We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chill, no frills spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chill, no frills spot”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at the Divi with friends recently in early December. The Divi is a low key spot that is a lot of timeshares but is a great place to relax. Some details:

Rooms:
We had an "upgraded" room which had stainless steel appliances (microwave, fridge) and stove. It was perfect for our needs. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub. The balcony was great, although it wasn't screened in. Although our room was "new" it seemed some damage had been done in it -- although we didn't mind this if I were an owner I probably wouldn't be so thrilled. Our room was up the hill a little bit, but honestly I don't think that hill other reviewers have mentioned is anything to worry about, however it wouldn't be ideal for an older individual or someone with special needs.

Beach:
Great stretch of beach, easy to grab spot, not overcrowded. There are two pieces of beach - one is much larger and the sand going in is perfect, no rocks. The small bit is a little rocky going in but there is some snorkeling over there.

Staff:
The staff was overall pretty friendly (I was a little surprised based on some of the reviews I had read here prior). The buzzer they gave us for our room at check in never went off, so that was a little agitating. The excursions lady was very kind and helpful as well.

Food:
I don't consider myself a food snob (even as a New Yorker) but the food here is TERRIBLE. It was extremely disappointing, everywhere. Everything was like bad diner food. Not only at all the Divi restaurants, but all over the Dutch side. The only saving grace was the the little store where you can get croissants and coffee at Divi. The ladies who run it are also very sweet.

Cab vs. Car:
Cabs can get expensive and are usually per person. Not much to walk to from Divi so you might want to consider getting one for some of the time. Roads a bit confusing - some had no street signs. Luckily our rental gave us GPS with main spots programmed in it - very helpful!

Hope these thoughts may help you a bit, happy travels!

Room Tip: Request an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrooklynGirlie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    738
    305
    138
    109
See reviews for
550
1,083
48
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic, Iowa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Fantastic location! Beautiful beach. Close to downtown - 10 min walk, 2 min drive. We had a junior suite. Limited ocean view but we were not in our room much anyway. It was nice to have a kitchenette with a full size refrigerator and a bathroom with shower and whirlpool tub. It was a 5 minute walk to the beach but well worth it. Nice bar at the beach and Niguel is a great bartender. A few shops at the resort so you don't have to leave for some things. Water sports also available including snorkel gear, hobie cat, jet skis, etc. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks so very much for your review! It feels great that you appreciate our resort and services! We are very happy that you have had such a great stay and are happy to hear that you would stay with us again. Niguel just started to work for us so we are thrilled that he gave you great service. You are absolutely right, we have all facilities on property so guests wouldn’t have to leave our resort.

Thanks again, reviews like yours motivate us so much!

Sincerely,

Celine Van Meer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
183 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

What can I say about a resort that the staff is sooo UN customer oriented. There were so many problems with the resort. One might expect that that a resort this size would have things well organized and thought through. Well not in this case, There was no welcoming brochure or book explaining the amenties of the resort and the surrounding area. The room had a dresser that was falling apart, door knobs missing, remotes that did not work , missing light bulbs, not a full compliment of dishes.
I will bet that those time share sales people never mentioned that this was a place that had very well mainained grounds but the units were not up to par.

Room Tip: Get a room facinbg the west, the wind from the east will drive you crazy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve55331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed in receiving 1 star out of 5 but we are very pleased to read that you feel that our grounds are very well maintained and that we have a pretty setting.

Unfortunately, you did not specify why you feel that our staff is not customer-orientated and why our resort has so many problems so that we may be able to fix these issues.

We do give welcome packages at check in with resort information, information about our onsite activities, a resort map etc. It’s also referring to our activities center where our guests can book and get information on all island activities and excursions. In addition, all our rooms have Guest Directories giving even more information about all.

We receive many good reviews about our units and I hope that you have reported your concerns about the unit you have stayed in at our front desk so that we are aware of the room issue.

I am sorry we didn’t exceed your expectations. I still hope that you have had a wonderful time on our beautiful island of St. Maarten.

Sincerely,

Celine Van Meer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I were on our honeymoon in St. Lucia when Hurricane Thomas hit in Nov 2010. Due to the damage to the hotel, we were forced to leave so we took a flight to St. Maarten to finish off the holiday. Divi Little Bay didn't wow us, but it was more than adequate for our needs. It's right on the beach and within walking distance (20-30 mins) of some decent restaurants. The pool is nice and the food and drinks from the bar were pretty good! The room we had was like a cheap roadside hotel in North America but we did see some of the private suites and they were impressive. Do yourself a favour and spend some time on the French side of the island. It's much prettier and the market is fantastic. Avoid the timeshare hounds even though they promise free car rentals, gifts, etc.

No regrets staying here. We met some fantastic people and enjoyed the last few days of our honeymoon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CT-Raider01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
181 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have been enjoying timeshare accommodations at the Divi for many years, but this is our last year. While the main restaurant has been remodelled the rest of the place is in serious need of help. If you go expecting two star accommodations you won't be disappointed because when you can't always get hot water, the faucet comes apart, the shower is lousy and there are mosquitos in your room, that's what you can expect in a two star property. It really is a shame because the location is great (lovely beach, rooms in close proximity to the water, great views). The Divi needs a little American love: someone to come in and whip this place into shape. Where to start? Here are a few suggestions for Divi owners: improve the quality of the rooms (mattresses are lousy, furniture is old and worn), hire more staff (at Christmas time having only one person in the activity hut or at the Bayview Cafe is ridiculous), improve the quality of food and service at the restaurants (staff are really friendly, but it takes an hour to get your food and the quality is poor), serve drinks and food on the beach, organize some activities for kids, teens and adults (beach volleyball, games). Front desk staff are improving, but they need to adopt the "friendly island" mentality that the activity hut, housekeepers and Bayview Cafe staff have. I can imagine that the front desk staff spend most of their day dealing with complaints from guests and this may account for the attitude, but smiling and being really friendly can't hurt. Saint Martin has fabulous restaurants. This year we enjoyed Tropicana, Bajatzu, Pizza Pasta, and Izi. Next year we will gladly pay for a 5 star resort on another island. Fingers crossed that the Divi can achieve its potential one day.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the remodelled rooms (much nicer)which are located behind the front desk and adjac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Take my word for it...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your continuous support and reviews you have given us over the last years. Very pleased you still decided to give us 2 other chances after your review posting in 2009 where you indicated that you wouldn’t come back to our resort.

Sorry to read that in your recent posting you stated that this year will be your last year with us.
We do have an extensive activities program for kids and adults (schedules are in check-in welcome packages), this must be the reason that you are referring to the activities hut. I am happy to read you feel that all our staff are really friendly.

We hope you will enjoy our island next year and that you will find a resort that completely matches your wishes.

Thanks again for staying at our resort numerous times.

Sincerely,

Celine Van Meer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have spent 6 nights here in 2012 (dec 23th untill 29 th) with our two kids.
Overall a nice hotel with value for price. This is a good place to stay at St. Martin.

We stayed at a ocean view room as well as in a studio. The studio has our preference as it was more spacious, a small kitchen and a fridge(!!)

As in most hotels there was some room for improvement;

-assortment/quality of restaurant. Bit boring menu, like all the BBQ places in the carib. Too much hamburgers, ribs, chicken wings etc. Too american. Also, restaurants were understaffed (Xmas eve, a shame!), breakfast at the pool starts at 11.30(??) and a part of the staff is " not really" pro active.
-effeciency of reception desk. Waiting a few times for more than half an hour, ( because) staff was unable too answer simple questions ("can we stay another 6 nights?", " do you have a map?") A few were good as but for a reception desk this is unacceptable!

Of course, there were many pro's:
-Location. Perfect location, quiet, nice and clean beach
-Family rooms. No problem to stay with 4 people in a room. Clean, well maintained.
-Water sport facilities. Diving, snorkling, jetski's and much more.
NB: We were very positively surprised about the professional and client friendly approach of our dive instructor Damian. Go here for the dive school, the best asset of Divi bay!!

Summary: nice hotel, good rooms, perfectly located. Could be easily a four star place if the restaurants/ reception desk will get professionalized.

Stefan

Room Tip: Ask for a studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

After staying a mega resorts with 2000+ roooms, Divi Little Bay was a nice change. We stayed in a studio room in building G. Great view and just a few minutes from the beach. The condition of our room was a little run down. It's hard to keep things up in the tropics, and this place is typical. But we saw other rooms in the process of being remodeled...ours will probably be remodeled soon.

The local mini-store was handy for beer, snacks, etc. The beachside bar has great food and excellent live music. Swimming on the Little Bay side was wonderful. Rooms that face the Great Bay have a rock beach...no swimming.

If you are looking for 5 Star opulence, this isn't it. But if you want a smaller resort with a great location, Divi is great. We will come back again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
5.4 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Property: Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, West Indies, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing