We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casino no more...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Philipsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Princess Port de Plaisance Resort and Casino
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Reviewed March 18, 2012

If the casino will find you enjoyable, the rest is awfull... The hotel hasn't been renovated for many years and you'll notice it... We have been in a suite with two bedrooms, the equipment was broken, dirty and unmaintained. You think being in 80's hotel. Only the casino and the outside building at the entrance are suitable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arnaud V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were just put up there last night by Air Canada -as the airport ran out of gas for our plane. Crazy, eh? We personally called 8 hotels we know on our mobile and everyhting was sold out. Obviously if Cote had rooms for so many of us, you knew it was going to be bad. As an omen of things to come inside, the "E" on their gold sign out front is dangling askew. It's obvious this was a swanky place when it was built---in the early 80's?? (guessing). We guessed correctly there are unit owners as well. It's in very sad disrepair, looks like the money has been squeezed out of the unsuspecting tourists/owners, and nothing put back into the resort.There were shiny, multi-million dollar yachts parked right outside our window, but inside the window, the hotel was in shamless disrepair.

Our room was unfit for humans to stay in, disgusting: black and cracked white tiles, mold all over the batheroom walls, ceiling, fan + lights, curtains falling off, the patio doors' locks were broken so no secutiry. I lay awake all night from mold allergies filling my head. Another in the Air Canada party said when a quick cloudburst came through, water poured through their kitchen ceiling, and the shower taps came right off the wall. The main lobby and casino are also very sad at the "resort of broken dreams". All we could think was, "We thought the Dutch were supposed to be clean?". We always stay o nthe French side, and it was immaculate in comparison.

On the bright side, the new manager Karen was extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. Many stranded parties from the Air Canada debacle checked in at once, and she efficiently took care of us all with food vouchers and her team whisked us to our rooms on golf carts. We were all calm and kind, but had spent 5 hours at the airport watching the sign saying our flight was departed, then up to 3 hours waiting for a handwritten voucher and hotel assignment from the contract staff. The new Bella Vita restaurant manager from Europe was fantastic and the food excellent - you must pop in there to have one of their pizzas from the Italian brick oven, delicious! In the morning, Karen rousted us all out on time for our flight check in with taxis standing.by. But the Air Canada crew forgot to set their alarm and wake up, or were hungover, so we waited over an additional hour more for them to show up. Nice.They were first to abandon ship and get rooms at 6:00pm -we got our assignment at 8pm), and last to show up at 12:15pm, whne all were checked in and ready by 10:30am.. But I digress.

Cote has a long way to go to have any kind of rating on Trip Advisor, but we understand reno's have begun, and it could be spectacular if Karen keeps it all on track. Just do NOT stay there now.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere! Not the Simpson Pelican Bay, we heard it was just as bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StMartin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I have been a long time owner and have to say when we first ourchased it was wonderful. Since then the service has gone straight down hill. The peolple employed and communication with the owners is horible. It sad because the resort itself is very nice and location is great. The people ruin the experiance

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I think most people have had the same experience, a one star resort. The only saving grace used to be the Peg Leg Pub and the breakfast place. Unfortunately the Peg Leg Pub owner from last year is not here anymore and he was the only person that ever cared about us during our stay. He actually got the golf cart himself to take us to our room during a rain storm when the staff would not do it. See earlier post.

Room Tip: They must be redone or don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roberts R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

I have been here with my parents and my brother. We had a great time! We have seen a model of what the new rooms will look like. The resort started with the remodeling this year, and I think it's going to be beautiful and definitely worth it. The staff was very friendly (especially the front desk and housekeeping)!

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank mandy_063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We were with four friends. the rooms are larger than other hotels on the Island were i've been. The staff were friendly and the service was perfect.
We had a great time and had a nice week.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jos_de_weerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

FIRST OF ALL YOU HAVE TO BE A MEMBER AND HAVE POINTS IN ORDER TO BUY THE BUFFET!!!! and when we asked about the FREE Casino membership...IT IS ADVERTISED ALL OVER THE CUSTOMER SERVICE DESK...we were told that because the printer was down that we could NOT BECOME MEMBERS TILL THE PRINTER was repaired the next day!!! AND NO... they would NOT write out a Temporary card for us so that we could gamble or eat!!! how crazy is that!! so WE IMMEDIATELY LEFT BACK to our hotel on the same Cadillac we arrived in...to eat a nearby Pizza place...
we DID GET t a free shuttle from the Hotel Beach plaza in nice Cadillac...so NO Fault to our Hotel...ps.the casino was ALMOST EMPTY...NO BIG SURPRISE THERE!!)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank exroyalmarine22654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
821 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Philipsburg
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Port de Plaisance Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Port de Plaisance Resort and Casino

Address: Union Rd 155 | Cole Bay, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range: $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Princess Port de Plaisance Resort and Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Princess Port De Plaisance Hotel Philipsburg
Princess Port De Plaisance Resort And Casino St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing