We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kapuskasing, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was our first time visiting in November. The transformation that the hotel is going through is fantastic. The food this year is amazing........and all the nice renos to the outdoor buffet is great, it is very clean and tidy looking. The dessert table is wonderfull to look at and just wish that you could could sample more. As always Vicky is most helpfull and happy, Edrick is there to welcome you, all the waiters and houskeeping staff do their best to keep your stay a happy experience. Hats off to Carl and Silfert for manageing a woderfull resort.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the best,,,,,,,,but if you like to wake up early then island view is for you as the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We are glad that you now consider us your home away from home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    1,561
    653
    292
    221
See reviews for
605
2,056
133
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,531)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Return yesterday from this beautiful island and hated to leave. We had our 60th birthday party their and the staff really set it out for us.i would like to say thank thank to Andy for every time I went to the grill he would make me my special salad, it was good. Also too Maritza for all the good drinks I had. And most of all my wonderful hot stone massage that Karolino gave me it was the best...... I hope when I return that the same staff will be their. Keep up the good work!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We are glad that we were able to make your 6oth birthday a wonderful one. We appreciate all of the comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I just returned from a solo one week vacation at the beautiful Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort and am happy to say that I had the greatest time! The warm welcome at the front desk by Vicky was wonderful, with a tropical drink and cool cloth. The always charming Eldrick, the bellman, took me to my room and showed me around. I had a gorgeous room in the apartment side where it was very quiet and had a magnificent view of Great Bay. I never got tired of that!

The hotel itself is very clean, the new paint job is beautiful and all the staff are very attentive and polite. There is a visible security presence around the clock which made me feel good, being a solo traveler. But then you get to know the staff and they make you feel like family.

The location is top notch, with a beautiful beach and warm water. Beware of the sudden drop off in the water if you're not a strong swimmer. The waves are fun to play in but they can also be very strong at times. The pools and hot tub are wonderful too with plenty of loungers and umbrellas for everyone.
Mavis, the towel lady, is a sweetheart. She even saved a chair for me one day when I was out on a tour in the morning.

It's a very short walk into Philipsburg which is a bonus. There is lots to see in town and good shopping to be had. You can tell how busy it will be by the number of cruise ships in the harbour.

The activities staff is supervised by the always energetic Denroy. He has a warm smile for everyone and makes you feel very welcome. His aqua fit class is not to be missed. David and Michael and Chantal and the other animators keep everyone entertained, but are never pushy about it. Whether it's the afternoon poolside bingo game, beach volleyball, hermit crab races, just hanging out by the pool, participating in karaoke night, or dancing to the evening's local band, it's always fun. This group alone makes me want to return!

The food is great and always different, with wonderful service. Florita, the supervisor at the Bay View buffet restaurant makes sure everyone is happy. Michael, the evening bartender at the poolside bar, is charming and attentive and remembers your favourite drinks, or you can try one of his amazing creations. He also gives a fun and informative 3 hour tour of the island on his days off. I'm so glad I took the tour with him and saw the whole island of beautiful St. Maarten, with lots of stops on the way for photos.

The weather was perfect! Nice and hot and mostly every afternoon we had a little 10 minute rain shower, and sometimes in the evenings as well. But the rain never lasts for long. This is truly paradise and I will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maryboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We are glad that you had a great time with us. Thank you for your observations, we value and appreciate all of your comments. Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Husband and I spent one week at Sonesta Great Bay and we had our best vacation to date. We had a ground floor ocean view deluxe room and it was really nice, spacious and very clean. Housekeeping is impeccable and our mini fridge was restocked daily with water, soda and beer along with rum and vodka dispenser. Also in our room on arrival was a beautiful fruit platter and a very nice bottle of merlot. The staff are such beautiful people, the food is delicious, wonderful beach and always enjoyed the evening entertainment. The resort is within a 10 minute walk to Philipsburg by either the beach or the road, which is a great added feature for the resort for people who want to wander out to the local area.
Sonesta Great Bay is just a great resort and we will definitely return...Saint Maarten is an amazing island and this is a place I would recommend for all to visit...missing it already.

Room Tip: Definitely ocean front room is the one to choose, great view of the ocean and cruise ships across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GardenGrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. It is great to know that you consider this your best vacation to date. We really appreciate your comments as we aim to be the number the one vacation destination on Sint Maarten. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Loved loved loved the stay at Sonesta Great Bay. Every expectation was fulfilled. The service was wonderful, and helpful. Vicky at the desk was top notch. The security people are nice and helpful. Over the top in every way.

Room Tip: Get an apartment if you can, they all face the Ocean, and have a pool and hot tub right outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. Wow! 3 loves, that is wonderful to know that we made your stay a special one, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

It took me and my husband a long time to decide on the perfect honeymoon and im so happy we chose the sonesta great bay in St. Maarten. We had an amazing time everything was perfect the food OMG!! Yummyyyy. My room was very clean I was really happy about that. Every staff member was so friendly and really made you feel comfortable. I really want to thank the animators especially Michael, Edwin, David, Chantel and Maria they really made this vacation amazing and unforgettable its because of them and all the staff at great bay that I will definitely be going back there.

Can't wait!!!
Carmela

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room, the view is breathtakingly beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CK09072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We are glad that we made not only your regular stay but your honeymoon, a memorable one. Our team members feel special to be singled out by our guests, and we surely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have just returned from our 2nd visit this year and what a change since the renovation/makeover.

Congratulations to GM Karl Bourne and all the staff. It is beautiful. The colour scheme, the room upgrades, the

changes in Bayview where Cleo has done a terrific job with the selection of food offered and the service. The

lower level bar is outstanding. Everything was great. As we have been return guests for 8 years now it is always

wonderful to be greeted by the long time staff and nice to meet the new members too. Edrik, Vicky,Patrica ,Geneva

Michael,Maritza,Nana, Renata,Charlene,Florita, Gilberto, and many more. Everyone was polite and helpful and

cheerful. We plan to continue our 2 times a year visit for years to come. Diana and George

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachlady4405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We appreciate your feedback as well as the mention of so many team members, because as you say you were home away from home. We truly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing