We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning for our third time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kenora
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Returning for our third time”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Heading back to the Sonesta Great Bay next week and looking forward to another relaxing week.
We have learned from our past stays a few things that might be helpful to others. Internet service is not great but it does work, but your on vacation so don't sweat it. We were always able to get done what needed to be done. We have always had an ocean view and wouldn't do it any other way. Rented our car from Hertz in the lobby of the hotel and it was a great experience, no issues whatsoever, and very convenient. Spent every day on the beach either at the Sonesta or another beach around the Island. We have been very fortunate with weather, late October on the last two trips and it has been great.
We're excited to see what change have been made during the recent renovations. We really enjoy the relaxed atmosphere. Sure there are always small things that pop up but they really don't matter in the big picture.
10 more sleeps!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear 10 more sleeps, I am counting the days with you. Thank you for your post. We are sure looking forward to having you with us for the third time.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    1,594
    656
    299
    222
See reviews for
614
2,097
134
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I called front desk and spoke to lovely Vickie. The resort is open and I'll be there on November 7th for 2 beautiful sun filled weeks.

People should not post what they do not know as I read a review which stated the renovations were not completed. I'm bringing my flippers and swim trunks...wahoo

Steve B. Viewlake ON Canada

Room Tip: OCEANVIEW facing the point where cruise ship bows come past the point at 6:15 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl B, General Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello Steve; Greeting from sunny saint Maarten. We are delighted you are visiting with us shortly, looking forward to welcoming you back home
Karl Bourne: General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just got back and there were so many disappointed guests who had booked the Sonesta Great Bay and were told in the last minute that they were being transferred to the Sonesta Maho ... the locals said there's no way the Great Bay will be available by Oct 24th or November. Check it out before you book it! Some said 'maybe' January 2014

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Canadiangal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review however I must advise that we reopened to receive our first guests as scheduled on October 24th. Our Management & Staff welcomed them in grand style and they were all excited to be back at the Sonesta Great Bay. The resort looks wonderful with improvements to several areas, and service is rendered with a smile.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great Bay is scheduled to re open October 24th.We will be arriving for our 5th trip to the hotel.Beautiful beach,great location and wonderful staff.The perfect combination for a great vacation.We look forward to seeing good friends,Vicky at the front desk,our favorite bellman Edrick,Denroy from activities,Sonia(house keeping manager) Michael at the bar who has been there since our first visit and Mr.Bourne hotel manager.Can't wait to see the renovations.See you all on October 24th

Room Tip: ocean front 4th floor and up,what a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlotte0254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
257 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

St. Maarten is a beautiful island with plenty of action and beautiful beaches. The resort itself was just okay. We stayed in the mountain view room, which really looked at the parking lot. The room was clean but had an indefinite funky smell in the bathroom. The beach on the property was nice. Small pools though. Food options were bland and for an all inclusive resort, one could not find drinks after midnight. I don't recall any entertainment either. I am in my '30's and I would say the average age at the resort was 50 and up. It would have been better if there was a shuttle service to the Maho Beach resort. We went to the the Maho Beach resort and the pools were better there but it had no beach but closer to the casinos and airport. Also the average age at the Maho Beach was 70 and up. At times, it looked like an assisted living facility. There was also this really obnoxious group of Italians visiting from Canada (CHIN group) that made me grateful I was at the Great Bay rather than Maho. We only stayed here for a few days and for a few days this place is fine but do not expect 5 star all inclusive quality, this is more like 2 or 3 stars. I appreciate the all inclusive package and the access to both resorts but there needs to be more variety of food, drinks, and entertainment to give this place a higher rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here couple of years ago with my adult son his wife and my granddaughter.

The buffet restaurant was not terribly exiting and there was not a huge selection of food to be had. Service was spotty and the staff were not that friendly. The Italian a la carte was good and so were the servers. The BBQ around the pool was a nice treat one evening during our week stay. There are simply no other all inclusive choices other than the two Sonesta hotels in St. Maarten so I really don't think they care about serviice or their reputation.

The beach was not good for small children as the drop off was quite sharp and you were in deep water very fast.

The hotel is within walking distance to all the stores in Philipsburg so that was nice.

We rented a car and drove to several beaches on the French side. Beaches there are calmer and more suitable for our grandaughter. If you do rent a car be sure to go to Pinel island it is a nature reserve and very beautiful with a gorgeous beach. Many Iguana's hang out at the back of the restaurant and they are a sight to see all sizes and colours. It is an easy ride on the bus to the French side and cheap couple of dollars.

Next time I come to this island maybe we will rent a villa.

Room Tip: You have to pay extra to have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ufo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 16th wedding anniversary, her B-day & our retirement there in June 2013. During our stay there we had to contact the front desk because of air conditioner was discharging water which made the marble floor very slippery. After several calls to the desk, we had to use towels to prevent us from falling. They attempt to repair and paint over the problem to no avail. Well my wife slipped one night going to the bathroom. She fell back on her elbows to avoid hitting her head we rush her to the hospital, x-rays,meds. We accumulated expenses over $300 and was told to submit the bills. As of today we have not rec'd a dime. Pack your flippers.
James & Renee' F

Room Tip: Ocean view was nice but the maintenance of their equipment was lacking. The casino's A/C was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chavah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing