We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like to shop?”
Review of Frontstreet

Frontstreet
Ranked #7 of 56 things to do in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This crowded street is a popular tourist center for duty-free shopping.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like to shop?”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

For shopping this is the place, you can " shop til you drop ". A very quaint place to stroll and take in all the shops and find something you like. The best time to be there is when the cruise ships are not in port then you have the place to yourself and not elbow to elbow with thousands of people. I was looking for a watch and at the Touch of Gems I was able to get what I wanted at a reasonable price.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    579
    276
    47
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Not much to shout about, but still with a certain charm”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a typical shopping street in a port with lots of cruise visitors, full of jewellery and duty free shops, there is however a pretty church and court house building, and it's worth a short stroll down Old Street which is a turning off of Front Street. For all of its' commercialism it still has a certain charm !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Jewelry Street and Beach in One”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is, by far, the largest shopping district for jewelry on the island. Every other store is a jewelry store. I'm not sure how one can keep track of them all! There are two top names that are on all of the islands though, Little Switzerland and Diamond International. There are also a few decent shops for tablecloths and linens, but I found the prices at the market in Marigold to be better. The beach is nice, but you know it's crowded by how many cruise ships are docked in the harbor. There may be as few as 3 or as many as 7 at a time. There are some very nice restaurants on the beach; however, if there are a lot of cruise ships docked, then there is little chance you will have a chance to dine in one of these fine places.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank maggie1953mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Shoppers Paradise!! A Must Visit”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

There is sooooo much going !!! From casinos to cultural stops like the Courthouse and Guavaberry Emporium and many duty free shops. There are a lot of jewelry and electronic stores too.
If you like shopping - go there!! :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nattysimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Shopping shopping and more shopping”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Jewel Of The Seas docked in St Martin on 1/13/14 and we walked from the dock over to the boardwalk and then onto our favorite shopping area , Front Street. We usually start at one end and walk down to the other mostly window shopping and checking out the deals. We always have to make a stop at the Belgian Chocolate Shop for some goodies. We've found over the years that we like both Joe's Jewelry and Effy Jewelers and for camera gear Boolchand's is the place to go. It's always a fun time and the duty free shopping is good and my wallet always seems to come back to the ship a little lighter.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank swingdrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontstreet also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 

Been to Frontstreet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing