We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Philipsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Princess Port de Plaisance Resort and Casino
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Reviewed January 31, 2010

My employer tried to check me into this dump - everything the others has said is true. Its a mess. The owners hyave literally reinvested NOTHING into the property and its work out and poorly maintained - a total nightmare. I could not even bear to occpy the room and had to leave the moldy any infested mess with torn furniture and get out.. Super nice location but the condition sucks - the service is horrible and the "beach" is a joke.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dynoflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 82 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2009

I just returned home from a stay at Port de Plaisance...like another traveler, my home resort wasn't finished with building yet. I was with my sister and a friend, and we typically just need a space to nap, shower, and change clothes, so it was perfect for that. The 1-bedroom condo was clean, and spacious enough for us all to have our own personal space - whether it was the living area, the bedroom or the balcony. The only big complaint was the fact that there is no daily cleaning service - we did get fresh towels, and the garbage was emptied, but I was used to having my bed made at other places I stayed, and housekeeping did not do that - weird. Oh, and we only received face towels twice in a week - also weird.

I have been going to SXM for about 13 years now, and I remember when the resort was built - and the grounds were new. It was gorgeous - it is still great space, but needs to be completely renovated - down to the signage - I got twisted more than once trying to get to the parking lots. The absolute BEST thing about our stay here has to be the solitude and the views...breathtaking - especially the marina at night (and during the day) when the boats are lit up - GORGEOUS! Oh, security is excellent as well - and we didn't have to walk miles to the parking lot - there is 24-hour driver service to/from the parking lots or where ever you want to go. Service is also a plus at Port de Plaisance - even though our requests were minimal, they were taken care of quickly and with a smile...as a matter of fact, I saw the day front desk guy out one night, and said hello, and he stopped and gave me the double kiss...how is THAT for service!?!?!?

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soulcheft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed here in Feb. 2009. we were both pleased and dissapointed with the condition of the resort. There were three restaurants associated with the main resort,including The Peg Leg Pub"the best steaks on the island". There were three restaurants in the Casino, and a buffet. The casino is definitely the cleanest and best run on the island. The owners have put money i nto the casino and are using this as a way to put money back into the resort. The have started repainting the outsides of the buildings and are doing repairs all around the resort. The work out center and the tennis courts are all nice. The main pool was very nice with a waterfall but no whirlpool tubs working. All around the resort there is rebuilding work going on but it isn't like it is a construction zone. You really can see the way this place could look. The value in the place is it's marina location,great for big boat watching. ROOMS: the one bedroom suite had more than enough room, BUT the furnishings were older, a little run down, but it is really only a 2 1/2 star resort roomwise. Fridge, stove, microwave,oven and dishwasher.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayballflypaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Our Time share wasn't built yet so we were put up in the Princess Port De Plaisance. First there were tiny little bugs all over the counters, when we called the desk they were really helpful they sent up a can of bug spray. Then everyday we had to call and beg for towels as we were 4 adults and only given 2 towels in each bathroom no matter how we begged it was like aking for gold. As far as a pick up to take us to the front desk, parking lot or casino (which were about 5 blocks away) if we waited we'd still be there. But the icing on the cake was the leak from the bathroom in the suite above us causing it to rain buckets and falling sheetrock into our master bathroom. So, after 6 full days of" fun" we had to pack up everything and lug it to another room for our last 2 nights, Oh and that room was even further away then the first one. So if you're looking to go to St Maarten don't stay here, you'd be better off camping at the airport !!!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ryansgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

This hotel was a nightmare from the start. We arrived at the hotel and was greeted by numerous cats lurking in and around the front lobby. When we finally got our room (rather quickly) we were escorted to the very back of the property. It seemed deserted. We passed the pool, there were no chairs out, no pool attendants and just looked basically deserted. Once we started up the bridge (which was guarded by a "guard"), we saw what appeared to be people living in the units. There were sheets hanging from the balcony and the grounds were not very pretty back near the room area. We got to our room, which was okay (after climbing about 5 flights of steps because the elevator was not working in our building). We got to the room, only to find a "maid" dressed in capri jeans and a t-shirt making the bed. She looked like she also lived on the property as well. We stayed in the room all but 2 hours and left to go stay at the Sonesta Maho Beach and had a wonderful time. True we had to pay the entire cost from our pocket and forfiet most of the money paid for Princess, but it ended up being worth it!!

Oh, and let me say this, yes the Casino was nice, but boo hoo on the tired looking locals hanging around on the inside looking broke and bored.

This was overall not a nice stay!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
2  Thank wrldtrvlr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

This resort is a disgrace. It is in need of complete renovation.
The Spa manager tried to scam us stating that the brochure she handed to us had incorrect price (Even though the brochure was on the countertops of the spa). The sink faucets leaked. The room needs painting. Walls chipped and stained everywhere. The tub was clogged. After 4 calls to report it, they finally fixed it. The hot tubs and fountains were drained and put out of repair. They were not refurbishing them - just took them out of service. There is no maid service whatsoever. You are lucky to get clean towels each day. The toilet seat was filthy. The bedding was from the 70's. There is no box spring - just a six inch mattress. The screens are broken. I got over 100 mosquito bites with bugs coming into the room. Management does NOT care - and does not want to hear any complaints. AVOID THIS RESORT!! I would never go back here!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

We stayed there for 5 nights as guests of friends who booked a 2BR, 2 BA suite.

The location was good, but to go anyplace on SM, it is a long drive, especialy in the busy times. The roads are awful, mostly potholes and speed bumps.

The hotel itself looked good on the outside, with a guard at the bridge which yoou have to go on to get to your room. The view from the porch was excellent, with the marina and lagoon. But the planes on take-off went right overhead, several times an hour in the afternoon. Otherwise, it was quiet.

On close inspection of the outside, it was obviously neglected. The fountain at the lobby was dry, as was the spa pool on the top of the hotel. The rooms had many problems, including leaking faucet, loose toilet seat, drawers that were stuck, towel rack falling down, TV that didn't work, worn couch, etc. But it was clean, and cleaned every day. So it appeared that it needed a lot of work. There was some ouside cosmetic work being done.

There was a nearby supermarket, and we had breakfast and lunch in, most of the days.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
4.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
3.1 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#2 of 12 in Philipsburg
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Philipsburg
466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Port de Plaisance Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Port de Plaisance Resort and Casino

Address: Union Rd 155 | Cole Bay, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range: $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Princess Port de Plaisance Resort and Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Princess Port De Plaisance Hotel Philipsburg
Princess Port De Plaisance Resort And Casino St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing