We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Piscataway, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Enjoyed our peaceful vacation. The beach was beautiful water a little choppy, food excellent, service was great.Most employees always asked if enjoying our stay, a few could care less. The bartenders were great, Maritza a charm, makes best drinks. 10 minute walk from town by street or the entertaining beach/boardwalk. Enjoyed the view of ships from little sails to big giants from all cruise lines.Room clean, maid service great, no bathtub, bed uncomfortable, one sided. Rental car advised to see the Island and beautiful beaches Prepare for the crow of the rooster in am/pm.Edrick the Bellman most helpful great personality and smile. Yes I would return but might look into a beachfront rental. For money paid the hotel needs a little updating.

Room Tip: Request higher floor to avoid A/C unit noise. If can afford go for ocean view, my mountain view incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonji303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    1,561
    653
    292
    221
See reviews for
605
2,056
133
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,531)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband, and three adult sons stayed at the Sonesta Bay for 4 nights Thanksgiving weekend. This was our second time at the Sonesta Bay. We also stayed at the Sonesta Mayo about 5 years ago. We all had a great time. The bartender, Nigel, at the pool bar was the best. Water areobics in the mornings was a really good workout. It lasts over a half hour, not 15 mins like other all inclusive resorts we have been to. They played beer pong, beach and pool volley ball everyday. Every night we danced in the club. Food was very good. They have Budweiser and Coors light. Usually, all inclusive resorts only offer local beer. We go to all inclusive resorts every year for the past 20 years and not one had Budweiser which is the only thing my husband drinks. Rooms were clean and the maid service was excellent. Everyone was very friendly and hung out with us and had fun with us day and night. We met guests from Canada, France and USA and had so much fun with them all. We rented a car and went to Orient Beach one day and out to a couple other casinos one night. We went to Sonesta Maho one day and the Sunset Bar by the airport. But we realized we wanted to stay at the resort and not go out , so next time we go, we will not rent a car because there is so much to do at the resort and you do not want to leave and miss anything. Beach was okay, I would like a larger beach with palm trees, but there are not any big beaches on St Martin. But I could go to Punta Cana and lay on beautiful beaches but the food is horrible and no speaks English and they are not friendly there and you are not right on the beach with an ocean view room on Punta Cana. St Martins is the best island for us and we have been to Aruba, Bahamas, Puerto Rico, Cancun, St Lucia, Miami, St Thomas, etc.

Room Tip: Room does not matter because you are never in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loosey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Sonesta Great Bay from March 10- March 17 2013. We loved the beautiful location and friendly staff. I looked forward to Denroy's aqua fitness class everyday! He is full of energy, enthusiasm and has such a friendly way with all the visitors of the hotel. He planned most of the hotel's activities during the day and always took the time to walk around and talk to people to get them involved and make sure they were having fun! Thank- you Denroy! Priscilla at the front desk was always helpful, kind and friendly as well. Yolande, the bartender on the beach is super sweet as well.
The rooms are simple but clean. Although there is only one buffet restaurant, we were happy with the food choices everyday. The snack bar by the beach was open every day at lunch and the restaurant upstairs was perfect for dinner as well. Most of the meals I had were at the buffet. No complaints whatsoever.
The bbq night by the pool was really nice as well... We really enjoyed it. One night, there was this amazing live band playing by the pool... They were incredible! I wish they had played at least twice a week. There wasn't that much entertainment at night, which is something that the hotel should try to work on.
Sonesta Great bay is a beautiful tranquil resort. You can spend the day on the nice beach that it faces or easily take a stroll into the town or on the boardwalk nearby. Thank you to all the staff there that made our stay enjoyable! I would return in a heartbeat!,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 578MariaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Nice small resort with a beautiful beach !!! Short walk into town either along the beach or along the street. Michael the bar tender was great !!!
He gave us a tour of the island on his day off and we really enjoyed it, much more personalized.
No real complaints here. Not the fanciest resort I have ever been, but good basic food and a good basic room. We did not take the ocean view, but still very happy. 2 great pools and a view of the cruise dock. Staff maybe not too friendly at first, but eventually warmed up to us, if you smiled at them, they gave it right back at you. Would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Take level 2 if you can, walks right out to buffet level and pool level. Elevator is quite slow, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggieash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Sonesta Great Bay for 7 days from February 28 to March 7. The hotel was good but a bit outdated...very clean however, rooms, lobby, beach and pool areas were well tended. Food was good, we had breakfast buffets and a few lunch buffets which were good but limited...more fruit please...the a la carte restaurant Molasses always had excellent dishes so we had several suppers there...staff was not extremely friendly which I found dissapointing...Denroy, one of the Animators was friendly tho and tried hard to get everyone involved in the activities...kudos to him....good location on the beach, 10 minute walk down the beach to town and shopping...go to Lotterie Farm for the ziplining!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Backmannnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

i travel many time in a year, i make 3 trip / year,, and it was my first time to sonesta great bay, is it going to be my last ? maybe ,, the service is poor ,,not a smile in the restaurant ,,i made a complaint to the supervisor of the restaurant at the buffet ,,,nothing s changed ,,the only one who smile there is the barmaid ,, she was very funny and always smile , but the rest ,,not .
my roon was good ,i was on the 6th floor , ocean view,, the view was beautiful .
the restaurant /the food was not so much , the food in cuba is better!!
so ,i think , it s paying a lot ,it cost me near 1900$ for a week there ,, just for the view ,,
i did the farewell cruise ,,it was good ,and that s it .
so ,if you want a good week n having fun in your vacation , dont go there , it s boring , cause everynight around 9-9:30,, nothing to do ,, no dancing , boring music ...
so ,if you want to do a complain to someone ,,dont do it there ,, it wont do you any good ,,
so maybe next time ,i ll return to cuba ,,because , they want you in cuba , and they receive you with a smile ..

Room Tip: higher room ,ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We LOVED Vicky, the Front Desk Representative who helped us on our trip. She was super friendly, attentive, and had the BEST customer service skills I had ever seen! I hope she is recognized for the wonderful job she does as the hotels' "face" every day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing