We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Been here six years in a row and plan to be here next year too”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The beach is as near to perfect as you could ever expect. Children can swim safely at the left side where waves are minimal. You can rent a Hobie catamaran for 40 dollars an hour and have a great time in the bay. The weather is great in February-March when we come here (25 to 29 C). Our time share rooms are very nice and very modern. We are right on the beach. A friend of ours came here for a day visit from a cruise ship and was not impressed but I think he wanted a five star city centre hotel with a bar and casino. This place has a couple of bars on the beach but it is not the Marriott. It is three star but that is fine by us. The location cannot be beaten (except maybe by parts of Hawaii but I have not been there). The Toucan restaurant is having growing pains, I would say ( too expensive and buffet food outdated). It needs Gordon Ramsey's help. We enjoy cooking our own food in the room. We are now 61 and 59 years old. There are many things to do on the island. We rent a car. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: There are two grades of room. Ask for one that has been upgraded recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,674 - 1,680 of 2,283 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

Day 1
Didn't get the room we asked for, Water out of all taps brown, and kept getting browner when running... Forget a shower in the morning, phone broke and no fridge unless u pay $10. a day.
Day 2
After condeming our room and shut down, they moved us to a time share, way up a hill at least 1/8 mile away, you can't drive to it, 3 flights up, no elevator. My decrepid knees were not happy! Room was nice, no air, 3 workers tried to fix, they hadn't a clue what they were doing!
Screen door was off and completly ripped, so forget the breeze during sleeping!
Great air tub, if it worked!!! oh yeah, a leak running down the wall onto the ceramic bath floor, (watch u down slip) later found out that was due to the air conditioner not working.
Day 3
On site car rental wanted top dollar for a beat up car. when my husband said he didn't want it, he continued to process his credit card.
Day 4
Ate at the on site restaurant, a buffet, rating a 5/10, ate out on the patio and seen a huge rat in the corner, manager said yes, they have a few traps out to catch them!
Day 5
Swam in the infinity pool by our room, it's small, and cold. They have portable cedar hot tubs at this hotel that are not even LUKE WARM! Room cleaning dosen't include sweeping especially under the bed where alot of dust bunnies live! Still trying to get tub fixed, and after alot of begging finally get our screen door back!
Day 6
After a long day away, resting on our bed, 2 maids knock and want to clean the room around 4. They insist it must be now. We let them in. I grab my earrings out off the bathroom (thinking they would start cleaning there) i put them on the desk, grabbed my cola off the bed table to bring to patio while they cleaned, went back to the desk to put on my earrings, and the maids put the pile of linen on top of the desk, over top all my make-up and earrings, and yes, u guessed it ,,,, earrings are gone!!! I looked like crazy thinking they fell, i moved furniture and all! No other explanation, i asked the two maids where they were, one pointed to her name tag, " i'm a supervisor, i don't do that" they both helped look, i asked to see the garbage they took, and the sheets, they only showed me the clean sheets! They left, (my mistake for not checking the dirty sheets they took out in a bag with our room no. On it) we immediately called to make a report to the manager and security guard, demanding they come to our room! Manager said she would call us in 1 hour,,,, SHE NEVER CALLED OR SOKE TO US, even when we left,
And the report never got filed, they were just waiting for us to leave and protect their reputation!
Day 7
We file a report athe local police dept, detective said, the island if full of theft, don't wear aNy necklaces or jewellery, they will grab it right off your neck!
Rental cars will be stripped of tires, some areas, all 4!
taxi drive back to airport was entertaining with an islander complaining about visitors, especially jews, and the chinese that come here to HATCH!

Highlights we enjoyed!
Trip to st. barts for the day, and the beach to watch the planes go over our heads

Unfortunately, we have too many bad vibes to ever visit this island again!
They call themselves the friendly island,,, What a JOKE!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the hotel middle rooms, they are over 30 years old and in need of many repairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Booked a week here via an RCI exchange. Had a 1BR, 2BA full kitchen unit with a view of Little Bay.

The resort stretches from the Little Bay beach out across the small strip of land that separates Little Bay from Great Bay. At the end of this small strip of land is the remains of Fort Amsterdam.

I rate both our unit and the resort overall as a solid 3/3.5-star property. This unit had a full kitchen, with modern appliances including a full size fridge, dishwasher, oven and 4 burner cooktop, and microwave. We could have used a few more dishes/glasses, a non-stick pan, and a nice chef's knife or two, but we had enough to manage our way through several nice dinners. My biggest surprise here was there were no paper towels and we had to call down for kitchen wash cloths/dish towels.

The living room/dining room area was big enough for 2 to be comfortable. The table would seat 6 comfortably, but the LR furniture would have made it tough for 4 adults to sit and relax for any length of time. The chairs/sofas in the unit (both LR and BR) were comfortable if a bit minimalist. I doubt 2 adults would have been comfortable on the sofa bed, but two smaller kids would have been fine. Having two full bathrooms was nice. The TV in the LR worked fine, though it was a pretty limited channel selection.

The bedroom was large, with a king bed, full sofa, chair, TV and a small throw under the coffee table. The bed was reasonably comfortable though the pillows left a bit to be desired. The master bath was very spacious with both a small jacuzzi tub and separate shower.

Both the LR and BR had balconies with a table, 4 chairs and a chaise. The view from ours was semi-obstructed (by another buiding of units) one of Little Bay and beach. Being near the farther end of the resort meant a decent uphill climb to get to our building, then several flights of stairs to our level. There are no elevators so be prepared to get a bit of exercise. There were two units further from the main beach/resort area that would have been a longer walk amd more climbing. There were also units, the villas I think, located along Great Bay with views of Philipsburg and the cruise port. From our building, this was visible from the steps and the exterior hall conneting the rooms.

There are several pools on the property. An infiniti pool and terrace overlooking Little Bay which was closest to our room, and a couple of pools near the SeaBreeze cafe (lunch service plus a bar in the evening). Both were a bit chilly still (being just February) but made for a nice quick plunge after sitting in the sun. The beach is not very wide for most of its length, but stretches a good way around the resort and very nice overall. Having driven around Philipsburg, Simpson Bay, Maho and Cupecoy, I'd say this is one of the nicer beaches among most of the major resorts we saw on the Dutch side.

The food at SeaBreeze was nothing special, but a walk over to Gizmo's at the other end of the resort netted a different result - better selection and better quality food. Service throughout the resort area was very good - friendly, responsive, and generally as good as most of the time shares we've stayed in. The check-in process was smooth, though we had to see the "Timeshare tour scheduler" to finish. We declined the tour, which probably prolonged our check-in a bit as they tried several times/ways to get us "confirmed", but it was relatively low-key pressure compared to others I've experienced.

Location wise, the resort seems a bit out of the way at first, but once you get your bearings you'll find it is very convenient to the bulk of the Dutch side activity, close to Philipsburg and all the restaurants and shops serving the cruise port while still being far enough away so your not inunudated. Simpson Bay and the airport are a few minutes further. Traffic is generally the bigger impact on travel, vs distance. There is definitely a "rush" hour in the morning and afternoon, so factor that into your schedule if your setting up activities that require you to be there at a specific time. Little Bay area is a bit less convenient for the French side, particularly Grande Case, but again, it's more traffic based than anything given the island itself isn't very big.

Overall, our stay was very nice and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a great view and don't mind walking/hills, try to get a room closer to the point. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sladerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Friends stayed here so we decided to try it. It could have been a great experience, but the night after we arrived, the ceiling in our bathroom right above the toilet and next to the light fixture began to leak. Water was also down the hall wall next to the light switch. Tried to call the desk,line was full of static and number for the front desk on the phone was not correct number. Three different service people were sent to address the problem and the leak stopped for a time. Began to leak again,dripping on our heads and shoulders while using toilet. Room was smelling like a sewer. Now the phone did not work at all. Had to keep running out to the desk. They hadn't fixed the leak by our last night. We were there from Sunday thru Saturday. Our last night. manager told us to pack and move to another room. She was uninterested in our convenience or in making any concessions for us. Sandra should be removed as manager. We finally went to another room and called the General manager who SOUNDED sympathetic----his concession for our inconvenience was to reduce our bill by $100. Terrible maintenance and customer service. I will commend Eugene at the activities desk and Paul in the cafe, however, for their pleasant and good service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank shoppingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The resort is on a great spot.....Little Bay is a great beach near the Dutch capital. You can see the cruise ships come in so you know when avoid the crowds. The company used to use the phrase "barefoot elegance" to describe the pretty but unpretentnious environment. There's a new chef who has improved the in-house dining tremendously. The restaurant is under renovation due to open any day. In the interim, outdoor dining is available for 3 meals a day...sometimes live music at night. They should consider keeping this option since it is so nice by the water. Staff is friendly, front desk can be spotty. On premises store is way over-priced so go to the supermarket if you can. 1 Bedroom unit was comfortable but the bed was not....they need to invest in some mattresses and quality pillows. Maid service is average.

Room Tip: Ask about specific room amenities....sometimes they don't differentiate between studio and one b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nava1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just came back from a week stay at the Divi. We had a one bedroom deluxe room with 2 bathrooms. The resort was beautiful great view from our room. We found the room really clean. The only issue we had was that our room was not ready until 4:30 pm when we checked in. The restaurant's were good and it was convenient since close to Philipsberg. Bartenders could have been a little more friendly in the bar by the hotel but near the timeshare they were very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamBA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

friends of ours who have points through RCI gave us a week at the Divi for christmas ….we took our week with them in may 2011 and i cant really say anything bad about the Divi…our room was clean, i enjoyed the food at the beach bar and the toucan….pool was nice and beach was very pretty and water so warm…though i am not a big snorkler my hub and friends are ….my hub snorkeled every day…i enjoyed the pool there very much…the 2nd floor bacony offered a great view of the water…the mosquitoes are outrageous though starting at sunset and they cant wait to get in your room from the balcony and your room door but thats nature…as far as other critters in the room…none….but outside twice when we dining in restaurants outdoors i saw what i think were palmetto bugs…long as my thumb with a roach like look….again thats nature…..we took a catamaran day trip to anguilla's prickly pear beach(takes around 2 hrs) and that beach and water was beyond amazing…..great snorkeling there ….try to get there if you can!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zj97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
2.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
821 reviews
3.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: $162 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St Maarten
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing