noisy air conditioner.

The Sea View is actually close to the beach, but they have no chairs or service that I found. They are above a casino too, which was not all that bad I guess.

Other reviewers have given this place 4 & 5 star reviews. I have to laugh. Maybe if someone only travels for mission trips, then they have never experienced a 3 star hotel and this may seem fine to them. Or someone has a “budget”, a very low budget all the time, and this place is acceptable to them. Or even another may see a clean hallway and feel that the place is classy. I don’t know what else to say, except Trip Advisor has changed its format making it now a little more difficult for me to look at a reviewer’s history and read through their reviews, because again, I made a mistake booking the Sea View. I really don’t like to give low ratings, but this may be the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in. And, yes, I have stayed in many 4 & 5 star hotels & resorts. This is not one of them. You have been warned – if you do book this, keep your expectations very, very low, then you will be ok with it. Maybe?

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean-front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank LuvDCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Philipsburg hotels

Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Sea View Beach Hotel is located on top of a casino overlooking Great Bay Beach. My husband and I walked from Dock Marteen (where the Saba ferry Dawn II makes port) with our bags in less than 10 minutes. While the hotel room surpassed our expectations as far as cleanliness and comfort went, the hotel staff is stretched very thin. We had trouble arranging a taxi to the airport, morning wake up calls, etc, and had to wait in a long line both at check in and check out. The staff seemed extremely competent, but was being asked to do far more than they should have been to appropriately handle the number of guests.

Room Tip: We chose a sea view room, and although more expensive, I believe this room was also much quieter. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaitMul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
192 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is an older well maintained hotel across the boardwalk from the beach. It is directly across from Mc Donald's on front street. We were with a work mission group and opted for the lower priced interior rooms with 2 single beds. Both beds for some reason made a lot of noise when moving on it. You might want to check this out before accepting the room otherwise everything was fine.

Room Tip: Try beds before moving in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hlyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.3 mi away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Palace Hotel
Sea Palace Hotel
#6 of 12 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Beach Hotel

Property: Sea View Beach Hotel
Address: Front Street #85C, P.O. Box 965, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea View Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea View Beach Hotel features beachfront rooms, which are all seconds away from a beautiful, white-sand beach, ocean view rooms and standard rooms, some of which give views of the capital, Philipsburg. The Hotel is located on the boardwalk in the heart of Philipsburg and is well-known for its world-renowned shopping, including many jewelry, souvenir and electronic stores. It is also within walking distance to four Casinos and many fabulous restaurants, fast-food outlets and the Cruise Ship Harbor.Our Breakfast Dining Room opens daily from 7:30am-11:00am. Sea View Beach Hotel has been recently converted to non-smoking with designated smoking areas within the property.High Speed Internet is Available at an Additional Cost.Sorry no pets allowed, check out time is 12:00 noon and check in time is 1:00pm.Must be 18 years or older to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea View Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel And Casino
Seaview Hotel Philipsburg
Sea View Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing