We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This Resort is a great choice for those visiting St. Maarten. Very close to great shopping at Philipsburg.
Very clean, we'll maintained and fully equipped to me everyone's needs.
Everything about this Resort is First Class, it has a Family feel and everyone is accommodating and friendly.
Our vacation was full of fun, great selection of food/ drink and excellent entertainment.
Cannot wait to go back.
Thank you to all the Staff who made our Vacation Special.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnF1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We value and appreciate all of your comments and truly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    1,561
    653
    292
    221
See reviews for
605
2,056
133
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,531)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day stay. I have stayed at 21 different resorts in the Caribbean and Mexico and have never before written a review.. My reason for writing this one is to acknowledge several of the staff. This resort has some very hardworking, friendly, helpful and happy people working there.

1. Dorvanique (hostess at buffet): always a smile and a "how are you" and "enjoy your day".

2. Mauricio (beach waiter): so polite and sweet, and working hard delivering drinks on the beach in the hot sun.

3. Chantel (animator): what a joy, so, so sweet!

4. David (animator); runs a "mean" Bingo game and sure can dance.

5. Jonathan (waiter): Never saw him without a big smile.

6. Claudine (bartender): so efficient and made us feel so welcome to the resort.

7. Mavis (beach towel provider): not a nicer or more helpful lady-gave us great advise about our day trip to Anguilla.

We wanted to give these folks special kudos because they all made us feel welcome, even though it was our first time at this resort. Lots of other folks were nice and friendly but these made a memorable impression on us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angry_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We trulyappreciate and thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your comments and the special mention of so many of our team members. We are glad that you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longjumeau, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

It's the first time I went to St Marteen and I really enjoyed my holidays in Sonesta Great Bay. I was used to go to Dominican Republic but I will go back to this hotel without hesitation.
We had a room just in front of the sea. There are two restaurants and a snack. The food is really good and various.
A very big thank to the animators, specially Micheal and Chantal who are very kind. I really appreciated to dance with Micheal who is a very good dancer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccl2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We value and appreciate your comments and are glad that you decided to choose us this year. We truly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another unforgettable stay.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

It was our first time in St. Maarten and the Sonesta lived up to our expectations and more...Rosalie, the manager upgrade our room to a two bedroom apartment which was magnificent. We recommend the Miramar section of the hotel as the rooms are much more spacious. The workers are all very friendly and accommodating. Michael, the bartender, at the downstairs bar is not only great at bartending but also gave us the most amazing island tour. Jose, Sheldon,Martha, Danilise, Pauline, Owen, Edrick and so many other workers make this a wonderful place to stay. The food is excellent and the drinks are delicious. The location of the hotel is very good as it is close to the boardwalk and Phillipsburg. Our thanks to all especially, Rosalie who made this a trip that we will never forget.

Room Tip: Stay in the Miramar section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniDi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We appreciate the mention of so many of our team members, it makes them feel very special and motivated. We are glad that you had a good time here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

First time visiting St. Maarten, stayed at Sonesta Great Bay.
The room was comfortable, clean and with a Great view (the apartment side) of the beach and island view.
Loved the hotel location; walking distance into town from a walk along the beach or from the street side. Loved how all amenities of the hotel were close together; spending the day on the beach; bars, pools and lunch restaurants are right there didn't have to walk far to get to each and still be apart of the hotel/beach atmosphere.
Food was fantastic! a la carts were great, buffet had variety and my favourite was the pizza at beach restaurant. Staff was very friendly and great service.
Shout out to the entertainment staff; Denroy (sup.), Shanella, Maria, David & Shantal!!! great team, for keeping everyone engaged in activities daily; Bingo, water exercise(pool), volleyball, other group activities :), night entertainment...karaoke etc... great personalities and made our stay very fun!
Would go back in a heart beat xoxo SXM :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We value and appreciate all of your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in a heartbeat!

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Above average resort. First time with all inclusive. Great food choices, bar and service was exceptional. As with all beach resorts- need to rise early to get good pool/ beach positioning. Easy walk on beach to downtown. Started out in Miramar. Gorgeous rooms but isolated from most everything. Requested move to main building. Very accommodating- gave us room on 7th floor. Great view and great room. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Stay in main tower -4th floor or higher. Stay away from Miramar wing unless you are loners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryM392013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We value and appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our group of 11 family members visited St. Maarten for the very first time. We were overall pleased with our stay. The resort was 15 minutes drive from the airport, our arrival and check-in process was very organized. We loved that all amenities were nearby, and the town was only a 15 minute walk. The ocean view was breath taking, especially when the sun glistened on the water.
The week was definitely a memorable one due to the efforts of dedicated staff who truly believe in making thier guests feel comfortable and at home. We would like to personally thank members of the animation team for making our time fun. Michael kept us active with pool volleyball, water areobics, and dancing at night; Edwin who DJ'd to our special requests, Chantal who convinced us to karoke for the very first time, David for his inspirational chats about the future and of course keeping our little ones entertained.
Andy and Giovanni make the BEST pizza ! They catered to our preferences and never let us down. If you visit them,ask them to perform their dance. They truly enjoy the work they do, and you will always find them with a smile. Winston - keep rockin that bow tie ;)
We visited the spa for massage services, Nadine and the crew are fantastic ! We were so relaxed that we fell asleep during the massage. Just wished there were more staff, as they could only accomodate 2 individuals at a time.
Saving the best for last - Steven ! from day 1 to the very last day, truly, truly an amazing and genuine employee. His mission was to ensure our family enjoyed our vacation time, and went above and beyond to make a personal connection with each one of us, young and old. He became the 12th member of our family :) Sonesta Great Bay managers should hire more people like Steven.

We would recommend this resort to others.

Room Tip: Ocean view is gorgeous. Ask for a room with a stand-up shower, as the bath tubs were designed poorl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beenie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We value and appreciate all of your comments. We are so happy that we made your group stay such an enjoyable one that you gained one more member. We hope that all of you will return in the near future as we wait to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing