We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Holland House Beach Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$208
$178
WIOL.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
L'Esperance Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Alicia's Inn(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$198
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princess Heights Hotel(Oyster Pond)(Great Value!)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,341)
Filter reviews
4,341 results
Traveler rating
1,422
1,676
700
310
233
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,422
1,676
700
310
233
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssonesta mahoswim up bargreat baylava rockbutler servicepizzaocean viewil pescatoreseafood restauranta la carte restaurantspool deckentertainment staffsister hotelall inclusivesspecial thanksoceanview roombeautiful island
Filter
Updating list...
3,637 - 3,642 of 4,341 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2006

The first thing we noticed after checking in to a room on the third floor, was that the whole third floor smelled VERY bad. We switched our room to a floor that didn't smell quite so bad, but it was still uncomfortable to spend time in our room. The hotel staff shorted us on towels TWICE, and gave us a hard time getting what we needed. When we finally made it to the pools, we were impressed by the view. Pools could use some maintenance, however.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NYCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

The location of Great Bay Beach Hotel property affords magnificent panoramic vistas of the Great Bay in Philipsburgh. A clean rectangular infinity pool lies parallel to the Great Bay, adjacent to the sand beach.

The rest of this review is downhill. The hallways and rooms have an overpowering noxious odor - we believe that it is mildew, yet it smelled too strong to be just mildew. After a minute of exposure to the odor, you can taste it. We had our room changed from the 2nd to the 5th floor immediately, with the front desk clerk saying "I think you may find the smell a little better on a higher floor". The smell was just that - a "little better". It is a shame because the basic room was large and nicely furnished - but the entire lodging areas STUNK!!!!

Most of the staff appeared depressed like they didn't want to work or be there. All pool ladders were unstable and coming loose at the rusted hinges. One of two pools looked dirty and was badly in need of maintenance.

After swimming in most of the beaches and bays of St. Maarten/St. Martin, we found the Great Bay not so great. The water felt slimy and was not as clean as the other bodies of water on the island. The sand was coarse and comprised of ground shells.

In closing, I would go to the hotel and have a drink by the infinity pool to view the panoramic vistas. But I would NEVER stay overnight in one of their smelly rooms again!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank waterbabyjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

We stayed at Great Bay Beach for 2 weeks in July/06. Everything about the hotel was amazing, the staff, the food, the beach! You should get ocean view for sure, the view is breathtaking! The beach is wide and the water is beautiful. The hardest part about leaving was saying goodbye to the staff, from the people in the restaurants to the the chambermaids. They were all so nice. I would go back in a heartbeat. I loved every moment we were there.
Calgary, Canada

Stayed: July 2006
9  Thank DeniseinSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2006

We stayed for a week in August 2006. Great deal for the price. The food was good, in fact a lot better than we had in comparable resorts in Cuba and the Dominican Republic. The room was great. Service was attentive and the staff friendly. The beach was fantastic though maybe not suitable for kids because of the rather steep drop in water depth. There was an Internet Cafe.

There is a restaurant where people on all-inclusive can go 3 times a week. Do not go for the "Italian" nights, the offerings are very ordinary. Go for the Caribean nights, the food is super then.

Travelers would be well advised to plan for buying jewelery and electronics in Philipsburg (the town is a short walk away from the hotel) as prices are but a fraction of the prices in the U.S. and Canada. I never seen such a concentration of jewelry stores anywhere else in the world.

We went for the offered excursion to St. Barth island (about $100) in catamaran and enjoyed it.

We would recommend this hotel. Our only regret was not having chosen a 2-week stay. We plan to go back however.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank Jean_P_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2006

We visited July 1-8 (7 of us all-inclusive) and really loved it. Staff was great, food much better than expected, drinkable water (whoopee). I don't know where these complaining reviewers were staying. Maybe some are just not happy unless they're griping? I can't believe the person who was complaining about having to give his room number. They knew us after a couple of days. And the one picture of a plywood ramp that needed replacing? Gimme a break. Lots of Canadians were there and great conversationalists. We met one family from Toronto who have been coming since 1994. It was like a big family resort. Everyone was friendly and we made quite a few new friends. Yes, the room did smell a little musty, but so what. You're on the water with an absolutely gorgeous view. Last year we were at Sunscape the Beach in the DR and even though brand new, it had a musty smell. After a couple of days, it's not noticeable and certainly not objectionable. The DR is a different story altogether. We would not return there.

We did the Sandollar half day snorkeling trip and it was perfect for what we wanted. The snorkeling was not as good as Cozumel but you're in St Maarten. Some in our group went to Saba and St Barts. The trip over was quite rough but that was explained as normal. Barf bags were available. If you rent a car, Serge at Logo Car Rental is the man. The front desk will get him for you. The ladies in the Activity Center downstairs are a wealth of information. And anxious to help.

We would go back in a flash.

Stayed: June 2006
9  Thank rcobb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews