We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK..... but not a hotel type resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The bad news: We just spent 10 days at Divi and were surprised that the resort basically caters to the time share owner and NOT the hotel guest. Most of the politeness was aimed at those that were returning villa owners. Not an ounce of night life. Everyone parties in their villa, I guess.
The good news: the most beautiful beachfront balcony ever!! The waves were awesome, not the usual mini waves seen in most of the caribbean islands. Just a beautiful site! Also, great walking....we walked to Phillipsburg every day, (quite a steep hill between Great Bay and Little Bay).
Met tons of interesting people from around the world, as they came off the many ships stopping there.
The resorts don't want you to know this but you can catch a local bus in Phillipsburg for $2.00 that will take you anywhere....Marigot, included.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,277)
There are newer reviews for Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,861 - 1,867 of 2,277 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2010

This was our 3rd trip to the beautiful dutch side of St Maarten. 1st time at Divi Little Bay. There is no bay nicer around the island. No need to even waste time traveling around & paying for chairs elsewhere. Little Bay is secluded, clean, gently rolling waves, safe and Simply "Paradise". We loved our 1 bedrm timeshare (although we r not timeshare owners). These rms are in the numbered buildings. The room was new. Nice bath w/big tub & shower. Kit was fully equipped. We had happy hour each night using the blender. Rm was new, clean, had a sep master w/a pull out couch in den area. Flat screens in both areas. Cleaning came everyday with clean towels and made up the beds. Our place overlooked the turquoise blue lagoon where all the cruises come in/out. Great to watch from the rms outdr deck. The resort is truly meant for relaxing. Plenty of lounge chairs on large beach. We had our 2 teenagers (16 yrs & 13) w/friends w/kids same age. Not much to do for kids but they had a blast. There is foosball & tennis court, but we brought games, big tubes and snorkel gear. They never complained about being bored. The lunch at the resort Seabreeze Cafe is delicious. Service stinks (very slow) but great food. Breakfast buffet on 1st day at resort's Toucans was not that good. Rest of the week we made breakfast in our suite. 5 mins away is a great supermarket called Grand Marche. Took the kids to the Zipline (FlyZone) on french side (40ft high obstacle course..very safe). Amazing...highly recommended. Every night we went out to dinner, Places highly recommended incl Trattoria Pizza/Pasta in Maho, Moulan Fuu in Maho, Paris in Maho, La Gondola in Cupecoy, Lee's in Simpson Bay, Pineapple Petes in Simpson, and ZeeBest for breakfast in Simpson (best flavored croissants). The staff at Divi was very friendly. There is a very nice (little) gym, internet room, deli/cafe and 2 outdoor bars. We sunbathed all day mixed with swimming, reading & napping. This is the perfect place for all of that. If u r looking for entertainment, this place is not for you. This resort is great for relaxing and we LOVED IT. So did our kids. The people of St Maarten are very warm and friendly. The Dutch side is very safe and easy to travel. We did not even bother to explore the French side when we were completely satisfied where we were. Rent a car instead of taking taxis. It's cheap enough. There are casinos and night life in Maho. We r all definitely going back next year. It was so hard leaving this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LongIslandDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Just got back from Divi a week ago. We found the resort to be very nice. We stayed in a studio we exchanged through RCI and stayed for 2 weeks. The room was not to small and was well equipped. The bathroom had its own jet tub which was very nice. The bed was huge and probably the most comfortable we have ever had. The convection oven took a little to get used to but worked well. The maid service was better than we expected as they exchanged the towels every day and totally cleaned the room twice a week. Our room was very close to the Infinity pool which we went to every day and had the best view for the sunset every night. The pool above Gizmo's was by far the warmest of the resort . All the pools were not very busy so they were very relaxing. The on site grocery is good for getting bottle water, snacks, beer, frozen pizza, etc. There is also a duty free liquor store that was very well stocked and had great pricing. Vodka was only $8/liter. The on site restaurants were pretty good for what we enjoy. Great ribs and a cobb salad that was really good. They had a pasta night on Wed nights that was very good. Large portions and the chef was very good. We mostly ate in the room and got our grocery's from the Grande Marche which is not to far of a drive and had pretty much everything @ pricing similar to home. We rented a car but did not use it much as we spent most of our time @ the resort. You can rent a car on site if you need one to explore when you want. Did the timeshare tour with Raymond and was very nice tour of the property and definitely no pressure sales. He did a great job. We only did 1 tour and that was the day trip around the island on Too Rhum Punch catamaran. Well worth it as you get to see the whole island and served lunch on the boat as well as lunch in Grande Case. The crew was great and kept the drinks and tunes going all day. Well worth the day.
The beach was very nice and usually not crowded with lots of lounge chairs and umbrellas. The on site gym was not the biggest but had enough to get a good workout.
The staff at the resort were very good and had no complaints. The resort is secluded and quiet with security walking around so we felt safe as well. Not a resort to go if you are into the nightlife but great to go and relax!! We will be returning for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeneSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Just returned from a 5 day stay at the Divi. After reading the reviews, I expected poor service, but was quite wrong. All the staff were accomodating, friendly, hard working and responsive to any request we had. Perhaps those with negative reviews were disgruntled themselves and do not know how to treat others... We exchanged through RCI, a studio unit with a pull out couch for our toddler. The room was big enough for 2 adults and 1 child but I would feel cramped with another adult. The bathroom was quite large, with a jacuzzi tub, and separate shower. Being on the top floor gave us a vaulted ceiling which was nice and made it more quaint. The balcony view was of Little Bay and we could still see the Cruise Ships coming into Great Bay. Just a refrigerator, microwave and stove top, but perfect for breakfast in the morning. Our favorite meal and ambience was at Chesterfield's. The Greenhouse was also good, say hello to Karen, a very friendly waitress if you go. We did not rent a car but took a taxi to the Sunset Bar to watch the planes land and also walk around Simpson Bay/Maho Bay area in the evening. Phillipsburg locks up in the evening but for the Boardwalk restaurants and bars. The ocean was the bluest of all carribbean islands we have toured and the weather was perfect each day. The beach at Divi was well maintained, as were the pools. The grounds were impeccable. One thing we noticed was the average age of other's at the Divi was about 60. I would not hesitate to go back at all for a wonderful relaxing trip to a beautiful island and resort.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thefunpolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Divi is a nice hotel with a wonderful location directly on beach.
We had read many reviews of people complaining about service.
My husband and I found front desk employees to be polite and very helpful and caring.
Bartenders Rudy,Juan,Leroy very upbeat and friendly
Would recommend Divi for a nice quiet relaxing vacation with a beautiful view!

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hapeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Just got back from Divi Little Bay, and we were very satisifed. The units are spacious, and have been updated with the latest in style. We were steps from the beach, and could get a lounge chair anytime of day- no running down in the early morning to hold one! It's location was perfect, between Simpson Bay and Philipsburg- 5-10 minutes to all you need. Since it faces the Carribean side, the waves are gentle. Your best bet for food on premises is Gizmos and Sea Breeze- reasonable and good food. The little grocery store although limited, had what we needed. Toucans all you can eat BBQ was worth it, great meats and salads. We drove to Grand Case twice, however you really do not need to, the restaurants are great in the local area. The place gets a quiet crowd, which is what we wanted.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JPSkiNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

The Divi Little Bay resort is located directly on Little Bay, west of Philips burg. The beach is wonderful. At the east end of the beach off its hilly peninsula, many daily snorkel trips anchor. The property grounds were very well kept. There are some on-site stores, a Divi owners suite and a fully equipped gym. There is a Thrifty car rental outlet on the property if you decide to not rent at the airport outlets (all of which are off site).
As time-sharers, we were thrilled to stay in room 36, which is a renovation of one of many of what used to be honeymoon suites at the hotel and are now being sold as timeshares. Each of multiple small buildings has 3 of these rooms in it. Our room was a one bedroom suite that had privacy for 4. The bedroom and living area each have flat screen TVs (one with a DVD) and are separated by a common bathroom with dual doors. The bathroom was very modern with superior shower fixtures and a hair dryer. Each of the rooms had its own AC and ceiling fan/light. The rooms are naturally lit through glass privacy blocks in the rear wall and louvered windows in the front wall. Since the living area queen bed is a convertible, if you were planning to use it, it would be wise to bring an air mattress to overcome its normal insufficient mattress thickness. The only closet space is in the bedroom (only shortcoming of the unit). The kitchen was fully equipped with under-counter fridge, large micro and range (no oven). It also had a toaster, blender and coffeemaker (bring large filters and coffee). Our room had a covered, open porch with a table and some view of the water that made morning breakfast/coffee very pleasant. Our section had its own large, deep pool and Jacuzzi with adjacent flowering bushes that the hummingbirds loved. There are two other pools on the property including an infinity pool at its easterly end. The hotel has been gradually recovering and renovating/converting since the hurricane a few years back. There are very distinct sections of accommodations: Beach Villas at the west end (used to be hotel rooms). Casitas behind them. Three floors of new, blended room types at the east end.
The beach was wonderful and we found that we only visited other beaches as sightseeing destinations rather than needing to use them. There were always enough chairs and umbrellas.
The hotel restaurants were reasonable and we ate two lunches at the pool-side cafe and two dinners at Toucans. Since there are two beach side bars, one had a happy hour from 5-6 and the second had a happy hour from 6-7. We also had a very nice breakfast at the beach side restaurant at the Belmar (next door, you can walk to it along the beach sidewalks).
The normal requests by the timeshare sales agents were relatively easy to avoid although we did have a nice chat with one of them, since we were already owners at another Divi property. They have plenty of newly refurbished inventory.
The Divi provides you with a discount card for a few shops.
We traveled every day and would strongly recommend a car rental. Remember that your normal liability coverage is NOT applicable to St Martin. Our rental from Thrifty including $49 of liability coverage (only) was $283 including all taxes and fees for a full week.
For sightseeing, we enjoyed the 12 Metre Racing sailing activity. It was interesting to see/use the racing gear/winches. Philips burg is the hub of sales activity along Front street and is highly dependent upon the huge cruise ships that arrive (as many as 4 at a time). The shops at the west end of Philips burg have suffered and Mari got has been greatly impacted as activity has shifted to the open market and the marina there. We visited Friars Beach (horrible access road), Dawn Beach, Orient Beach, but the Divi beach was much more comfortable and pleasant. Make a point of visiting the Mari got open market on Wednesday and remember that you can begin your negotiations with an incredible discount of paying only a dollar for each euro. We bought spices for much lower cost than stateside.
We ate all over the island and there are hundreds of restaurants. Le Cottage (Grand Cas) was superior. Great lobster bisque, escargots and chocolate souffle. Talk of the Town (Grand C as) is one of 3 casual stands in the same spot that casually serve very good chicken, ribs, lobsters. Mr. Busby’s (Dawn Beach) had good cheese steak and decent pizza. Z ee Best (Simpson Bay) had very good crepes. La Gondola at the Atlantis casino served very good Italian entrees with nice ambiance but too expensive wine. Turtle Pier (Simpson Bay by the airport) had excellent lobsters and a happy hour that seemed very popular with the marina visitors. We enjoyed Le Sucrier bakeries at Marigot and Simpsons Bay (which has a seating area right on the dock). At the Greenhouse (Philipsburg), we were truly amazed at how good the conch fritters and French dip with fries were. At Antoine s (Philips burg) we sat at a table by the beach and enjoyed our strip steak and red snapper. At Taloula Mangos (aka Blue B**ch, Philips burg) we had a decent hamburger and ribs while watching the beach walk and beach band, but the service was poor. Note that many retail facilities offer free WiFi if you purchase something their.
Shortcomings: The directions to the hotel are incorrect and there is no hotel signage at the street. Make sure you have a very good map and it would be wise to familiarize yourself with the route from the airport to the hotel in advance of your trip. When you drive, please be VERY alert for the extensive use of speed bumps throughout the island. Many of them are poorly marked. The traffic in Simpsons Bay has become very bad and is negatively affecting that area. The Divi has painted many of the stairwells and they are now VERY slick/dangerous when wet. Some of the damaged facilities (e.g. the grass roof above the Jacuzzi in full view of the room 37 that they are showing) would be easy to repair. The Divi front desk staff is very slow, as one might expect. Eventually, Divi will propagate WiFi throughout the resort, but not yet.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rograham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
510 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.3 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: $153 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St Maarten
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing