We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all-inclusive and decent rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was our first time trying all-inclusive and we were worried that we were going to be eating the same thing everyday. Luckily, the resort included many options and mixed up the dinner options every night. The places to sit and have dinner all offered beautiful views of the ocean that I enjoyed very much. Since we had an all inclusive we also had the option of going to the Maho Beach location but there was no shuttle available to bring you there!! I thought this was very annoying, especially since we had to pay $20 for a cab to bring us there. I strongly suggest that they bring the shuttle back.

The hotel is right on the beach and there are some amazing views of the ocean and the cruise ships coming in and out of the port. The hot tub is wonderful and the swim-up bar in the infinity pool is really cool. The hotel is walking distance to the Boardwalk in Philipsburg which makes for some great shopping and other food options if you are that unsatisfied (I wasn't).

The room was decent. The bed was a little firm for my taste but I feel like that is subjective. The water in the shower could be a little warmer but I guess they don't think so because of how hot it is. The staff was great. They were all very nice and welcoming people. On that aspect, I have zero complaints.

All in all it was still great, just a few little minor changes that could make the experience better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,329 - 2,335 of 4,331 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Where to begin? Excellent, excellent, excellent. Rooms and hotel spotless! Food was delicious! All meals, anywhere we ate. Service! I cannot say enough about the service you will receive from the people at this hotel. From the minute you step out of your cab, to the moment you close your eyes at night. Security, doorman, maintenance, front desk, house keeping, servers, bar tenders, host, managers each and every one of them are there when you need them with whatever it may be that you need. Just ask! You will get what you want with a smile. Aldrich, Vicky, Dove, Sterling, Jose, Dustin, Pauline, June, Audrey, Floreen, Michael, Alex, Maureen the towel lady and Chris the cook and so many more I can't name them all. Each and everyone of them took part in making our vacation one of the best vacations yet! This was our 9th year and so far our best. We will be back as long as they will have us. Sonesta Great Bay is our home away from home and will always be recommended by us. With a team like that working for you, there is nothing but good in the future. Not one complaint from us or any if the guest we spoke with during our vacation. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tutuharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a lovely honeymoon in March 2014 in Sonesta Great Bay! The location of the hotel is very good, because you can walk to Philipsburg (20min). You have an exellent view at Great Bay, the white beach and clear blue water! The food is good but doesn't change very much, and it's nice to eat outside. You can also visit the 'sister-hotel' in Maho, but we think Great Bay is better. Special thanks to Denroy from animation-team, Kim at the pool bar and Vicky at reception! Very friendly staff!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor can be very noisy because of the AC outside (do not take room 130!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Niki78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Many thanks to all of my friends who make Sonesta Great Bay my annual "Home away from Home" !!!
There are too may resort staff to mention who combine to keep me happily coming back as often as I can.
Special thanks to Vicky for her Extarordinary efforts during & after my vacation : Vicky followed up on my inquiry even after my vacation and she helped me reconnect this year with a close friend on the island whom I had been trying to locate for years!!!

Heartfelt thanks to you and all of my wonderful friends at Sonesta Great Bay .

Until next time, All the Best !!! - Pete

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Second time visiting the island but first time to this resort. The setting of the resort was beautiful and perfect distance to the town. The staff were very friendly the vibe was amazing and the food very good. I would come back here over and over again!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Sonesta Great Bay has certainly made some great improvements since we were there 2 years ago. The rooms are much the same dated, but clean. The food has improved but there is room for improvement with regards to keeping the food hot. The beach is great but unless you are willing to set the alarm and run for a chair under an umbrella at 6:30am or hire a butler to do that chore you will not get a shady spot. The beach & pool area can get pretty crowded because the Maho guests, locals and cruise ship people can pay a fee for a day pass to use all the facilities. All the staff were very friendly and helpful with the exception of the bartender at the pool bar....he has a bit of a attitude problem unless of course you are a female 18-20 age range. Non-smoking signs in designated areas are not working...people still continue to smoke next to the eating area and several times we could smell cigarette smoke in the hallways when it clearly states No Smoking in the rooms. The Italian restaurant could use some organizing for the dinner hour. In order to get a dinner table be prepared to wait at least 1 hour or more.Overall it is a wonderful vacation spot, but needs a few thing to make it a 5 star

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeannChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Sonesta Great Bay is a wonderful resort! The room is clean and comfortable with new linens and plump pillows. The setting is gorgeous, and the common areas are newly renovated and beautiful. The food was gourmet in both the buffet and restaurants. The beach is perfect for walking along, and it's fun to explore nearby Philipsburg. The one problem is the ocean is not calm - although beautiful and warm, it isn't ideal for peaceful floating, and the water is a bit cloudy. Also, you have to get up really early to claim a beach umbrella which is a necessity. If you like to party, you'll have to go into town since there isn't much at the resort. We took a day trip to Anguilla on a catamaran - lots of fun but stay at Cove Bay - it isn't worth the drive to Shoal Bay. Overall, a super fun holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank featherfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
2.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
821 reviews
3.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: $330 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing