We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older resort but very good overall”
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belair Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The resort is older but that is because they built on the best place on the island. Right between Simpson Bay and Philipsburg. It is just 10 minutes from the dive shop we used (Ocean Explorers) which was very convenient. It has it's own beach and they assign you your own chairs and umbrella for the week. Every room has a perfect view of the ocean and beach (we were on the 4th floor). The restaurant is good and drink prices are reasonable. The decor isn't fancy but it was fine for us. Staff is friendly, helpful, and competent. Some mechanical problems but the facility is generally well maintained for its age. The air conditioning and the internet works well. If we come back to St. Maarten we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor for direct access to the beach. Upper floor for better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed our little share of "Paradise" and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 466 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

This location of this resort is wonderful. The view is breathtaking. Situated right in the middle of all activities. Right to shopping area and downtown Philipsburg and docks, and left to Simpson Bay with all the restaurants, and bars...
Staff was very nice...grounds were kept vety clean. Only complaint....the elevator in lobby area does not work more than it works. If your room is located on 4 th floor. This gets to be an issue on a daily basis. I read about this elevator in past reviews. Should figure out problem and fix it once and for all..

Room Tip: All rooms the same....i recommend 1rst floor if you want to walk out to beach. 4th floor if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibnanc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Living in "Paradise" does have it drawbacks. On this tiny island, you cannot always get what you need. Otis Elevator has been here numerous times. They even sent an engineer. They cannot find what is wrong with the elevator. Each time they come, they order different parts and try to see if this will work. Unfortunately they still do not understand why it keeps stopping. It is not that we don't try. We are waiting now for new parts. Fortunately we have another elevator in the center of building.
Hopefully they will find the cause of the problem before your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Belair Beach Hotel. Gorgeous beach, crystal warm clear water and a great place to eat at the hotel on the beach (Gingerbread restaurant). The resort is clean, comfortable and the staff could not have been nicer!The view each day was extraordinary. Next to the Divi resort so you have access to beach sports, snorkeling for both. Do not miss the monday night Barbecue with the Steel Band and dancing at the Belair Gingerbread restaurant - hard to beat!I have travelled all over the region and this has to be the best view, beach so far.

Theresa

Room Tip: All have ocean views! Views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theresa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We await your next visit!! Our staff really caring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nice hotel, good location, friendly staff. We rented a car and went all over the island, exploring every corner, and be back to the hotel in the evenings, to relax in a familiar environment. This isn't a 5 star resort; however, it was nice and comfortable, but they need a renovation.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Boeing O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Our staff sells us! We are an older hotel and we constantly renovate and update. We are not a fancy hotel with crystal and chandeliers. We are a comfortable resort. We have now ordered new couches for an entire floor of the building and every year do some upgrading. We have upgraded our stove tops on 2 floors and wil continue until all 4 floors are complete. In this way we keep our maintenance fees down and do not have surcharges, etc.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

First timer in st maarten. Friends traded a week for this lovely property right on the water. Every room is a suite and have oceanfront. Views of little bay are spectacular. The staff was very accommodating and Lorna made some wonderful suggestions for snorkeling, dining and sightseeing. The gingerbread cafe has a great happy hour every nite and the food is delicious as well. We enjoyed the karaoke and live steel band. Gotta love it. Close to Phillips burg and Simpson's bay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Glad you had a great time. Hope to see you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked through our RCI Membership and so it seems that we got the one of the Old And Tired Unit When we checked in, the Elevators and Air conditioning were not working and our room is on the 2nd floor so the bellboy brought up our luggage.

THE OCEANFRONT Views are Amazing but that is where it ends. The Furnishings are Old White wash Wicker. The kitchen did not have a Dishwasher, the refrigerator was rusty in the bottom, there was a small microwave and 2 burner cooktop with No Oven. I do not consider that a Full Kitchen.

The INTERNET is NOT Free. I have a business that requires me to have Internet access so we paid the $35 for our week but Only One Device can use it at a time so that left my Husband without access and Offline.

There is a flat screen in the living room but the TV in the bedroom is not and is small and OLD.

They do not provide a starter Shampoo, conditioner or lotion. No roll of paper towels or more spices than salt and pepper. Which we did not realize these items were not included until we Returned from the Store.

They must have nice rooms here somewhere or No one will buy into it. But as an RCI guest we got one of the Old and Tired unit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank g_kona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We are sorry that you did not like our resort. The apartments are all the same. We are not a 5 star resort with the crystal, etc. and the building is 30 years old. You may not like the rattan furniture but it is not old. We decorate old caribbean style, not modern. We have to pay for the internet so we have to pass on the cost. It would not be fair to charge it to our owners. We upgrade and renovate something every year. We have changed all the TVs in the living room for flat screen TVs and are replacing the TV's in the bedroom with flat screens as they break. We will not throw out a good tv and raise our maintenance fees because of it. We have been having problems with one of our elevators but we do have another one. The bellman is there for your convenience. If you want the beach, you can't get closer than our resort and if you want a staff that cares and know about service, then again, it's our resort. If you want modern or 5 star, then we are not for you. We try very hard but we are not for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at the Belair Beach Hotel on Little Bay in St. Maarten on two occasions. While the service and the accommodations are good, the locations is tremendous. The hotel is getting on in age and I didn't notice any significant property improvements between visits. The price is reasonable for the rooms and the staff is always looking out for your needs. This hotel is within walking distance to Front Street in downtown Phillipsburg, a mecca in the Caribbean for shopping and dining. If you're on a budget, this is a great hotel to try if this is your first visit to St. Maarten.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor or above for security reasons. The first floor walkouts to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TLCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

There is no getting around the fact that we are 30 years old and not a modern, 5 star resort. We are a laid back and homey place with a staff that cares. We renovate something every year but we will never be modern. We decorate in old Caribbean style. As you said, we are what we are and are proud of it! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
2.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#2 of 12 in Philipsburg
821 reviews
1.2 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Address: Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: $269 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Philipsburg
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing