We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great week in 618” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great week in 618”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We own in Aruba, but took advantage of the Divi Escape Week to visit St. Maarten. No regrets, our unit - with it's balcony view of Great Bay - was awesome. Wonderful people, amazing scenery, a very relaxing week.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LCM1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    711
    302
    135
    109
See reviews for
534
1,052
47
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have never visited St. Maarten before. It is beautiful! From the moment we stepped on to the resort everything was perfect. The staff was friendly, courteous, and professional. We were helped to our room on the third floor. A one bedroom suite facing Little Bay with two balconies! Plenty of space for parents and two young adults as we had two pull out couches. Being near Phillipsburg, we saw many ships enter and leave the port from the balconies. The water was beautiful and clear. Good snorkeling. Must go to the Fort on the top of the hill. If you can get to the floating bar around the point of the peninsula, I think it would be fun. You wouldn't know it was there if you didn't go to the Fort or snorkel out to the tip of the point. One person who helped make our stay at Divi so wonderful was Nigel at Gizmo's Beach Bar. He is warm, friendly, and even funny! You will need to have him show you some magic! Not matter when we went there, Nigel was engaged in conversation with guests. It is obvious that he loves his profession and the people that visit him. If going to St. Maarten, this is the place to stay! Check out was as easy as checking in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Little Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dede0315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

As Resort Owners of Unit 304, we invited family members on this annual trip hoping that they would become Resort Owners as well. We gave them Unit 304 and we took their unit which was Unit 507 because we stay here often and we wanted to show them the best. However on August 2, 2013, we encountered an electrical FIRE in unit 507. We notified the pool bartender which was right across from us and he called the front desk. By the time they arrived they couldn't even go into the unit because it was filled with dark covered burning fire smoke. Still unsure of where this fire actually started. Finally some of the smoke cleared out and we were able to move our things as fast as we could. Smoke damage was everywhere!!! Food, personal items, clothing, suit cases and electronics were covered with smoke and that terrible, terrible electrical fire smell. Finally we were told that the bathroom light fixture caught fire, as you will see in the pictures. There was a smoke detector in the unit however there were no batteries in the smoke detector as we, Resort Owners discovered on our own.The Resort offered to wash our clothes only however how were we going to put clean clothes in smoke covered suitcases and carry on bags... Next we went to the front desk and waited to speak with the night manager Edgar and GM Celine - finally we were able to speak with both of them... As a Resort owner was not satisfied at all with their customer service manners, nor the outcome of the conversations... Pictures to follow... Andersons

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Denise,

For myself and on behalf of the Resort, I apologize again for the incident that caused smoke to fill your room while you were out. An electrical spark caused the plastic light cover above the bathroom counter to melt and it was the combination of electrical spark and melting plastic that created so much smoke. We all know that this is an awful smell. As discussed while you were still here, this is something that has never happened on our property before. The Resort meets or exceeds safety standards of any other hotel in St. Maarten. I am glad that maintenance, our front office manager and the bellman were available to assist by providing access and moving your belongings to an alternate room.

We indeed offered to launder all of your clothing as we have our own laundry service on property. To us at that time, attempting to clean your clothing to see what might be salvaged was the first step. Please also let the record show that we compensated you for the groceries in your room fridge that you would not be able to consume before check out the next day. Since you were within 24 hours of departure, we feel that the staff did all they could under the circumstances. Please know that the Resort staff and I recognize how valuable vacation time is. I understand that this incident on the second-to-last day of your trip was unpleasant, inconvenient and I imagine, has cast a shadow on your memories of the entire trip. However, I must note that it is hard to read that you gave all areas of the Resort a 1-star rating, including sleep quality and location. Neither me nor the rest of the staff are aware of any concerns or complaints you had about your stay prior to the incident but this information is important to us as we are always striving to improve the quality of your vacation.

I must say that it is disappointing that you posted your review right after we spoke, while you were still on property. As you know, the matter was still under investigation at that time and even the best fire remediation or insurance company cannot resolve a claim in less than 24 hours. You were given full contact information for the Divi Resorts Legal Department; they are aware of the incident and assist in resolution of claims such as this. Seeing that you are an owner at Divi Little Bay in St. Maarten, we presume you are familiar with the US office. The offer to assist with remediation of your belongings remains available and the Legal Department can discuss replacement of items that cannot be cleaned or repaired.

We hope that this experience will not stop you from visiting your home resort or other Divi properties in the future. And we trust that our head office will assist you with any other concerns you may still have. Please again accept our sincere apologies.

Sincerely,

Celine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've stayed at almost every timeshare/vacation rental resort on the island, and the Divi is superior by far. I'm not into the all-inclusive but have eaten at the restaurants and the "all you can eat" restaurant is basic buffet food, but tasty. The Bar/restaurant had really good food and great service. The rooms are spacious, clean and well-maintained. There is security at the entrance and on foot 24/7 to ensure guests' safety. All the staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. I've stayed at this resort three times since 2009 and in my opinion it is superior. The beach couldn't be much better. It is a long beach with one side having more calm water and the other having waves. The snorkeling is great right on the property and many of the snorkeling excursions on the island bring their patrons to snorkel off the shore here. The resort has more "Complimentary" activities than the others and live music almost every evening. I haven't used the spa there, but met people who said they were pleased with the services provided. I love the entire island and always rent a car, so I don't mind that there isn't anything within walking distance. Most other resorts that are located walking distance from restaurants, etc. also have people walking around selling things on the beach. I don't really like that, so it's a plus for me to be more isolated. Internet is expensive at $10.00 a day(with a discount for the week) so if you need internet, be aware of that. Quite a few restaurants and businesses have free wifi as do some of the other resorts. I believe all the rooms have an excellent ocean view of either Great Bay or Little Bay and the property also has an old fort you can walk to.

Room Tip: Upon arrival make the staff aware of any mobility issues because parts of the resort are 4 stories a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SassyRedGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We usually go to Aruba but we decided to visit St. Martin this year. This was a great resort and we really enjoyed our time here. We had a studio over looking Little Bay with a terrace. It was great sitting outside and relaxing with a bottle of wine, cheese and crackers. The beach is wonderful with plenty of umbrellas and snorkeling close by.

There is a great bar for lunch drinks or snacks right close to the beach. We also went to the different pools. They have a small infinity pool that is so nice. There is also a great little place called Gingerbread Cafe which is part of the Bel-air hotel. You can walk there on the beach for breakfast/lunch. It sits right on the beach and they had the best coffee in the a.m. overall I would return to this resort. I found everyone to be friendly and helpful. There is a lot of walking with very little golf carts around for transportation. If going there I would inquire about a room close to the restaurants as walking usually requires going uphill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank dianne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We check in the hotel everyone was friendly. When we got to the room it was dirty. We try a new room the next room was dirty. We got Upgraded to a Suit room 518 by the young man name Elvis he was very nice and friendly. There is a Young lady by the name of Wendy in the market she was Awesome very Pleasant always happy. The young man who check us out was Extremely friendly.Apart from the Missed understanding with the room everything was Awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aniese L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Divi Little Bay is an island paradise in a wonderful tropical setting. The resort is right out of "Fantasy Island". I always look forward to my annual return trip. The staff is friendly and always helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Little Bay side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John and Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.3 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Property: Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Agoda, Priceline, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing