We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The DiMaria's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The DiMaria's”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I visited the resort with my wife and my daughter. We found everybody very pleasant and willing to please. The accomadations were very nice. Food & drinks great. Beautifull location and we had a very relaxing vacation. We loved the all adult venue. We had no reason to leave the hotel, entertainment and staff great. We will definetly go back and would & have recommended the resort to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    1,594
    656
    299
    222
See reviews for
614
2,097
134
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The staff are nice and smiling. The food is also very good and there is variety.
The rooms are also big and clean.

The beach is beautiful and the view from the restaurent is amazing ! I would totally go back to that hotel !

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rox S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is good if you want to get away and just be alone for a few days. The hotel is secluded from the town and is also up in the mountains which isn't bad but it tends to be a little cooler. The beach however is a lot better then the sister hotel. We didn't like the 1 hour break where there isn't any food available. The pool was good and was of deep water which is the first time I've been to an all inclusive with a deep water pool. The hotel also had a jacuzzi and a pool with a swim up bar. The restaurant's available were decent but weren't the best. The buffet was decent but i felt it was the same choices night after night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here last October for 4 nights. I loved the small feel of the hotel. The buffet not so overwhelming. And the food fresh. Restaurant was good service. Most of all I loved the pool, small and looking right out to the ocean. You can watch the cruise ship come in. No crowds while we were there. A short walk to the town, great bargains to pick up and easy Island to get around.
Will definitely come back...cant wait!

Room Tip: We choose a higher floor, ocean view. We were happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juned2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I went here for our 15th aniversary and fell in love with it. Not only does it have the best beaches, the place was perfect. The staff is the best of any other place we have ever stayed. Cleopatra, who is in charge of the staff made sure we were well taken care of. She is constantly checking that her staff was always at their best and welcomed any comments we had, whether it was good or bad. I mean, if we mentioned that someone was not having a good day, she was on it. She was so observant that we did not have to say anything, she just noticed something was amiss. My wife fell in love with her and they spent a lot of time just talking. Now, I cannot say enough about Smiley (I call him that), the bellman, who was always there with anything you need and whenever you passed him doing his rounds, he was always smiling and welcomed a handshake to ask how you were doing. Edrick is his name and if you go there, call him smiley and see if he remembers... We vowed to go there again next year and to stay longer. We were there for 7 days and next year, we hope for 10 to 14 days. We did visit their sister resort but were not nearly as impressed with the staff there. This one is adults only, while the sister resort had LOTS of children. I believe the sister resort was a nicer layout, but you had to deal with all the kids running around. I suppose if you had to deal with children all the time, your staff would tend to not be as happy. Just a guess. So, if it is just you and your better half, stay here. If you want a family type of vacation, go to the sister resort. Nighly there was always something going on, from live music to acrobatic acts. During the day, around the pool there is Bingo and other games. I found a new one that I like, "Tip the Cup". Kind of like beer pong.

Room Tip: If you can, get the apartments. They all have a view of the ocean and are very quiet at night. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y2kjerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

For an all inclusive, this was a catch.
PRO's: Food was great! You won't need to eat out (as it is very expensive!!!). Very diverse menu and courteous staff. Nice scenery and nice beach (although we explored other ones since there are so many). Lots of entertainment (different every week night) within the hotel and 10 min walk to Philipsburg's shopping area. I went in july so I loved the fact that it wasn't too crowded. The resort has a casino inside it, a hertz car rental office as well as a tourist desk to book tours/cruises... Our room was cleaned everyday and the resort was overall very clean!!! Our room was big but we couldn't get an ocean vue... Price was good, although we meet people that paid even less than us! So no point in booking too early!
Con's: The room smelled like humidity (not that bad but it was there) even though it was cleaned. I guess the vent/AC are not maintained regularly.

Room Tip: don't spend your time in your room! much to do :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Senine20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Cons:
2.5 hour check in
Non-working Jacuzzi
Children present in an adult only resort
Long wait for breakfast
Small casino
Under staffed

My biggest problem was the children at the bar, in the infinity pool and around the resort in general. We were told that those guests had booked their rooms prior to the change to adult-only. We felt that the resort should have given guests this information prior to arrival.

Our room was not ready (nor were at least a dozen others). The hotel was hot and filled with angry guests waiting for their rooms to be cleaned. If they hired more staff, the wait for a room could be cut in half. There are specific check-in times, as well as check-out times. If guests have to leave at the exact hour stated, the rooms should be ready, as stated. No wait.

Our jacuzzi didn't work. We had to be switched to another room. They put us in an apartment, which was amazing. Only problem, our room wasn't cleaned ONCE during our entire stay. The staff never got to our room. Pretty gross.

Scenery was nice. Staff was courteous. Overall, we were happy. If we were to come back, we would stay at the other property. It's closer to the nightlife, bigger pool, more restaurants and in the center of everything.

Room Tip: Only 4 floors, request a room away from the stairs and elevator. It's small, so it's constan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mzlapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing