We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Some problems...but great location”
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belair Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2007

We traded our RCI Gold Crown week for our week in St. Maarten and my first reaction was...gosh this is much smaller than I expected. The air conditioning was antiquated and you needed a card to work it...we did not have ac until Wed. It was very hot...but it was clean and a great view of the caribbean. We were within 20 feet of the beach. My feelings changed as the week went on. We began to enjoy ourselves and loved not having to rent an umbrella or lounge chair...they were all free. The beach was cozy and we got to know many people there. Now the pool needs a facelift. It was very small and with 10 people in it, it was crowded...We never even swam in it. The food at the Gingerbread Cafe was fantastic. Our daughter and son-in-law stayed at the Westin. It was better than the Westin so we began to feel fortunate. Also at the Westin which was gorgeous was on the ocean and very rough with a big undertow. So if you are looking for cozy and a very at home feel, the Belair Beach Hotel is just fine. It definitely needs updating, but serves it's purpose. The staff was just ok as they took their time with everything. Don't waste your money on the Butterfly Farm, ($12 each) or $10 if you buy it in advance at the Belair Activities Center. We took the Dinner sunset cruise and enjoyed it immensely. Definitely rent a car and bargain with the guy in the hotel...He will also let you take the car to the airport when you leave and someone will be there to drive it back to the hotel. We had a great time, but will probably go somewhere else in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jandmhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 465 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2007

We stayed at the Belair Beach Hotel in June 2007.
We exchanged a timeshare week. RCI designates this as a gold crown resort but based on our previous exchanges with RCI, they should change the designation.

We had a two bedroom unit. It had a great view and was clean. the bathrooms looked like they had been renovated. Both bedrooms look out onto the public walk so if you open the curtains, people can look directly into your bedroom. If you keep the curtains closed for privacy you are in a dark cave.

The grounds of the resort seemed not well maintained. The pool is not just small, it was less attractive than most pools I have ever seen.

Overall I would say that this resort was ok but not great. The beach was very nice.
If you are exchanging a timeshare week there are much nicer places to stay. The Divi resort next door was much better looking.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wolfpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2007

We spent 2 weeks at the Bel Air Beach Hotel in Jan 07 as a timeshare with another couple. As reported in some of the reports written here we were a bit sceptical on what to expect. Check-in was easy and fast. We up in our room in no time. Yes the hotel is older but the rooms were clean and the view was spectacular. There were two bedrooms each with their own bathroom. The second bedroom is smaller but comfortable. How much time do you spend their anyways. The kitchenette was fully stocked if you wanted to do any cooking for yourself; but with so many places to eat on the island we didn't do any cooking ourselves. The GingerBread Cafe at the hotel is excellent. Rufus and the staff always made us feel as if they had known us for years. I would highly recomend this restaraunt even if your not staying at the hotel.
We took an island tour with Happy Harold on our second day. Well worth the price as he took us around the island for drinks and supper at The Talk Of The Town in Marigot. From here we rented a car and drove ourselves around. This place is easy to get around in. Just take your time and you'll get where you want to.
Make sure to check out the many restaraunts on the island. My personal favorite spot to hang out was Sunset beach Bar by the airport. We also went on a sunset dinner cruise on the Tango, which is also something everyone should do.
The only thing that irked us was that we felt the activity director at the hotel was to pushy. She kept trying to push us on a boat trip that was owned by her husband. We were also advised not to do the zip-lines. We went their ourselves, had no problem getting in and had a wonderful time.(Highly recomend it).
All in all we would stay at this hotel again. I would like to go back right now as our temp in Manitoba is -41deegres today , but we will have to wait till next year.
Frozen in Canada
sherman.g@hotmail.com

Stayed: January 2007
15  Thank Sherman.g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

Just returned from a week's trip (Jan. 20-27) to St. Maarten, staying at the Belair Beach Hotel. Although I will admit to being a bit nervous about our selection after reading some of the reviews here, we had a wonderful time!!

Yes, the hotel is a bit outdated, but our room was clean and comfortable, which is really all that matters. We were on the fourth floor and had a breathtaking view all day, with fabulous sunsets each evening. The second bedroom is very small, as others have said, with a double bed and no room for much else, but it was just two of us so we used it to store our empty luggage and other things. Kitchen was fully equipped, including a microwave and a blender. The beach was clean and sandy, no loud music blaring (which our neighbors at the Divi had to endure), and the few times the jetskis were rented they were in and out quickly. Our room was cleaned every day (something we did not expect); one day as we returned from the beach, a cleaning woman noted to us that the air conditioner was not working properly and she had reported it for repair, which was completed promptly. We had a late departure home, and the front desk allowed us to store our luggage with them so we could enjoy our day.

We had several lunches and dinners at the Gingerbread Cafe, including a take-out dinner one evening, and each meal was excellent. Wait staff was very attentive and polite. Lorna, at the activities desk, gave us coupons for other resturants around the island and signed us up for great excursions (the snorkle trip on the fast-cat Swaliga II is a must!!).

The only item that keeps my review from being five stars is the staff on the beach. They did a great job taking care of the grounds, chairs and such, but they were quite surly when it came to handing out (or not) beach towels, and assigning chairs and umbrellas. We asked for chairs closer to our room, but despite several requests were assigned chairs at the other end of the beach, along with a very mangled umbrella that the staff refused to replace, although there were plenty around.

All in all, we had a great time at the Belair and, should we return to St. Maarten, would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jigzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2007

We just returned from a week stay at the Belair over Christmas. Most of the previous reviews are accurate. It is a 2 star hotel with a 5 star view. All rooms overlook the beach about 10 feet from the balcony overhang. The beach is beautiful, and the ocean great for swimming. It is true that they have their own way of assigning chairs, but you can always have shade or sun, and you always get your chair regardless of when you get to the beach. The rooms are compact and could use some updating but are fine. The restaurant has very decent food and is reasonable. Quality and service was better than the Divi next door. It doesn’t have the services of a major resort, and is a smallish hotel. The addition of a small exercise and weight room would be fantastic, but if they can't perhaps an agreement with the Divi next door to use their underused one. I do agree that the cat food should not be out in the open, and the pool could use a major redo. It’s a great value for what it has to offer, especially if you are a family that would otherwise require two hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank agl120854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2006

Hi,the Belair Resort is a well maintained older t/s property & I was impressed from check-in to check-out.I've been to SXM and stayed in various T/S resorts & it is right up there with the rest.I arrived on the island on Friday 11/24 and stayed @ the Royal turtle for the night---$125 & a full breakfast-----can't beat that. Sat. am went to Belair and inquired about an early check-in and was told to return around 1pm.I did that and Bulah the attendant at check-in processed me and I was on my way to my fourth floor -2 bedroom unit.The unit was in the center of the resort with the most "FANTASTIC VIEW" of Little Bay----absolutely perfect!! The view of the daily migration of cruise ships in and out of Great Bay was something to see-----especially in the AM while having breakfast on the "full width" terrace.I love the idea of assigning beach chairs for the entire stay-----on the beach right below our unit.....no morning scramble to find and place towels on chairs.The beach is very nice-----never crowded----gentle slope into the ocean----and very sandy---loved it.Bamboo firniture is "std" caribbean & I don't have a problen with it as others do.The unit was clean --neat- colorful ---a full kitchen---master b/room with a king----small 2nd bedroom with it's bath room.The associates were warm and friendly and we loved the place and we will certainly consider staying their in the future.

DiveDive2@aol.com

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank divedive2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

My family and I are avid travelers, we've been to many places in the U.S. and abroad. Other than the direct beach front million dollar view we were truely dissappointed. The Belair Beach Hotel needs a face lift as well as new management.
If out-dated run down accomodations are your thing then this is place for you. You can usually find the staff clumped together by the rear elevator. The only time they move is when its time to go home or when they are tending to the many cats that are living on the property. Once you get down to the beach make sure you are ready to get your assigned beach chair for the duration of your stay. The towel clerk says they have been doing it this way for ten years. I can't see this system lasting that long. Shade is adequate in most areas, but when it isn't, too bad. The restaurant is akin to a roadside cafe with no windows or a/c, however, the food was fresh and tasty. The bartender and most of the wait staff were friendly. The A/C worked great. All kitchen utencils needed to be washed before using. Maid service is once a week unless you want to pay 29.00 a day extra.
A visit to the French side is a must. The people were friendlier and the food excellent. For a wonderful dining experience eat at Le Pressoir Restaurant in Grand Case, A four star restaurant.
I will be back to St. Maarten, it is a beautiful island.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rg12608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
2.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
821 reviews
3.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Address: Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: $269 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Philipsburg
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing