We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I enjoyed it.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I enjoyed it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a little mix up on our rooms but Juan at the front desk did an awesome job making it right. We rented a junior suite and it is more then what we needed. Very comfortable, but you are in St. Maarten, how much time do you really stay in your room!
The beach is great, nice waves, good sand.
The staff is always friendly and helpful. Make sure you stop and see Eugene at the activities desk, she can arrange anything!
Food was great at each location, drinks are good.
It is costly at the store so you can save a little by going to the store.
Rooms are very clean and the maid staff does a good job maintaining. There is a lot of walking to get to your room so be prepared for that!
I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toddbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    712
    302
    136
    109
See reviews for
535
1,052
47
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just arrived home from a wonderful trip to St. Maarten and the Divi Little Bay Resort. Our unit was situated right on the beach with a spectacular view. Resort is in a perfect location for getting around the island. We've been going to Divi for 6 years now and always find the staff very attentive and friendly. They make every effort to please. The front desk staff were welcoming, the bartenders poured great drinks and housekeeping responded quickly to our every request. We ate often at Gizmo's, the bar, and at Seabreeze, the outdoor bar restaurant. If your lucky you'll get Roxanne as a waitress. Food doesn't come out fast but then it is laid back in the Caribbean and with the great views -- the pool, beach, crystal clear water-- who's in a hurry! If you want to lunch on the beach you can always grab a sandwich from the Deli. There is bar/food service on the beach. The infinity pool and surrounding area is so tranquil and worth the walk up the hill. Be careful walking through the hallways tho since the tiles can be slippery when wet. The hot tubs were all working and very clean which always surprises me since I watch guest get in right from the beach and full of sand, especially children. Great to relax in at night under the stars - never crowded while we were there. Staff keeps up on the maintenance. Entertainment is frequent and good. The only part of Divi we don't frequent is the restaurant, Tucan's. Recently redone, it is attractive but just doesn't feel like you're on the island; and, being a foodie, I don't care for the menu. Just an opinion. We've travelled/cruised to most places in the Caribbean; and Divi Little Bay, while not elegant, is one of the best. All-in-all a great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I thought the resort was excellent. We had requested a double bed, because they didn't have one they put us in a timeshare condo facing the bay. The beach was awesome and the room was very clean. The service at the bars is not that great and the restaurant was not that good. Overall a very good experience and we will go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geomack012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed for a week, we were in a beachfront hotel room. Close to the beach and the restaurants. The service was good, patchy at times, but as long as you are happy to wait , you will be fine. If you want snappy service, you shouldn't really be going to the Caribbean anyway! The resort was clean, and well cared for. We ate at the beach bar, great pizza! We also had good sandwiches at the Seabreeze cafe. It really is a lovely resort, easy walk to Philipsburg (taxi back to avoid the steep hills)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveUllapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatfield, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Would like to share my concerns regarding the security at Little Divi. Arriving Saturday Feb 1st, our first few days were delightful, stress free, and relaxing. Which is what we all hope for on a vacation. Wednesday Feb 5th my husband and I went into our wallets for our Passport cards and they were gone, we were going into town and wanted proper identification with us. We search and search with no luck. I then spoke to Andreas who is head of housekeeping. His response was one of which I didn't care to hear at the time. I quote "Eighty percent of the people misplace their items" really is that something you would want to hear at that moment when something so valuable was stolen. My jewelry was not taken, perhaps I was wearing it, our money, who knows, we didn't count our cash every evening before bed. Four out of seven nights the sliding glass door had been left unlocked by housekeeping. I was on the ground floor. Not good! The local authority was called we made a report out followed by going into town for a statement at the police dept. I have turned my home apart with no luck finding the passport cards. We NEVER take them out of our wallets. I thought the management perhaps could have taken this matter a bit more serious. The management Andreas and Celine really did indeed and probably still think they were misplaced by us. They are wrong! I have since canceled both of our passport cards with our federal authorities. We now have to go through the process again applying for our passport cards. What a mess!!!! As for the rest of the staff I feel they were very friendly and outgoing. The beach was beautiful. The room was outdated and the sliding glass door handles and lock was broken. You had to put a stick in the door. Hmmmm kind of makes you think!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Bumppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We are very happy to read that you had a relaxing and stress-free start to your vacation. It is unfortunate that your pistol licenses and passport cards went missing. Our front desk agent Juan, Andries and I sat with you and assisted with everything we were able to assist with.

I am glad to hear that you feel that our employees are friendly and outgoing. With respect to the stick you mentioned, I do note that because handle latches can be easily dislodged, a dowel or bar is the best type of security on a sliding glass door.

Sending best wishes for future relaxing vacations on beautiful beaches,

Celine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our very nice studio unit overlooked Little Bay. Some of the units were on the Grand Bay side. Either one afforded a gorgeous view. The sand was soft, the water so clear, the breezes so refreshing. Lovely restaurants and entertainment. Three pools, including a small infinity pool. The front desk staff was efficient and fun. A very helpful activities director planned two excursions for us. One was an all day trip on a catamaran for snorkeling and lunch. The other was a half day trip to the French side of the island. It was a twenty minute walk into Phillipsburg. Taxis were also available. We would love to go back there.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms were right on the beach with a sidewalk immediately in front, affording little priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband, daughter and I were at the Divi in late January and had a great experience. We've stayed at Divi many times and enjoy the beach, the views and the close proximity to shopping in Phillipsburg. The rooms and property are well maintained and the staff very friendly. Our 1 bedroom suite overlooked both Little Bay and Great Bay. Our suite had two bathrooms and a well equipped kitchen, large living/dining room and a very large balcony with lounge chairs as well as a table and chairs.

The service at Toucan's on the beach was outstanding and a definite preference over the Seabreeze café.

A small market on the property is staffed with great people.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Deb Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Wow! Great review! Thank you very much! I am delighted that you think our staff is very friendly and that our service is outstanding. I think everybody agrees that the ladies at the Bay View Market are indeed great! We are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Celine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.3 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Property: Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing