We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as adertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This resort grows on you even though it is comparable to a 3 star Holiday Inn. When we first arrived, we were very dissatisfied (see below), but over our 8 day stay we came to appreciate the beach, the view and the staff. Try to get a room in the new wing, which they are trying to market as time-shares. They are much nicer. We tried but could not get our room changed even when we offered to pay more. Later some friends were housed in the new wing at the same rate we were paying in the old wing…..not a very good business model. In the older 7 story wing, do not accept a room below the 4th floor or your view of the beach will be blocked.
The Good:
• Location – directly on a beautiful beach with 4 pools. Beautiful view across the harbor. Walking distance to shops and restaurants – at least during the day.
• The staff is very pleasant and helpful.
• The parking attendant always found us a place in an apparently full lot.
• Bottled water, soft drinks, beer, and, most surprisingly two bottles, one of gin and one of vodka in the refrigerator in our room were complimentary.
• Great comfortable bed
• Newly renovated bathroom – granite counter top, glass walk in shower
• Balcony with 2 cheap plastic chairs and a tiny table
• Air conditioning worked
• Complimentary beach towels, lounge chairs and umbrellas
The not so good:
• Hallway to our room reeked of bleach
• Room smelled sour
• Broken lock on door to balcony
• Cheap rough sheets and a paucity of thin towels. We had to beg for a bath mat for slippery wet bathroom floor.
• Even though hotel was full, not all restaurants were open
• Mediocre food – breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets – uninspired in presentation and content
• Not all rooms face the beach

Room Tip: See advice above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PBell68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,860 - 2,866 of 4,335 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

We like all-inclusives and have been to many. If you are like us and always see the glass half full you will enjoy this resort and what it has to offer. What we liked:
*Fantastic and stunning views.....felt like paradise
*Hotel staff worked hard to please.....cudos also to the Italian female staff member Patricia who worked extremely hard
*10 minute walk on the beach to Phillipsburg....great shopping...cheap, cheap duty free alcohol....also nice side trip $2 by a local bus to the French side for a great flea market
*St Maarten people are wonderfully thoughtful...
*safety was never and issue...no guns or camouflaged police lurking about
* took a local bus to the sister Sonesta resort...right on the famous beach that the planes fly over...if you like bigger resorts, recommend you book there
2 complaints about Great Bay:
* a lot of the cups in the restaurant were chipped....I am not a prude, but it was a bit annoying drinking my regular morning coffee out of a chipped cup. I am sure if I had complained it would have been instantly remedied....I wanted to include it here so management is aware and will look at replacing some dishes.
* we were not on the beach side and therefore excluded from the complimentary alcohol that was given to the oceanside patrons...it would have been nice to be given that little privelage since we didn't get the benefit of the fantastic view
Overall this resort met our needs...we got to see beautiful St Maarten without breaking the bank and enjoyed the most stunning views.

Room Tip: oceanview....best views and complimentary alcohol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cathycanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We traveled to St-Marteen's Sonesta Great Bay Resort for a 7 day trip, starting January 31, 2013.
We have done big 5 star places like: Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, Iberostar Paraiso Grand Hotel, Beaches Turcs & Caicos, etc. They were all big, with incredible food menus & choice, and night entertainment. This resort was the opposite, but not on the negative side. Arrival at airport was good and fast enough. About 15 minutes ride to the resort from airport. We were greeted at lobby with drink and keys were given to us for the room. (no need for reception desk since our Sunwing agent had prepared everything in advance). We were very pleased with the staff, as they were always kind & helpful. (give them a good smile & good attitude and it will reflect back on your vacation). The resort was very clean inside, as well as outside, and the cleaning ladies who attended our room never missed doing a good job. The resort buffet (outside which was great for the view) for breakfast, dinner & lunch is small & limited, but good for a week. More than that, it would become a repeat. For dinner, a pizza / hamburger stand is also open outside with another great view of the bay & ships. For lunch, they serve italian style food which is very good, on the terrace outside next to the pizza stand, and their à la carte Molasses restaurant was also very good. (ex: pumpkin soup, steak with pumpkin sauce, etc.). Overall table service was good at both places. Their night entertainment is limited to a solo musicien or small local group which was actually quite good, but you will probably be in bed between 9:00 & 10:00 p.m. Concerning the bars, we do not drink much alcohol, so i can't really judge the bar service.One thing that was nice about the resort is that at least 60% of the clients were aged 60 and over, with no more than 5 kids under 15, so it was quite during the day. If you want to go jet skiing, it is on the resort itself, and is a big $60 for 1/2 hour ride. (speed up to 60 miles an hour). You can also walk to town while being on the beach. So for my overall impresion of the resort itself, i would recommend it, but for a week only. I almost forgot one thing, the excursions. They have a counter that has a big choice of excursions on the island, or for any other island. We took the 4 hour island tour and found it was worth it for $35 each. Now for the Island itself. We visited the markets for souvenirs, and as many as 300 jewelry shops are in the town. (rolex, bugatti, versacé, etc). They have great prices, but it could cost you more than your trip if you let yourself go loose. Overall rating for this resort, i would return again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Take an ocean view & as high as possible to see bthe bay & cruise ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ParadiseMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just returned from staying at the Sonesta and we had a fantastic time. Vicky at the front desk always has a smile and is always ready to answer any questions you have. Patricia J and Virginia in the buffet for breakfast and breakfast are always around to get you whatever you need and Florine who I believe is in charge of the restaurants went out of her way on many occasions to make us feel welcome even helping plan a birthday party one night. You can also have the best pizza you will ever have(and I'm from the NY area) down by the beach and Andy and Marco do there best to get it to you as soon as they can. Ruffino who works in the specialty restaurant is very attentive and friendly as well and Edrick will help you with your bags and get you a taxi if you need it. There were 6 of us and not one of us had a complaint. The hotel could use a facelift but it didn't affect our vacation at all. You should also go out with Fab on a boat trip around the island, he and his wife run the dive shop. Great tour guide and host. $55 for 4 hours and they stock beer, soda, water and Rum Punch...well worth every penny. We had an Ocean front Suite which is well worth the money...Rooms are very clean!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

6 nights there. Oceanview room 5th floor. perfect. room was comfortable. Good drinks and easy to get at any of the bars. Refig. always had beer, soda , water and room had two big bottles of booze.
Food was so so. some meals good..some not so good. Always burgers, dogs, fries available during day. Breakfast foods the best. close to town .easy walk. LeEscargot had great food.
Staff in all departments were polite and helpful. Local vendors were polite and added color to the resort. Resort in great location. Would never have a room on the mountain /street side. that would be a total waste of money. Overall a nice place with all the ammenities you could want. Low key,
decent entertainment.

Room Tip: always get Ocean View. 4th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gst277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 9 day trip to St-Martin where we stayed at the Sonesta Great Bay Resort and Casino. I must say It as a great trip!!!! The service was great, they really tried to make your stay as relaxing as possible. The food in the buffet was good, the restaurants food was even better. The drinks where always flowing and were refreshing at all times. The rooms where nice, we had an ocean view room and it was a beautiful view. The beach was simply amazing!!!!! I have never seen such blue water BREATH TAKING!!! The had activities for everyone beach and pool volleyball, bingo, scavenger hunts, etc. Denroy was one of the activity coordinators and he was a great guy always had a smile on his face and made it all fun. Phillpsburg was a five minute walk down the beach, really cool to walk through town. I would suggest a shuttle between the sister resort in Maho but, All and all it was a wonderful experience. i would stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Oceanview room a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank joseph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The reception service is poor. Rooms were not ready but it was made worse by no demonstration of empathy or an effort to compensate. You have to pay for internet. Hotel overall seems dated.

Location is great and beach view is spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask for room with beach view. A/C worked fine but you run the risk of getting a room with a leaky/s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlt1964mba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,822 reviews
2.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: $392 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing