We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont waste your money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
south carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont waste your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

When we finally checked in after traveling over 12 hrs.my wife needed a nap when she laid down the sheets were filled with sand,I finally located a maid who said its not her floor but ont tell the front desk the other maid didnt change the sheets.the front desk staff is VERY RUDE like they are doing you a favor,the hot water (or lack of) takes a least 10 minutes to get WARM it also takes the maid at least 6hrs to do the room after you put the sign out.the restaurants on site are HORRIBLE and the staff all have attitude problems.guest services unly want to sell time shares not help you at all.the beach was good.the towel shack never opens on time

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklyn1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    712
    302
    136
    109
See reviews for
535
1,052
47
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

We just got back from Divi. IMO, you must stay in a timeshare unit (referred to as suites on their website). We checked out the beach front hotel rooms and they were gross. The timeshare units are pretty nice (recently renovated) and you get a lot for the rate - balcony w/ table and four chairs and a lounger, a big comfy bed with hotel white sheets, a seating area, a kitchenette w/ a nice sized fridge, microwave, 2 burner stovetop, dishes & cookware, and a newly finished bathroom w/ drawers for storage, a standup shower w/ a seat, and a jacuzzi tub for 2 w/ mood lighting that changes colors. We didn't use the kitchenette for much, but I imagine its great if you have hungry kids or are trying to save money. Safe, hairdryer, iron/board, closet space, all that stuff. Plenty of towels.

The beach is really nice, soft smooth sand and gentle waves. The drinks are good, the food sucks. In fact, it was the worst food we had on the island. They couldn't cook a hamburger or chicken strips right! But we didn't mind b/c we didn't eat there much anyway and didn't plan to in the first place. We ordered dominos for delivery the 2 nights in our 10 night stay we were too tired to go out to eat. The beach also offered jet skis and other watersports (not all beaches in sxm do). The hotel beach towels were small, but I expected that and brought my own pretty Michael Kors towels. They stood out and made it easy to find our stuff and we used them on the chairs and the hotel towels as pillows and to dry off.

The pool was kind of lame, but they did have a nice infinity pool just for the timeshare guests facing the sunset. We are not pool people anyway, so this didn't matter much to us.

The location was great! Very close to Philipsburg and a quick drive to Simpson Bay or to Orient Beach. We found it very easy to get around from here and this was our first trip to SXM.

We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. I think we got a lot for our money, the staff was really friendly and the only drawback was the food. But you don't come to St Maarten to stay at your resort and only eat there. If you do, you are cheating yourself out of the amazing food on the island!!

Was it the best resort I've stayed at? No. Was it the nicest on the island? Certainly not. But Divi is clean, very comfortable, pretty, friendly, fun and not too hard on the wallet, leaving more money to spend at all the wonderful restaurants on this fantastic little island! I recommend!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunLovin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

Beautifully appointed and comfortable rooms. Gorgeous grounds and beach. Friendly and accommodating staff. We cannot wait to go back to this resort. The water and beach were amazing. The views were breathtaking. The snorkeling was fantastic! We traded a week at the Hilton Grand Vacation Club in Orlando to stay at the Divi Little Bay Resort. The Divi was every bit a 5 star resort! We were very, very pleased! The teenagers had a blast and families with smaller children would find this to be a fun and safe place to vacation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWanderers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

Let's be objective:

POSITIVE POINTS:
1) The beach is private and the sea is very calm. Great for kids!
2) There are 4 different swimming pools in the resort area. All are very nice.
3) The food at DINNER (and only dinner) is unbeliveable - I had the best seafood pasta ever!
4) It's within walking distance to downtown Philipsburgh (20 minutes) - but it is not a pleasant walk since you go past some poor areas and you see people staring at you as if you had a lot of money in your pocket.

NEGAVITE POINTS:
1) The hotels rooms need urgent restoration - they are old and specially the bathroom is completely out of date. It takes around 10 minutes of water running to get hot water.
2) Service in general - all employees have a "it's not my problem" attitude.
3) Breakfast - very poor
4) Lunch - only snacks and salads are available.
5) Internet - only available on the Cafe. If you want to plug in your laptop, you have to bring your own cable and disconnect the cafe's desktop

That is it. For the price I paid, US$ 99,00 + tax it was quite good. If I was on vacation, it would be better, but as I was on business, I missed high speed internet in the room and a business center.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECostaBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

I just returned from a 5 day stay at the Divi Little Bay Resort with my family. Although the beach is beautiful and my family and I made the best of the trip, we would will not be returning to the resort nor recommending it to others. Our room was nice, but the customer service throughout the trip was very poor. For example, we were out of toilet paper for two days, and after using the kleenex and calling to complain to the front desk we finally got more toilet paper. We called several times and asked for more pillows, but never received them. The room staff did change the trash, but that was about it. They did not do anything else to clean the room for the length of the stay. The manager/host at the hotel restaurant was very rude on two different nights, the service poor and slow, food not very good, and food was expensive. After visiting other beaches, we found that the customer service was much better on the French side of the island. Divi Little Bay is near Philipsburg, which has a lot of little beach shops and jewelry stores, but the shops on the French side seemed to have better artisan stores, better restaurants, and much more friendly people.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

I recently returned from Diva little bay resort. My husband and I stayed 7 nights. The resort is beautiful and the views were stunning from anywhere on the resort. All units are updated furnished beautifully. We stayed in a one bedroom unit with a beautiful view. The balcony was very nice, we sat outside every morning and watched the cruise ships come and go. Our kitchen was updated with stainless steel appliances and beautiful cabinetry. The bathroom was huge with a huge tuba separate shower. The only problem we had with the unit was closet space. There was very little closet space.

The grounds are also beautiful. There is a grocery store and a deli on the premises, but there is a much larger grocery store about 2 miles from the resort in Phillipsburg. We were able to find everything we needed at reasonable prices.

The food at the Seabreeze bar/cafe was really good and convenient for lunch or a midday snack.

The pools are all small but perfect. You would not want to miss the sunset at the infinity pool. It was absolutely beautiful.

The beach area was very quite, clean and relaxing. I spent a lot of time reading and enjoying the view. I noticed that since the hotel rooms are steps away from the beach, a lot of the guest would go out early in the morning and reserve chairs by leaving books and hats on them. They leave the books and hats there for hours. This was very inconsiderate.

My husband and I rented a car at the resort which was very convenient. There was plenty of parking on premises. We were allowed to return the car to a location near the airport and take a shuttle to the airport. That was wonderful!

We walked into Phillipsburg, it took about 15minutes and there is a sidewalk all the way.

There are so many wonderful restaurants in St. Maarten. We spent a lot of time at Lee’s Roadside grill. The food was great. We also enjoyed the Mango Daiquiris at Toppers. Both restaurants are in Simpson Bay. We traveled to Grand Case twice to eat at wonderful little restaurant on Grand Case Blvd called ‘Talk of the Town’. The lobster was to die for.

I am a travel agent and I schedule time with the resort manager for a site inspection and a tour of the property. He showed me several rooms and they all included the most modern updates. He was very helpful and he has a lot of great ideas for improvements to an already beautiful resort. We can’t wait to go back! I would highly recommend this resort

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EOE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

Clean, modern resort. Stayed with spouse and second couple. 2 BR lockout had large bedrooms with central living room & full kitchen, washer/dryer. Lockout (studio) had partial kitchen. Room was 10 ft from beautiful beach with calm water. Great views. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. Took care of several minor problems quickly.

Great location. Equal distance to both sides of island. 30-40 minutes to Orient Beach and Marigot/Grand Case. Resort was quiet, but only 15 mins from Simpson Bay/Maho area with most restaurants, casinos and nightlife.

Best meal - lobster thermidor at Pineapple Petes. Barbecue at resort was good.
Snorkling not great. Dawn Beach was too rough. Visit Marigot on Wed. when market is open. Had good lunch (ribs) at Talk of the Town in Grand Case.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormanNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.3 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Property: Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, West Indies and Jetsetter so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing