We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful hotel for relaxing vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel for relaxing vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

This hotel was fantastic! the room was amazing especially with the jacuzzi in it and the balcony that take you straight on the white sandy beach.
the bed was really comfortable and huge and its really quiet and relaxing.
I will go back there anytime!

Room Tip: if you can afford it, ask for the room with the jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandylachabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    711
    302
    136
    109
See reviews for
535
1,052
47
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayedfor10 days in St. Marteen, the first evening we could not get the room we wanted but they handled it very well and moved us immediately the next morning. The room was beautiful
With all the amenities we needed, washer/ dryer, kitchen, sofa room, and huge Master with two sinks. Jeremiah @ the bar and Betty and our computer operator, we're all FANTASTIC! As well as at the breakfast bar, Mike was terrific and our young women that took care of us during everything was Lisa the front desk manager! We had phone service wifi,and TV. Totally different then 30 years ago, when we started going to this side of the island! Best vacation EVER! Till the next one @ DIVI!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a one week stay at DLB. This was our third trip to the island. On the first two trips we stayed at wonderful properties, but they lacked the amenities that DLB has. We appreciated the fact that there was and on site mini mart and two bars and a buffet restaurant. We enjoyed what DLB had to offer and also ventured out for dining, shopping, gambling, and just to enjoy the whole St. Martin experience. We personally don't have any complaints and can only offer compliments to all the staff for being so friendly and helpful. We stayed on the the third floor of building 9 with a veiw of Great Bay. We have visited every beach on the island during our stays and the DLB beach ranks very high on the list. The water is calm and there is no seaweed. Other beachs are beautiful (they all are) but can be rough, breezy, and contain a lot of seaweed. I highly recomend DLB and will be returning. Special thanks to Chase and Sandra!

Room Tip: Stay in a time share building, but you have to chose from a veiw of Great Bay or Little Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Divi Little Bay Resort in St. Maarten has potential to be a top notch resort. The resort is located on an isolated peninsula, a mere 15 minute walk from downtown Phillipsburg. The updated rooms are very nice, the property is terrific with some of the best views on the island, with one of the best beaches on the island, and some great snorkeling right there off its beach. The service and some of the amenities could be a lot better, though.

We had a nice-sized, 1BR unit designed for 4, with 2 full baths, a galley kitchen, and a fairly private balcony with a stunning view of Great Bay.

There were so many service issues during the first three days of our stay:

1) The groceries we had pre-ordered over a week before our arrival on their website are supposed to be in the room upon arrival. That didn't happen. It took a few hours after we called the front desk about it that we got them, only to be short the one bottle of white wine we had ordered, specifically a Sauvignon Blanc. Three days later, we still didn't have the wine despite repeated reminders. When we finally went down to grocery (which also sells alcoholic beverages), we noticed a bottle of bottle of wine with our name and room number affixed to a slip of paper on it. The bottle was a Chardonnay. I guess any old white wine was supposed to do.

2) For a unit designed for 4 people, with 2 full baths, there was only 1 washcloth and hand towel in the entire unit. We were also missing the following, all supposed to be in the unit: A corkscrew (which we discovered when we did wish to open a bottle of wine, and a cutting board. It took a few hours to get a corkscrew to us, and 2 days to get us a cutting board. The morning after we had mentioned the cutting board, one of the housekeepers was waiting for us with an ironing board, asking us "Is this what you asked for?" The kitchen also only had 1 red wine glass in it.

This stuff had us scratching our heads? Isn't there anyone making sure the unit is set up properly? And then, there is this notion of "island time". Okay, sometimes, you make do with what you have (I used the counter to cut my fish and vegetables when I didn't have a cutting board.), but sometimes you need things 'now', like a corkscrew. Couldn't someone have brought it within, say, 15 or 30 minutes, anyway? After 3 calls and 2 1/2 hours, it was delivered (at 9:30pm).

The acting Manager, Celine van Meer, was a doll and very understanding. She had previously worked behind the scenes as head of Human Resources. She was rather astonished regarding the "island time" approach as well. She was more used to a Euro-style service, she said. I'll say that she was quite a good listener and really tried to respond to our concerns.

Ms. van Meer acknowledged that they were working on the menu and that they had a relatively new head chef. As it is, the food we had in all three restaurants was largely so-so, with a few very good dishes and a hamburger that was pretty bad. Someone wrote that the Gingerbread Cafe at the nearby Belair Hotel, a short walk down the beach, served a great breakfast. They do. Go there instead.

There were a few staff who did go out of their way to try to help, so we really, really appreciated their efforts, but some things, ultimately, seemed to be out of their hands.

The Thrifty rental car on the premises is convenient for a 1-day rental, but the condition of the cars is iffy (We were staying here April of 2012 and the model car we rented was from 2009). The car we rented turned out to have non-working headlights. We also tried to reserve a car for a few days later. The rental agent told us that they only rent the day of rental or the day before. No reservations? In any event, its just as well to taxi everywhere if you need to. Taxis are pretty reasonably priced, and a lot cheaper, when you get through with fees, than renting a car for 1 day. If you want to rent for a week, you're probably better off renting at the airport where there is enough competition to give you a MUCH better rate.

There are a fair number of amenities on the resort, so you could choose to just hang out. There is a spa which offers face and body services. There is a workout room, a small gift shop, an office through which you can book tours, and an aquatic activity center where you can rent snorkel equipment and other beach and water activities.

In any event, I'll still say that the resort, given the relative quality of the updated rooms, the wonderful location and grounds, the beach and the snorkeling right here, that this resort is going to be one of the best ones on the island. The staff is largely very friendly, even if they take their time getting things done. The grounds are extremely well kept. There are some breathtaking views, particularly from the infinity pool, the Seabreeze pool/restaurant/bar, and Fort Amsterdam, which is at the tip of the peninsula upon which the resort sits.

I did talk to some owners and they were very happy owning here. Perhaps the lack of the room being supplied properly and some of the service issues were an anomaly, but I'm only reporting our experience. I still think this place is worth trading into. If they can get their service issues ironed out, and get their restaurants up several notches in quality, this will truly be a top notch resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Great Bay side are older, but much more private as well as quiet than those on the Litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnalogJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I have found that the best reviews are not necessarily those where I agreed with the author, but where the author has provided enough detail for me to determine whether or not I would have liked something. My husband and I never want to stay in the conditions they had at Little Divi again, but others may not find their rooms and service unacceptable. Here is my full report:

The trip was great, but the resort was pretty bad. We enjoyed ourselves in spite of the resort.
We checked in, went to our room and saw: a tile floor with rust stains and cracks, marks and gouges on the walls and chairs with vinyl upholstery that was cracked and chipping. There were also holes and brackets on the wall where presumably some form of art was supposed to go. It appeared clean, though with all the damage it’s hard to be completely certain.
The public areas were beautifully kept, and their beach location was prime.
The several restaurants they were supposed to have were actually two bars, a buffet only dining room and a convenience store. The bars had very abbreviated menus, and at the one we went to twice, the bartender who usually handled people sitting at the bar was adept at avoiding eye contact, which made it difficult to order.
After eventually getting the bartender to give us menus on our first night, we headed back to our room we were accosted by the timeshare salesperson. She commented on how we must be tired and she’d let us get on to our room BUT… and just kept talking. We finally had to just turn our backs on her and walk away. She didn’t seem to get it when we said “no”. How they get anyone to buy their timeshares is beyond me. I lived in the least expensive dorms on my college campus and they were all much nicer than our hotel room. In future we used the stairs at the other end of the landing during her working hours. Her kiosk was right down the flight near us.
That first night, and all the rest, I rolled into a bed made up with rough sheets. In the middle of the night I awoke to the sound of rain and a flooded floor.
The breakfast buffet was great and reasonably priced, but for dinner they opened very late and the food was not good enough to justify its cost. The night we tried the buffet we encountered another reluctant staff member. The man preparing the pasta sauces asked us if we really wanted two different things, since then he’d have to use two pans, so we ended up with the same dish. I watched him roll his eyes at the couple who came up while we were waiting, presumably because they just wanted plain sauce, or maybe because their orders weren’t similar enough to pressure them into the same order.
We tried the café, which turned out to be a convenience store with a small sandwich menu… and they’d make you a sandwich IF there were two people on staff, which I saw happen only once on our 6-night trip.
The maid service… well, the first day they left our hotel room door open when they left. Another day they insisted we couldn’t have 10 minutes to get out of their way because they were already running late. On the day we were to check out, TWICE, before our check-out time, they knocked on our door to ask us if we were checking out that day.
The closet only had one of its sliding doors still present and it was stuck out of its track such that it couldn’t even be moved from side to side.
The air conditioning worked, though it clacked and moaned enough to wake a person in the night.
The TV stand doors couldn’t be closed, but they did have HBO.
One time that we went out in a rental car the guard at the gate did not recognize the resort’s vehicle and insisted we produce a room key before letting us back in.
There was no DO NOT DISTURB sign.
The drain on the tub was stuck halfway, so you couldn’t draw a bath, and a shower left you standing in ankle-deep water. After going to the beach for the first time, it was sandy water and since it wouldn’t drain, we always had sand in our shower foot-bath afterwards.

Room Tip: Just don't go here for a good room, though I have to admit we only slept in the one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elisabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for contacting your tour operator regarding your recent stay at our resort. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback and we take your comments very seriously.

Please allow me to introduce myself, my name is Celine van Meer and I am the Acting General Manager of Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, I would like to apologize for taking a bit longer than normal to reply to your letter.

We wanted to make certain all items listed there were investigated and properly addressed. It goes without saying that we also have taken the necessary steps to prevent these issues from happening in the future. We have been going through all our logs and noticed that you did not report your inconveniences during your stay. If we would have known we could have offered you a different room or assist you in a different way.

We have informed our Chief Engineer and our Executive Housekeeper about your concerns and the room you have stayed in will be taken care off during our preventative maintenance program as soon as possible.

We are happy to read that you appreciated our grounds and location.

The reason that the security guard requested you to identify with a room key is because of security reasons. We want to make sure that our resort is safe and strictly for our resort guests to use.

We have 3 restaurants; Gizmo’s, Seabreeze and Toucans. Gizmo’s and Toucans are both open for dinner. When a guest doesn’t want to eat the buffet in Toucans they can decide to have dinner at Gizmo’s. The menu at Gizmo’s has; pizza, salads, burgers, fresh fish etc. Our Deli is also open in the evening so when guests just want to grab a salad or sandwich this is possible too. We feel that we offer enough possibilities to dine, have lunch or have breakfast (as you mentioned was great and reasonably priced) at our resort. You have mentioned that Toucans opens very late for dinner, but we open Toucans at 6 pm, seven days per week. We are sorry that the bartender made it difficult for you to order, we have addressed this to our bartenders.

Thanks to your feedback we are able to constantly improve our resort and services. We are very sorry we were not able to exceed your expectations. Divi Little Bay Beach Resort would like to offer you a refund of $150 in total, we will refund the $150 to your credit card we have on file. Please accept this offer and we hope that we may welcome you again soon.

We hope to have answered all your questions and concerns. Again, thank you for your feedback and look forward to your upcoming stay with us at the Divi Little Bay Beach Resort.

Sincerely, Celine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Resort is very nice and clean. Close to Philipsburg. You can walk to Philipsburg but I would recommend renting a car so you can see the whole island and not have to rely on the bus or taxi. We rented at the airport but the resort has a Dollar rental on sight if you would rather. Room was overlooking little bay. There is a fantastic overlook at the top of the property that you can see the whole of Philipsburg. We traveled the whole island twice and what a driving experience. The people on motorcycles have a death wish driving down the middle of the road passing people with oncoming traffic but being originally from Boston it wasn't that big of a deal.

Room Tip: The buildings further up the hill have the better view as well as access to a wonderful infinity poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badcr125honda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We requested a renovated room before arriving and it was nice and clean. Bedroom was small but updated, and bathroom was huge- as big as the bedroom. Beach is great for snorkeling and relaxing. There are 3 pools and water sports on premises so the kids didn't get bored. Food is decent but limited. I would recommend to a friend for a great family vacation and would go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlockIslandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.3 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Property: Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, West Indies, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing