We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bay - Great Place - Great People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Bay - Great Place - Great People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fantastic vacation, I stayed in room 505 with my niece (6/20/13 - 6/27/13) and I enjoyed every moment of my vacation. I liked the fact that there was a little fridge especially to keep my water and some milk when ever I need to make my tea. Rosalie and Vicki went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. House cleaning staffs were excellent, especially Patricia she did a good job with our room. The kitchen crew were also great. The buffet and a la carte were really good, thanks to those cooks. I observed a bit of tension on the dining floor, I guess because of the changes, I know for a fact the staffs knows and do their jobs very well. I think people do not like to be watched every second, it makes them uncomfortable and can loose focus on their performance/customers. The best thing is to build a good relationship with your staffs and then they will do anything, go above and beyond to make you look good. The #1 reason why we return to Great Bay is becase of your group of staff (kind, caring, attentive and always pleasant) we love to interact with the staffs for a minute or two, it really feels like a second family. We would like to continue that. I felt sad when I read the ratings of Great Bay. This hotel always rated well, I just cannot understand why, We had a very good time and I wish everyone had the same experience. I hope with a bit of fine tuning your ratings will bounce right up again. Thanks to Management and all the staffs at Great Bay for making our stay enjoyable, and it is always nice to see you guys again. Janet - Ontario

Room Tip: The high floors are much more quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandgirl0492011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    1,557
    650
    289
    219
See reviews for
604
2,047
133
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,522)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Saint Martin, our favorite island – so… to pick the destination for our vacation was simple. Two years ago we chose the French side, and this time around we decided on the Dutch. After browsing for hotels that are conveniently located right on the beach, the choice ultimately fell on Sonesta in Great Bay. We fell in love with the resort and how it was represented online, but now, after having visited it, we can say, the pictures on the website do not do justice to its beauty - it is so much more beautiful in real life... It is a delightful and charming resort.

The beach is at the forefront of all the activities: The Ocean View restaurant, with its magnificent view of the beach, the infinity pool and its bar, so during your laps you can have a tropical cocktail or sip champagne and still have a close view of the ocean and finally, the whirlpool right next to it, that during the night changes colors between gorgeous iridescent green and yellow. Live music and entertainment every night make it an alluring place.

The proximity of the beach and the ocean provides 24/7 magnificent views of the bay where cruise ships come to dock. The beach is better than the sister property in Maho.To have an all inclusive arrangement (meals and drinks) was the best option we could have made.

And last, but not the least, our stay was made perfect, by the very friendly crew, especially the front office manager Rosalie and the very friendly bellman Edrick, and all the employees made sure that we are having a great time. They were there for us to assist in every way they could to enjoy our vacation.

Kudos to them!
Our vacation was truly magic, and thank you!
Maria & Barry

Room Tip: if you can spend a little extra to book an ocean view room, it is truly worth it! Check the photo we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Had a great stay at the Sonesta Great Bay resort, rooms were clean, food was excellent and
staff was very friendly. Special thanks to front desk reception Vicky and maintenance, malfunction lock on room door and Sous Chef Dennis Boon for insight on local cusine; way to go guys keep up the good work!
Definitely would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I knew when booking the Sonesta Great Bay that it was going to be more of a hotel type than a resort type of place except it had all the perks of a resort since we booked all-inclusive.
I booked a Mountain View Room which was more than fine since we only used the room to sleep in as there is so much to so in St-Maarten. The room is pretty basic (but very clean) with a mini fridge that was filled up every day with water, coke and sprite. We went and got cans of beer at the bar one night and put some in our mini fridge so for the rest of the week, the maid stocked our mini fridge with Coors Light and Heineken.

The food at the buffet and the snack bar at the beach was amazing! Lots of variety. We ate at the a-la-carte one night and didn't find it to be anything special so we just stuck to the buffet the rest of the week.

The resort is perfectly located to see the cruise ships come in and you're about a 5 minute walk on the beach to the town of Philipsburg for some great shopping. Perfect for a rainy day.
We paid 2$ both ways for a bus to Marigot, where you can get a good of that side of the island from the fort. There's also some shopping that can get done but it's a little more expensive than Philipsburg. We also paid 2$ both ways for a bus to the Sonesta Maho Beach. This is a MUST as watching the planes land while laying on the beach was spectacular. I must add that by having an all-inclusive bracelet at Great Bay, you have access to amenities at Maho Beach. We ate at their snack bar which was much better than the one at our resort so I do recommend trying that out.

We took a day trip to Anguilla (Shoal Bay) where you can do amazing snorkeling. Definitely one of the best beaches I have ever seen.
We also took a day trip to St-Barths. Had a guided tour around the island in a taxi, which was great. The only down side is that they close for a "siesta" between 2 and 4pm so there is not much to do. We went to the beach but it wasn't as nice as Anguilla or St-Maarten. Shopping is expensive so bring lots of money.
Our last day trip was to Saba Island - which is basically a dormant volcano. We hiked to the top which was quite the hike but totally worth it. AMAZING place.

All in all, I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My stay at the Sonesta Great Bay resort in St. Maarten was great. We came at the end of the busy season, so it wasn't packed. The facility was clean, and the staff was generally very friendly and helpful. The bartending staff were exceptional, even making suggestions for new drinks to try!
The food in the upstairs restaurant was fantastic, but it was only open two nights during our stay. The buffet-style breakfasts and dinners were ok, but not great food. The beach-side grill had great pizza and good burgers, so we never tried the lunch buffet.
The room service wasn't very timely, but it wasn't a problem for us, as we spent most of the time on the beach or by the infinity pool.
One of the better features of this resort compared to other resorts is that it is so close to town. We walked downtown a couple of times to shop, get different meals, and just look around. There is a decent, albeit informal, bus system that can get you from downtown Philipsburg to Marigot or Maho Beach for only $2 a person, which is nice if you want a change of pace.
Overall, I highly recommend this resort. I expect that I will be returning again soon.

Room Tip: Island view suites are slightly dated, but have some extra space. A standard Island View room is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deravor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fantastic hotel loads of FUN. Food was in a wide variety and excellent taste...workers was most efficent and always seem to have a warm smile as they greeted us... I must make mention of one specific worker who not only enhanced our stay but seem to go the distance in every aspect to make our vacation truly a bless an most memorable one " SHERYL" THE beautiful woman at the Bar by the pool i must say Thanks for every thing... hope to see u nex year same time.

Room Tip: Middle rooms was comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is not what it describes it to be. Hotel is not a full service all inclusive hotel.
Only the ocean front rooms have liquor in the rooms.
Food is only serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.
On some days it would have only pizza during the day. But even the pizza was limited. There was no hamburgers or hotdogs as advertised.
There was no snack bar or buffet that that people can go to through out the day.
Rooms were decent but not clean. You could see dirt on the tiles and mildew in the shower. Toilet handle was broken and sick kept backing up.
Half of the hotel staff was nice and professional, the other half was rude and not helpful.
There is no dance nightlife at the hotel, it was very simple. The entertainment is geared towards 50 and older crowd.
I have stayed at various all inclusive resorts and this one does not match the quality or service for the price of per day. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Only the ocean front rooms have liquor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daphnaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing