We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Update” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa to your Saves list
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Butler Suite Sale -45%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Update”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I was there for business, the client booked the hotel for me, and I was nervous the last time I was there it was a last resort stay. First all the staff every level, front desk, restaurant and all were helpful, and not in an artificial way. This is an all inclusive hotel, but the food does not taste recycled or repeated. Adults only, some persons may not like it, but on reflection it is nice to go to a place like this and have a grown up audience. The bar areas are not that great, the Lobby Bar is in need of a rethink, it is not always serviced during the times it is supposed to be open. The house wine is quite good. Now then the rooms with the 'garden view' really mean that you are looking on to the main road and they need a plan because you cannot open your curtains at all, does not matter if you are there for work, you are not in the room much in the day. But if you are on holiday, pay a bit more for the beach view. And the view there is wonderful. Oh the gym is a basic two treadmills and a few free weights.

Room Tip: If you are taking a Garden View go for the higher floors or you won't have any privacy and canno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Maureen W,

Thank you for taking the time out to write your review about your time at our Resort.

We're so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received helpful and friendly customer service. It's also nice to see that you enjoyed the food and wine you were served. We're closing the Resort this Sunday for a month to do a few renovations, so we do hope you will come back to see the upgrades soon.

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    1,319
    552
    261
    194
See reviews for
516
1,652
107
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This was a lovely hotel. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The beach is also very pretty. The one thing that this hotel could use is a more varied evening entertainment program. Keep in mind the building is a little bit older, however the hotel is still very pretty and in good shape. I would recommend a renovation in the next few years.

The location is EXCELLENT! It's a short walk from Front street, the boardwalk and Bobby's Marina.

Thank you for a lovely vacation!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tixie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Tixie 1984,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about us. We're so happy to see that you received friendly and attentive customer service from our staff and that you highly enjoyed your room and views.We're actually closing our Resort on September 1st for a month to do some renovations, so make sure to come back to see the upgrades we have done!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Girls Get-A-Way 8/14/14-8/21/14. Upon arriving we were greeted with champagne and cold towels. Check in was relatively easy through Sunwing. Our room was not quite ready so we sat and relaxed, enjoying the beautiful view of the beach, pools and the bay. The staff at the front desk were absolutely awesome all week. Quick service, friendly, helpful. Always smiling. And for me that was extremely important. This is an Adult Only resort although the Time Share section had a family there. Not sure how that happened. If you are looking for a relaxing get-a-way from noisy crowds this resort is perfect. You have the beautiful beach that goes straight into Phillipsburg - a 10 minute walk. The food was very good. A large variety for all meals. For the most part service was good. Buffet meals service was slower than we liked at times in clearing our dirty plates or getting refills on our drinks but at all meals we were never rushed to leave our table to make room for other guests. This allowed us the ability to have a very relaxed meal. Our room was on the 4th floor. Ocean view. It was absolutely beautiful. Note: at night the ocean view rooms could hear the live entertainment from the pool patio. With our sliding door closed it was noticeable but over by 11:00pm. It didn't bother us at all. Ocean view rooms see the sunrise, the ships come into port, Phillipsburg and the pool decks of the resort. What a beautiful view to wake up to. It's well worth taking that side of the resort. 4th floor also meant we didn't have to use the elevators. One small flight of 6 steps to get to the wide open lobby before taking the steps down to pool deck and the restaurants. For us it was perfect. The rooms were kept clean every day. Note: the bathroom did not have a tub but a tile shower with glass. The water pooled at the shower entrance making it a bit slippery getting in if you took a second shower before the room was cleaned. The floor was levelled the wrong direction. For me the bed was extremely comfortable. Note: slept with the extra blanket on every night due to the air conditioning blowing directly on me. Even with the temperature turned up so the air was not as cold the fact the air was blowing directly on me kept me too cold. Couldn't turn the fan off while we slept as the room would get too warm. We did keep it off most of the time we were just sitting in the room. Overall this was the best resort I have stayed in on any of my Caribbean travels. I was at Maho last October and I wouldn't go back there. This week it was extremely relaxing to be on the beach and not have the local women hounding you to give you a massage on the beach. Also when ships come in Great Bay resort beach is not affected by the visitors from the ships. At Maho even though the beach chairs belong to the guests you still get the visitors from the ships on the beach with you. We loved walking into Phillipsburg daily....morning, afternoon and evening. Not once did we ever feel unsafe. Especially at night. If you are looking for great night time entertainment this is not going to happen at this resort. The town during off season is pretty dead at night, however, it's a quick trip to other towns for nightlife entertainment. I was disappointed in the Sunwing representative for excursions. We could not get a straight consistent answer about costs to travel the island. We were told they don't take credit cards for excursions so being cash. We found it was safe and cheaper to grab the local bus in town to go to Maho and Marigol. If you go to Mairgol being your passport. Only on tours can you leave it at the hotel. Overall we enjoyed our stay. It had the right amount of quiet we needed. I plan on going back in 6 weeks with my husband,

Room Tip: If you can - take an ocean view room. The view is spectacular. Be aware however you will hear the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missy3nld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUDBURY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

What a great place.
We went for our 30th wedding anniversary and loved it.
The people are friendly and Cleopatra is an angel. She sent us champagne and choc strawberries to our room. great shopping and a jewelers on site.
Thank you all so much

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room that was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alsation131965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear alsation131965,

First of all, Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend your 30 year anniversary with us and for writing your review about your time with us. We'll make sure to pass on your kind messages to Cleopatra. We hope you will come back to see us soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My husband and I just came back from St. Maarten and we stayed here! We transferred from the Sonesta Maho the 2nd day into our trip! We were there Aug 10-18! Agatha offered us cold towels and Jonathan served us Champagne upon entry! Vicky was also very nice! As you can see we knew their names! Daniel was wonderful! My husband threw his back out and Daniel called his doctor for an apt, gave me directions and called in the morning to see how he was doing!!! The food was awesome! My husband and I love variety with sauces!!! From Lamb, to stews, to Mahi Mahi with lemon butter sauce to clam chowder! We didn't a meal!!! Ella was one of our servers and each time we entered the dining area they were happy to see us! They made us feel welcomed! The bartenders were great, also they made sure our fridge was always stocked with beer, soda and water. And Gin and Vodka too! Amazing! Each night was live music!! The burgers and pizza were good too! Since we bought a premium package at the Sonesta Maho they transferred us and gave us a room in their timeshare area! The service was top notch! There was no charge for parking! internet was free! They were always asking if we needed anything and enjoy your stay! We will totally come back, stay here and see our friends! Agatha, Vicky, Daniel, Jonathan, Ella, the Bartenders, Pool DJ who even played music from my Ipod! If there were more circles to click on I would! If you are thinking about going to St. Maartin and want All Inclusive and no kids, this is definitely the place! We loved it! Thank you too everyone who made our vacation a pleasant and memorable one!

Room Tip: Philipsburg is walking distance, where the shops are. Buy a package where you wake up to the Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ErikaandGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hempstead, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Just got back from a great vacation at Sonesta Great bay in Sint Maarten. The entire stay was wonderful. The staff were very hospitable and made you feel very comfortable.

Vicky who helped us with our accommodations couldn't do enough for us. She was pleasant every time she saw us. Very personable!

Jonathan (Smiley) Puento our waiter was a joy to be around. Very friendly and courteous. Always looking to do more for the Guest. His service was outstanding!

Edrick the Bellman... What a gentleman! Supplied everyone with great courteous service whether it was hailing a Taxi or asking him questions to getting our bags the day that we left. Always approached you with a smile on his face.

I (we) would definitely recommend Sonesta Great bay to all our friends for a great vacation!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbruno106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Just came back from a great stay at the Sonesta Great Bay (Aug 11 - Aug 19) with my family, husband and 2 daughters (18 & 21). Very quick transfer to the hotel and also into our room. The rooms were very nice and clean and had the best view of the pools and ocean. I can't say enough about the staff, especially Maritza and Denroy. They were always very friendly and had a great sense of humor. Also the guests we met during our trip made our vacation that much more special. The restaurants and buffet were great! Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl B, General Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello Cindy!

Thank you for taking the time out to write this fantastic review.

We are delighted to know that you had a "Great vacation with the family". It is pretty great news to hear that you loved our beautiful rooms, breath taking views, exquisite pools, high quality restaurants and our fun employees Denroy & Maritza. It was a great experience accommodating you and your amazing family.

We invite you to visit again soon. Please feel free to bring along the entire family and some friends next time. :)

Until then, thank you all for choosing Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Casino & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,572 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#2 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
0.8 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing