We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything fine with trip #9!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga,Ontario,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Everything fine with trip #9!”
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Pam and I stayed there for our 9th time Feb 8-15....We like the place...and the staff!!
I think that being there 9 times speaks volumes!!
The food was great..the drinks were great... the servers were great...the weather was great..the beach was great! (that's why they call it Great)
I always say if you were born with a silver spoon in your mouth..this is not for you...But if you want a way to enjoy the Island ,book your trip....get an oceanview room...you will have a blast!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    1,594
    656
    299
    222
See reviews for
614
2,097
134
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

While the location of the resort is beautiful, the hotel is average at best. One half of the resort (where we stayed) is older, with smaller hotel-like rooms. The new half is much nicer--rooms more like suites with kitchenettes. There is no room service here, and no bottled water. The buffet was pretty much the same thing every day, for both breakfast and lunch. The Italian restaurant was nice, so go there for dinner if you can. The sand on the beach was white, but pretty rough with tiny shell pieces. Do yourself a favor and take the Prickly Pear snorkel sail--you'll hit up a great reef and beach with perfect powdery white sand. Alcohol is only served until midnight, unless you go into the casino--and then you must be playing to get drinks free. Staff was a bit indifferent most of the time.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madtowngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We have just returned from a week at the Sonesta Great Bay and in general had a decent time. It was a last minute trip for us as we waited to long to book and had to turn to St Maarten for our trip vs St Lucia. We like so many others, review trip advisor for info on our destinations. We also take the good with the bad and somewhere in middle lies the truth most times. After doing just that we were not feeling it for St Maarten but decided to go as we wanted to see the island and what it has to offer. I won't go into long detail but pros and cons from our experiences from other destinations in Mexico and Sandals resorts throughout the Carribean.

Pros:
Hotel was clean, rooms cleaned daily
Well maintained for the most part
Island was very safe to travel around by bus etc
Easy transportation 2 dollars takes you most places
Sunset beach bar for the plane watchers is a must.
Staff were not rude but did not find them overly friendly either
Food was decent the barbecues were great (more on cons)
Short walk to Phillipsburg great for jewellery shopping.
Weather was great rained briefly at night a few times.
French side was nicer with many restaurants etc.
Excellent rep for Air Transat if you fly with them. (Melanie)

Cons:
-The beaches were a disapointment (broken shells and sand) not well manicured either.
- Did not find the island to be kept clean compared to others
- Did not find the island catering to tourism as much as other islands which is sad as it is there #1 income.
-Hotels entertainment was lack luster at best just a band or individual each night. However there were grab races in the day and bingo at times:)
-Hotel ran out of vodka one night
-food was decent but not plentiful no did have much choices compared to a Sandals resort or Riu (no comparision what so ever.
-Rated a 4 star I would say more so a 3 at best and thats stretching it.
-Poor water sports (no hobie cats) what they do have are not brought to the beach for easy use.

So in general is it a Sandals by no means they miss out on the little things big time. Did we spend a Sandals price no however for a few hundred more Riu hotels go far, far above the Sonesta. Also it is by no means priced properly in comparison to others. If all your looking for is sunshine, a few drinks and a meal its good but felt I paid more than I should have (live and learn)

If you are going to this hotel there are two stray dogs Shaggy and Shirley that live in the parking lot across the street be sure to drop them food at night if you are a dog lover they would be overly appreciative.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank freqflyer41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2009

We recenctly stayed at great bay and had a great time,our room was wonderful and always cleaned(twice a day).what a view!
On arrival at the hotel the staff greeted us in the lobbby with a nice cold fruit drink which was a nice touch
The beach, hot tub and pools are all great with wonderful views of the bay,all the bartenders were good and always ready to help with your drink,as was all the other staff,i do not know where people were when they say the staff at this hotel were rude,they were always very friendly and helpful to us THANK YOU ALL VERY MUCH.
The Morning and lunch buffet were very good, nice choices.We ate at both the other dinning rooms and had great meals and service all the time(thank you dawn for making our 20th anniversary so nice that night... great sambuca !)
We really enjoyed ourselves and we will be back next year

  • Liked — what a view and really clean rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank finny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We just spent a wonderful week at Great Bay, the weather was fabulous, the food was excellent, the staff was helpful, if you want a relaxing vacation, that doesn't include the "party animals" then this is the place, on the downside the activities could have been a little more organized.

We will be back here again!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulk0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

It always amazes me when I go online and read reviews from this hotel. I cannot understand what people are looking for. This was our 4th visit to the Sonesta Great Bay and once again we were not disappointed. You have to remember this is rated a 3 star, although the food does not represent that. There is always great food on the buffet and the a la carte restaurants are great.

The reason why we first fell in love with the Great Bay was a waiter call Gilberto. He is by far the best. Remember they are there to serve you but not be your slave. A smile goes a long way. I did not meet one person on the resort who was rude, talk badly about the guests, etc. so I really beg to differ about some of the other reviews written earlier.

The rooms are clean and roomy with nightly turn down service. The oceanview is amazing watching the ships come in and out. The maids are polite and try to aide you however possible. The beds are comfy along with the pillows.

Please listen to the good reviews if this is your first time going to this resort. You will not be disappointed. We went down with a group of 8 and 6 of us are repeats. My husband and I have traveled quite extensively through Europe, Tahiti & the Caribbean and you can't beat this island or this resort.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berneselover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We stayed at the Sonesta on Dec 29 to Jan 3, 2009 with Family of 4 ..Me and my husband and 2 daughters ages 21 and 18..the reason We picked Sonesta because we got 2 bedrooms and YES! it was a good size room good location only problem is elevator on Apartment side is not working, we have to carry the heavy suitcases up and down but the minute that you open the room and the services at the front desk make you forget all the painful (carry up and down from the stairs) we have a great 2 bedrooms on the beach 5 steps to the beach and so closed to our back door to the pools the restaurants ..We do the all inclusive program please do is only $72.50 and you can eat and drinks all you want..We love all our waiters and waitress ( Veronica) Thank you We had a good services from you.. The Hotel have somethings happen every nights , music, games etc..and David at the activities pools (you are very good, Thank you to teach me for black Jack ) and I won for a beautiful Tanzanite earrings.
The Sonesta quite old and need some more repair but it will be there , I already see it...
The Hotel closed to Philipsburg and cruise port and Boardwalk but you will need the car to see the whole Island (tip: try to rent the car at the airport or rent it on line before you leave home) will save you a lot of money this way..
We had a great time and the other thing is pools is too cold but we jump in anyway...
My 18 years old daughter enjoy her first time in the casino and everyone are helpful and nice..
I did make the right choice to stay with the Sonesta Greatbay..

  • Liked — My 2 bedrooms on the beach and the 3 restaurants..
  • Disliked — activites is not enough for the young guests
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sujamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing