We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Second time around not so good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Divi Little Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Second time around not so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were at Divi in 2012 and had an excellent time, couldn't understand some of the negative reviews we had read. Actually a travel agent had arranged for our visit. Just before we left last year a manager had talked me into coming back with this program called Dreamscapes at a very good price for a studio just like we had used. Ok so we came back and the person at the front desk looked at the Dreamscapes papers like I was from space, any way we got a studio on the first floor which I didn't want but was fine. There was no screen door on the slider which you really need on the ground floor, the remote control for the TV was broke as was the ceiling fan switch. The refrigerator freezer was closed up with ice. In all fairness this is a beach resort so things will break and there won't be the same attention to detail as in a big city hotel. I did get a screen door within 2 days but I defrosted the freezer myself and fixed the remote with tape so that it held together. Not sure what has happened in one year but the housekeeping staff has gone downhill, last year they were very good not so this year. There doesn't seem to be enough maintenance people to keep up with things. The front desk people are clueless, part of my " package " was a $100.00 gift certificate that I had to ask for when checking out, even then I got the what are you talking about speech. The last negative thing for me is the information staff which is another name for low level sales people, they will bug you until you are ready to scream. It seems like we spent half the time trying to avoid them. Last year there was only one lady to avoid this year they were parked everywhere.
On the bright side it is a lovely place location wise, the views of Little Bay and the larger bay on the back side are beautiful. The groundskeepers are very good. The security staff are very friendly and all the food service people from the bartenders to the waitstaff are great. All the food outlets are very good especially our favorite Gizmo's. The prices are not bad at all. The gold star belongs to Eugenie in the activities office, she is fantastic she knows all the best things to do and will book all the best trips for you. I can't say enough good things about her.
I was Divi Little Bays biggest booster in Ma. last year but I'm not so sure any more, maybe it was a freak bad visit, I've been in the hotel business my whole life so I'm very understanding of how hard it is to be consistent but this was not nearly as good as last year. I may try again in a few years but they need to work on a lot of problems.

Room Tip: Studio on the second floor or higher. Farther up the hill the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fhs63en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    612
    269
    124
    101
See reviews for
435
894
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
poughkeepsie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here in a timeshare unit 2/2/13 thru 2/9/13. Resort also has hotel units facing ocean with beach access. Resort has three separate beaches, three swimming pools and four hot tubs. Several restaurants, snack bar and small grocery store on site. Several events during week, caribbean night and other buffets at the restaurants. No problem getting beach chair, umbrella or towel. Staff very friendly and courteous. From the bay side you can see the cruise ships pulling in in the morning and leaving at night. The ONLY negative is a very aggressive timeshare presence who continually pursue you even after you have said you are not interested; so, beware of any free offers, raffles, etc. if you are not timeshare savvy and do not want to sit through several hours of a presentation and/or tour. I was there with my wife, but there were several families with young children also there. Only a fifteen minute walk into Philipsburg, and taxi stand and car rental agency on the grounds. If you like the beach, this is the place.

Room Tip: Specify ocean or bay view if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Overall the grounds and location are beautiful. You really can't get better views and the rooms are big. However, when we arrived we were given an apartment that only fit 4 people when we made a reservation for 6. We ended up having to use cots and we weren't happy. They couldn't even accommodate us in a different room.
Overall the staff was not helpful and rude. When we would call the front desk for house keeping they would never come. We needed another pan, they didn't bring it, they only cleaned out room once in the 4 night stay.
Lastly, we were yelled at by that Towel people and I couldn't believe they would treat a guest as they did. Apparently we were given a towel card that needed to be presented every time we got towels. So we went to get towels and the man never asked for the card, then we went to get towels again and were asked for the card which we didn't have on us and said we were given towels before without it. The answer we received was that we were given the towels because we were "girls" and then I hear the man in the background yell "this is what happens when you try to help someone, they take full advantage"

I warn everyone that goes there that if you expect service this isn't the place for you, however in terms of the best views in st Martin, you can't get better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmsweet772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Spent one night at Little Divi Philipsburg post-cruise, pre-flight in January 2013. Hotel is situated beautifully, with views of Philipsburg and ocean, and is a convenient stop between the cruise terminal and the airport. Room was nice, with picturesque view of ocean. Disappointment a result of ants in room (on baseboards and bathroom vanities), lack of hotwater until we called to complain, and attitude of staff. Got the impression that our requests (ie. hot water in the shower and towels for the beach) were an annoyance or an interuption to their day. There is a small market on site, but the prices are astronomical, even by St. Martin standards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donny099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
212 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had been in a Divi resort 15 years ago in Aruba, liked it and thought I'd stay there in St. Maarten. Good choice. Hits: 1) lovely room looking out at cruise ships every morning and every night. Looked like a million Christmas trees sailing by in the gloom, beautiful. 2) terrific beach, quiet, clean crescent shaped, 3) large buffet at breakfast 4) coffee shop/ beer and provisions right in the middle of the resort with terrific breakfast sandwiches that were hot and huge, my wife and I split one almost every morning for $6, 5) activity lady was terrific, as were all the staff to us.
Misses:1) cleaning lady did a good job but didn't get to our room until late afternoon most days, 2) buffet was huge but costs $16 so $32 every morning doesn't work for me.

Room Tip: ger second floor in the middle, great views and convient
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

my 1st time in St.Maarten and Divi resorts as well. I really like the stay. Rooms were newly renovated. beautiful ocean view. beach is very quiet and clean. proximity of room to beach is unbelievable. staff is very friendly and accommodating.

minor con is that we did not have remove for TV and requested.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ancho R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey Brook, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We went to Divi little bay 2 years ago it was a great experience, staff were very friendly the rooms were updated and large enough for the two of us the accommodations were top of the line which included an infinity pool . The one down side is the second hot tub it was disgusting and crowded . . A great but expensive feature was the on site liquor/supermarket which is good to get a few items that you may run out of. The marque restaurant on site has great food but pricey. Driving on St Martin was horrendous not enough direction signs, narrow streets and circles designed to confuse you even more. However once you learn to navigate the island it is a great experience I strongly recommend spending a lot of time on the French side, slightly more expensive but gives you a great taste of the French culture. The Dutch side is older more congested. The Resort is on the Dutch side but the roads to the French side are easily accessible from the Resort .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandloverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,572 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#2 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
3.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#1 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Property: Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing