We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea View Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Decent beach front hotel that is budget friendly. It is clean, has AC and wifi in every room. NO COMPLAINTS!! The staff are very friendly.

It is centrally located on Front Street/The Boardwalk and is close to everything you need - duty-free shopping, bars/restaurants and is situated next to 2 casinos.

Room Tip: Room 60 opens up nicely to a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nattysimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 105 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Lovely hotel, inexpensive, convenient location both boardwalk & beach is the backyard of this hotel. Casino (next door),shopping,food & sightseeing are all walking distance. Excellent customer service and friendly staff.Nice rooms for all budget. If you are West Indian or From West Indian background use it at this and all local hotels. There is a different price for rooms (cheaper) than if u are from elsewhere. You will need a west Indian address which they usuallly dont verify. So u can use ur relatives info in neighboring islands.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ometa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed at the Sea View hotel twice (three nights total) during separate stays on St. Maarten while visiting other nearby islands. I was looking for a more affordable accomodation, clean and comfortable, centrally located...and that is what I got. My room faced the beach, and was clean and comfortable. The only caveat was the smell of "moth balls" but I had the hotel front desk mask that over with some room freshener...not sure if the smell is there all the time or possibly during the period of my visits, but was addressed upon request.

The beach front pretty much closes early evening once the tourists from the visiting ships in the harbor go back to their berths. But there are still a number of restaurants (and shops) open in the area for dinners. Breakfast at the hotel is pretty basic...I'd recommend one of the "earlier opening" beach front resaurants as an alternative.

The hotel is located adjacent to, and above the Rouge Noir Casino, up a stairway off of Front Street; no noises heard from below. It faces the beach and is centrally located to the core business area of Philipsburg so there are lots of options for meals, activities or simply enjoying the beach with a beer or two.

Staff is friendly and helpful, though I did have to "poke them a couple times" via email to make sure my reservations were confirmed...otherwise no problems with reservations at all. A good place to stay if you're on a budget.

Room Tip: If you can get Room 50 (which I did based on an earlier reviewer's comments), it's at the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobtoBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed for two nights on my trip. The receptionist was excellent, friendly staff and breakfast was great.Free Wi-Fi and the rooms was very clean and fully air conditioned. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I Stayed there 3 nights. People at the reception are very friendly and helpfull. Free Wi-Fi in room and lobby. Italië works perfect. Great location, naar the beach and near the Frontstreet. Reception made the reservation airport transportation for me.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vapelle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is right along the boardwalk and the beach.
If you are not looking for a 5 + * hotel, this would be it. There are many choices for Restaurants within minutes of walking. My daughter and myself stayed here on a Scuba Diving Trip. Rooms are clean, air conditioned, the Breakfast is freshly cooked.
Again, don't look for a 5* place, this it is not, but they never pretend to be one either.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swisschef216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed at the seaview for three nights in a double room looking out at the bay,room was very nice ,very clean ,comfy clean bed and bathroom/shower large and clean.
good location in philipsburg as beach goes and shopping but at night the town is dead.
one minor problem ,I was on the second level where there was a table and chairs in the walkway
outside the rooms and people would sit there late at night and early in the morning talking loudly ,other than that i would stay again on my next trip to philipsburg.

Room Tip: room 60 was nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevshar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.2 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'Esperance Hotel
L'Esperance Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
70 reviews
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#2 of 12 in Philipsburg
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Beach Hotel

Address: Front Street #85C, P.O. Box 965, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea View Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea View Beach Hotel features beachfront rooms, which are all seconds away from a beautiful, white-sand beach, ocean view rooms and standard rooms, some of which give views of the capital, Philipsburg. The Hotel is located on the boardwalk in the heart of Philipsburg and is well-known for its world-renowned shopping, including many jewelry, souvenir and electronic stores. It is also within walking distance to four Casinos and many fabulous restaurants, fast-food outlets and the Cruise Ship Harbor.Our Breakfast Dining Room opens daily from 7:30am-11:00am. Sea View Beach Hotel has been recently converted to non-smoking with designated smoking areas within the property.High Speed Internet is Available at an Additional Cost.Sorry no pets allowed, check out time is 12:00 noon and check in time is 1:00pm.Must be 18 years or older to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sea View Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel And Casino
Seaview Hotel Philipsburg
Sea View Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing