We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Holland House Beach Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
L'Esperance Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Belair Beach Hotel(Philipsburg)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,342)
Filter reviews
4,342 results
Traveler rating
1,422
1,676
700
310
234
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,422
1,676
700
310
234
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssonesta mahoswim up bargreat baylava rockbutler servicepizzaocean viewil pescatoreseafood restauranta la carte restaurantspool deckentertainment staffsister hotelall inclusivesspecial thanksoceanview roombeautiful island
Filter
Updating list...
3,135 - 3,140 of 4,342 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

That was my first time to Sint Maarten, I enjoyed my trip overall, had two tours of the island, one by boat and the other by jeep. I got to visit the whole island and saw some beautiful beaches. Went to the carnival, it was extraordinary, had lots of fun. The food is excellent in the restaurant downtown in Philipsburg. It was good also at the hotel, but we did not have many varieties as the Maho. It was some experience watching the planes land and take of. The staff in general was ok, just have to talk to them and smile a lot. One negative point, no entertainement. One night we had a live band, everybody started to have fun, then at 9pm they were ready to leave, then we had a collect among the guests and we raised the fee for 2 more hours, then an old hotel staff who claims to run the hotel shut down everything after an 1h1/2 saying it's late and he says that enough for the night. Everyone was dissapointed and when we try to insist he said he would call security on us. No way to treat your guests.

Room Tip: Don't take the garden view, it is a mountain and street view. You hear the traffic
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tigrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreatbay19, Guest Relations Manager at Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you for the review and opinion of the island and resort. We are happy to read overall you enjoued your vacation. We do our best to please all guests for everyone to enjoy, it is unfortunate to read your remark with shutting down the party at appox 11pm, but we do have an outdoor noise policy and we must take in consderation for all guests. We always have music- live, DJ or Bartender mix playing in the Livingroom lounge after 10pm. We look forward to your next trip to Sint Maarten.
sincerely,
The Staff-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My first time at Sonesta Great Bay, stayed there during Carnival Week 4/20/12-4/25/12. Checking in was not good. We were initially put in a room on the 7th floor with 1 king size bed, our reservation was for two beds . We went back down to the lobby and they gave us a new room with 2 beds on the 2nd floor. When we got to the room , a previous guest still had their luggage in there.So we went back to the front desk and they told us to just wait it out. We decided to go the restuarant/bar and get a bite to eat and something to drink. Everything else went on smoothly after this inital snafu. The hotel is old but clean. the rooms have very cold a/c although the shower has a weak stream during peak usage periods. The food is good although if you stay longer than a week , the menu will likely start repeating. Drinks are available all the time. The All inclusive option is very worth it . They have activities such as Water Aerobics, Volleyball and they have baby sitting services for those with kids. The crowd was mostly older retired couples ( Canadians) during our stay. They have entertainment each night and on Friday nights they have a bus that takes guests to the Sonesta Maho Casino Royale area. Its free and comes back to the hotel at mid-night. - Overall the hotel is good value for money,although the Front Desk needs more Customer Service training

Room Tip: View on the mountain side is terrible if you are on the lower floors (Floor 1-3). They overlook the parking lot an the mountain.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank InTransit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreatbay19, Guest Relations Manager at Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We are glad after the mix-up you were able to enjoy the resort and the friendly island of Sint Maarten. We look forward to your next visit to our resort and the island.
thank you,
The Staff-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was our second year staying here and we will be back next year.The hotel is a little dated but clean and comfortable.Food is great somethings not to everyones taste but you will never go hungry.90% of the staff are super friendly and will go out of their way to please you.Only suggestions are more beach umbrellas though this is not all the hotels fault as a lot of guest go down early and put towels on the ones with umbrellas,saw one do this and then go on a tour for the day.It would also be great if they could post the weather forcast to help you plan your day.Once again thank you Great Bay and see you next May.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crvjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

That was my first time at Sonesta Great Bay.
I really enjoyed my week there.
It was in the middle of carnaval time and was really nice to see and all those cruise ships
Hotel Staff are ok, I mean at the restaurant downstairs, staff is excellent, nothing to say, but at the front desk, they look a bit tired. but the service was still good!
My room was ok, but you know, on vacaction, the room is to sleep
I went to St-Barths and Pinel, the best island!!
I would like to get in touch with Nathasha, rep of Sunwing, as I have few information that i need. If someone at your hotel can forward her my reqt.
Overall. i have to return at this hotel. 1 week was definitely not enough!

Room Tip: You must go on front Street during the day time. Room are quieter on Mountain View
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel_Savard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreatbay19, General Manager at Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you for the travel opinion. We appreciate the you taking the opportunity to post your experience for all too read. We will share with our staff for a job well done. You offer nice suggestions on visiting front street for shopping deals and adventures to other islands that can be done in 1 day travel experience.
with hospitality,
Juan- G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was my first trip to St Maarten. The wait staff were accomodating we got to know a few of them. The front desk staff was a different story; 2 in particular were rude and argumentative however for the sake of being diplomatic I will not give their names.

ROOM: The room was average, nothing special and has a musty smell.

BEACH: the hotel beach was a joke, rough fake sand. Dirty water from the storm drain on the side of the hotel runs into the beach

FOOD: the barbecue chef overcooks fish and meat till they are tough. The choices at the buffet meals were limited. On a more positive note, the bartenders here know how to make good rum punch, the view at breakfast was nice with the cruise ships in the background

Entertainment: hotel entertainment was lacking. At the suggestion of one of the waitresses we went to a cafe called Cherie's for live late night shows, had a good laugh there.

St Maarten was good, the shopping was nice but this resort was a let down, they have a long way to go. If you don't care about how your room smells and love dealing with arrogant front desk clerks, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DealsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews