We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for your money”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We just got back for here, was a great place to stay people friendly rooms clean food great. People who say place needs updating are right but it is a much older resort than most and we found the rooms to be very clean and modern I stay at much worse places here in Canada for the same money.
Close to town short walk on beach or streets. Taxis always right out in front if needed.
Not much of a night life but we wanted a quite place.
Food at buffets or restaurants was great.
Very enjoyable time nice beach pools.
Will stay again if we go back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    1,595
    656
    299
    222
See reviews for
614
2,097
134
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The service and food were excellent, the workers are so polite, kind and very helpful. I noticed that everyone goes above and beyond to help you. Management is great, and they appreciate repeate customers. I am well taken care of when I am at the Sonesta Great Bay. I had built a very good relationship with the workers, I appreciated the hard work they provided to make my vacation enjoyable. Thanks to Violette, Alfonso, the Manager, front desk, the kitchen crew, cleaners and don't forget the cooks. The food was really good. I wish if we can see the cooks for example on Manager 's cocktail night so we can say thank you for the delicious meals. The servers and bar tenders are also excellent. Matt and Janet - Ontario

Room Tip: Mgmt. and workers are super nice. Great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Islandgirl0492011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreatbay19, General Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for the travel opinion. We really appreciate the loyalty to the resort and island of sint maarten. It's nicethat you're a wonderful ambassador to consistently mention our resort, island and the hard work our staff completes daily.

with hospitality,
Juan- G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdown, ontario, canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I will make this as short as possible. This hotel and destination Sint Maarten are just great. My wife and I have travelled to Great Bay Resort and Casino 8 times over the last 12 years and will continue to go there evey year. Great location, great staff, good food and a nice laid back place to spend your vacation. Our best to Juan the general manager and all the staff. See you again in september.
Jim and Diana
Waterdown, Ontario Canada

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jimmie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This hotel needs much upgrading. The rooms have a musty smell and even if the air conditioner is kept running the smell does not disappear. The bathroom is full of mold. Not only is there mold on the ceiling tiles but the corners of the walls in the shower also have black mold. The ceiling in the hallways leak and there were blankets placed on the floor the whole length of the hall to collect the water drippng down. The paint was peeling off the corners where the decorative wood moldings were placed.
With the exception of the maid service and a few waitresses in the Bayview restaurant, the service was sub-standard. It took the staff a long time to clean tables, hence you seemed to be always waiting to be seated. It's a good thing that meals were a self-serve buffet because unless Elixabeth was our waitress we could end up not getting any coffee until we were finished our meal. The bar tending staff would rather fill the fridge than wait on customers. We were constantly ignored while we waited to be served and it didn't seem to make the service any better even when we tipped. Most of the staff never smiled or spoke and it seemed like they really did not want to be there.
The night life was virtually non-existent unless you call one individual who sings dances, and plays the guitar appropriate entertainment. I am used to resorts where they put on shows, have singers and dancers who perform and have a disco where you can dance. Even the bars at this hotel close early. The Bayview Bar closes at 10pm and the Lobby Bar closes at 12am. These are not vacation hours.
I would return to Cuba, take a cruise or try a different resort in St. Maarten before I would return to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Molley15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreatbay19, General Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for your travel review, we appreciate the comments & business opportunity. We did not meet the expectations as your recieved on Cuba vacation mentioned in your post. Our resort works hard to offer the best services of the island of Sint Maarten. The resort recieved a major renovation and we consistently make improvements each year to keep our resort in the best possible condition. We will take note of your comments on service & entertainment and put forth our efforts to improve.

with hospitality,
Juan- G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed at the Sonesta in June 2011 and it exceeded our expectations. Based on some reviews, I had really low expectations of this hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised.

The rooms were pretty clean (although dated). The bathroom could be spruced up more, but our room on the 3rd floor was always kept clean. Our bed was made even twice a day. Fresh towels were given to us twice a day, as well.

The beach is really nice, although do explore the other beaches on the island since there's so much!

It's walking distance (about 15 min) to Philipsburg but don't expect anything to be open during low season! We walked to Philipsburg in search of a breakfast place since the hotel charges so much if you are not all inclusive.

It's worth the walk. There are a few restaurants open by the beach, as well as McDonalds (opens at 7:30 am).

Cab rides are also pricey, so it's best to rent a car so you can see the island!

St. Maarten is such a beautiful island. I'd definitely go back and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdecelis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreatbay19, General Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
We appreciate the travel opinion. We untilize these posting to assist with training and always making the effort to give guidiance to our staff to provide the best hospitality at our resort & the island of St. Maarten. We look forward to your next visit.

thank you,
Juan- G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Our room was simply OK, we stayed for 8 nights, front desk was never helpful, to be honest rude. The location was good enough. We like small hotels, so that was a plus. In the dining area we were yelled at not to sit at the waterfront table because it was for 4 people, not 2, excuse me, that was unheard of. Would you want to eat after that? The activity center to purchase trips, stay away, total idiots, just kids that know nothing. Now the bartender was great and so was Cathie at the timeshare sales. We met some wonderful people. Loved St. Maarten and look forward to going back, who knows we may even stay there again. I did see a roach crawling on our wall & at the bar.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasKoester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We just returned from Sonesta Great Bay on Saturday and would have stayed another week if our schedules had allowed it. The hotel was fantastic, the staff are friendly and courteous we even met the General Manager and top executives at the hotel during the Managers BBQ and Raffle night. The food was amazing and plenty of variety. We really enjoyed the theme nights for the Buffet. The town of Phillisburg was less than a 10 minute walk from the hotel and the people of St Maarten are friendly and so nice. The hotel and the Bare Foot Cafe were highly recommended and neither disappointed. As it was low season the nightly activities and some daytime ones were cancelled, however it wasn't an issue. Best trip yet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DurhamConnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreatbay19, General Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to post your vacation experience with our resort and the island of Sint Maarten.You mentioned some wonderful suggestions for all guests to experience and enjoy. The resort has many facilities with 3 pools, multiple bars & restaurants, casino, largest beach on the island and the proximity of walking to shopping district. We look forward to your next visit.

with hospitality,
Juan- G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing