We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flippant and watch for the scam”
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belair Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Flippant and watch for the scam”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

First I must say the beach itself is marvelous. Please read carefully and take into consideration before travelling so that you can be prepared. We travelled in Summer of 2011.
Once our flight landed we were told ours, along with about 10 others luggage had not arrived on our plane. This meant that we were headed into Caribbean weather in our Oregon clothes. We were pretty disappointed but kept the positive attitude, we were in the Caribbean after all.
On arrival to the hotel, in the morning, the front desk attendant rarely looked at us. She talked so low we struggled to understand her. We let her know that our luggage did not make it and the airport would be calling. She seemed very disinterested. I checked back a couple times before we turned in for the night and she asked me not to call her again about it.
By the next afternoon and no call I requested that she connect me to the airport because we could not make direct calls from the room. She refused and stated our luggage wouldn't be coming in on a Sunday and that the airport was closed. We were immediately alarmed because we saw planes coming and going, as well at her refusal connect us.
We decided to drive back to airport. We asked for security and sure enough our luggage was sitting there. Along with all the other people. Sitting in a back room I might add. What we found out is that there is a scam on the island where they keep a certain number of bags from different resorts and then after a couple of days will offer to return for a fee. We did report this to the airlines once home but guess that this type of thing still goes on. So pack light and keep everything in a carry on.
Secondly the hotel restaurant, The Gingerbread cafe was also very flippant with us. When we asked for water the waitress told us we could get water out of the bathroom if we were thirsty. I would not suggest eating there as the food was marginal as well.
We are low maintenance when we travel and can get along with just about anybody so it was quite disheartening.
Rooms were large, dated and mostly clean. Housekeeping is available 2-3x in a 7day week which is not quite enough being on a beach. There is security on site 24/7.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean so they all have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I am quite surprised by your remarks. You say that this happened in 2011? Why didn't you say something at the time? I have lived here for over 30 years and have never heard of any scam as you state. Luggage does get lost every where in the world. Unfortunately it happens here as well. I don't know who at the Front Desk would have told you the things you say. I would really like to know their name if you know it. Our staff is known for being helpful. We try very hard but sometimes there are circumstances that happen. We do hope that you will come back to St. Maarten again. If you didn't like our resort, please try another one. Everyone likes something different. I always say "St. Maarten has something for everyone". You just have to find it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    188
    60
    27
    15
See reviews for
161
145
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

All rooms face a beautiful beach. Hotel marks lounges and umbrellas for you for the duration of your stay. Staff is very friendly and helpful to all needs. Units are older but were clean, roomy and adequate for two couples or families with kids. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are glad that you had a good time. Our staff certainly tries to accommodate everyone. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you want total relaxation and a beautiful tropical island experience look no further than Belair Beach Hotel in Little Bay. The beach faces south so the weather is almost always exceptional and the cruise ships come in the mornings and leave in the evenings before your eyes in the distant horizon. The staff is friendly and helpful .We plan to return again very soon.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff tries very hard to please everyone. They really care and this makes a difference. We are a laid back, easy going resort with relaxation and beach as the key words.

Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Besides being probably one of the best beaches on the island, the hotel is actually quite charming. The fact that housekeeping washed our dishes everyday really helped my folks out.

Also, you are 'assigned' a chair for the duration of your stay is golden. You don't have to get up any earlier than others to get a good ocean view seat and your chair is brushed and ready when you get there

Their monday dinner is to die for!! They have a chicken and rib all you can eat buffet for $20. Chicken is very tasty but the ribs are PHENOMENAL

If you have a car you will easily have access to Philipsburg and the highway to Marigot. Sure the hotel look is a little retro but i even think they can now start playing on that.

I was a little disappointed in their 'wifi' because you always had to login even though there is supposed to be a setting that should remember your device. Also the bandwidth gets a little sketchy at times.

Finally, every room is an ocean view... so regardless of you being on the ground floor or the 4th floor you will always wake up to a close view of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it... get a room on the ground floor. The experience is exponentially better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alain_Lauzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is right on the beach and we loved that. They "assign" a chair to you for the week and we loved that. The hotel is in a good location on the Dutch side and close to the town. a little farther from the Airport area but we had a car so it was not a problem. We were on the second floor and the balcony had a nice view of the bay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LAtravelguy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
283 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just got back from St. Martin, we stayed at the hotel for 4 weeks, the apartments have 2 bedroom, 2 baths, kitchen, living room, dining room and a patio overlooking the beach and ocean. The staff are the best anywhere, great to deal with and could not do enough for us. The beach boys always had the chairs and towels ready every morning for us, did not have to ask. We had maid service every day and they did a great job, even put the dishes away for us if they where left out on the counter. The kitchen came with all the supplies you would need. The staff at the hotel where just great could not do enough for you. We will definitly return.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same can choose what floor you would like, we like the first floor easy to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lstapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in November. I was a little disappointed when the cab pulled up in front because the property is an older property. The lobby seemed dark and dingy, but the clerk was bright and chipper. The staff was always extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was on the second floor and faced the beach as I think all of the rooms do. It was a very spacious and clean room. The bed was very comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms were very nice. While the property is an older property the interior was very well maintained. The kitchen had a full size friz, small stove, counter top oven and microwave. There is no dishwasher. There is an in room safe. There was always plenty of hot water and clean towels. The airconditioning worked very good. The view from our balcony was great and we were only a minute or two away from the beach and our designated beach chair for the week. The pool is small but why swim in a pool when you are ocean side. The beachfront restaurant had good basic food. It was not airconditioned. I would recomend a car if staying at this resort. If you don't have a car you need to cab everywhere you go.
We had a great time on this trip, but would choose a hotel closer to town the next time if we weren't going to rent a car again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jdenston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.2 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
791 reviews
3.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Property: Belair Beach Hotel
Address: Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Philipsburg
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing