We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, but resort is a bit far from anything else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, but resort is a bit far from anything else”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The best part of the place is the beach, it is very nice. The resort is quite large (covers the whole peninsula) and has a couple of bars and a restaurant and a few shops. The closest supermarket is $20 taxi ride (driver waits for you while shopping) away and our room didn't have a fridge so you pretty much need to rely on the rather expensive services provided in the resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antti_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    755
    318
    139
    110
See reviews for
574
1,115
48
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My trip was June 1st of 2012 to June 8th 2012. Sorry about the late review!

I was worried about going to St. Maarten, not knowing anyone who had ever visited before but the entire trip completely surpassed my expectations.

We arrived around 3pm, right on time for check-in, paid the $300 security deposit, and we were on a golf cart right away to our room. We had a studio room on the second floor with a kitchen, king-sized bed, balcony with a view of the entire bay, and a jacuzzi that lit up different colors (so cool!) This was a trip booked through RCI points by the way..First thing we did was grabbed a pina colada and got familiar with the beach and supermarket that is on the resort. That night outside of GIZMO'S there was a small steel band and we caught word of the welcoming party early the following morning. We went to the welcome party where we were served mimosas and learned about all of the restaurants and activities to do while in St. Maarten. They held numerous raffles and my girlfriend and I ended up winning a buy one get one free cruise to the island of Prickly Pear!! Afterward, we following up with the activities director to pay off the one cruise admission and to purchase more excursions with her. (We researched all the of excursions before our vacation and let her know exactly what we wanted to do.) As I can recall, we relaxed on our second day and on the third day is when we went ATV riding. We also had a catamaran ride with BlueBeard Charters to Prickly Pear, a sunset/dinner cruise and also zip-lining on the French side. I must say the ATV ride was the best excursion because we learned so much about the island, got to ride in the streets along with the other crazy drivers, which was truly thrill-seeking, and we ended on a nude beach which really was a sight! We also stopped by the airport to see how low the airplanes came in. LOVED THE TOUR GUIDES AS WELL!

My favorite bartender at the resort was Juan because we just had the best conversations and made sure to pay him a visit every time he worked. I'd recommend lunch at Seabreeze and dinner at Toucan's Cafe, and late night snacks at Gizmo's on the beach. We left the room service a bottle upon leaving the resort because they did an exceptional job keeping our room spotless!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The room was beautiful and very clean. Wonderful view of the beach. The beach is the best thing about the resort. It's private and never a problem getting a good spot in the sun. The food at the restaurants on premises are extremely expensive and not very good. Definitely worth either driving or taking a taxi to Phillipsburg. Only breakfast option besides take out from the deli is a full breakfast buffet. Expensive and not worth the money. Would prefer ala carte options. Good news is that you can walk down the beach to the Gingerbread cafe and have a great and less expensive breakfast right on the beach. The on site deli is very expensive and not well stocked. Was very disappointed in the service at Divi. When we arrived there was no hot water in our room. We called several times and were not able to get resolved for two full days. The frustrating thing is that I was told that nobody else in our area or people who stayed in the unit previously had complained, so perhaps there wasn't really a problem. I was told to just run the water longer. Well it turns out there was a problem which was fixed late Sunday night after arriving on Saturday. Also had booked a tour and requested a wake up call which never happened. Although fresh towels are supplied daily, the room is cleaned once during the week. That was not a problem, but what was frustrating is that the staff never replaced the soap or toilet paper. We had to call several times before finally getting both of these items refilled. This happened more than once during our stay. When I stay in a hotel I'm used to good service, the service here in the timeshare is just not that good. The upside is that it's a beautiful beach and not that far to go to Phillipsburg.

Room Tip: Would definitely advise travelers to not stay in the hotel. We've heard horror stories from sev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We in this hotel after 1 week of cruise !! It took 1 hour to register with reception and additional 15 minutes to get a valet for our luggages !!! Unbelievable !!! In addition the beach umbrella service was NON existent a bunch of lazy natives and the hotel condition needs updating Would never stay again and you should stay here !!!!

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodie630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor. We are sorry our resort didn’t meet your expectations. As you can probably imagine getting a 1 star out of 5 is extremely hard for us. Hopefully, your St. Maarten vacation was still memorable for you. We hope that you will visit St. Maarten and give our resort another chance to wow you in the future.

Sincerely,

Celine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Where do I start? No hot water or toilet flushing until 8 am I was told when I called the front dest. Sounds like a normal event. Cracked tile in bathroom. Linens were filthy. Floor was filthy. We need to leave for the airport by taxi by 6:30 am .

Room Tip: Don't stay here. It is an old and run down timeshare property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

After previously staying on the French side at Hotel L'Esplanade for 2 nights we came to Divi Little Bay. Upon first arriving everything looks great until you see your room for what it really is. We had one of the basic hotel rooms because the price was pretty good. When we got there the metal door screen was completely coming out of its frame (I fixed it) towel bar half broken off the wall in the bathroom, furniture was old, scratched and smelled, door handle busted in the bathroom etc. And the best part was the bed...take note it was room #1007. I seriously would have been more comfortable sleeping on a cardboard box. It was so bad, sort of like sleeping in a lumpy bowl. We tried to change rooms at about 1am because it hurt so bad and could just not sleep. Hotel staff said they could not do anything because they were booked up completely. They didn't offer us a better room that night or even offer to take any money off the bill because of how bad it was. Needless to say I switched beds in that room with my friend at 3am and we both woke at 7am tired and aching. She couldn't believe how bad the bed was and we just paid for a lousy 4 hours sleep. We again went to the front desk and demanded to be changed to another room. They said they would let us know in a little bit when one was available. Still by noon there was no call from them and we found ourselves going to the front desk for a third time about this. They apologized and finally gave us a room down the hall, same style room but with less broken crap. The beds were not great but a thousand times better than the one we just had. Maybe a suite would have been better, maybe they could have comped us little for the bad inconvenience. Instead we paid in full for a crap room and it even cost us $28 for 2 5 min. phone calls to the other side of the island. There was construction going on above our rooms during the day and Philipsburg was nothing to write home about. Here's a tip...stay on the French side and pay a little more, it's so much nicer and so are the people. Hotel L'Esplanade was amazing!

Room Tip: Maybe upgrade to a more expensive room, the basic ones are not much better than a Motel 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mustangsally1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We always try to start or end our stay on St. martin with a few days at Little Divi Resort. The location makes it easy to visit Philipsburg and other area attractions. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. Nice amenities including restaurant and pool. I would highly recommend the Little Divi to any one visiting the Island.

Room Tip: We usually stay on an upper floor with a good view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derdoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.3 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Property: Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing