We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jewelry shopping galore”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Frontstreet

Frontstreet
Ranked #8 of 54 things to do in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This crowded street is a popular tourist center for duty-free shopping.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Jewelry shopping galore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Tax and duty free, need I say more? There were all kinds of things to shop for from locally made treasures to tshirts. Easy no hassle or haggle shopping.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Journalingrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    549
    264
    44
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice to stroll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

While my husband and I were in St. Maarten we enjoyed walking up and down Front Street, the narrow streets threw us off but the drivers are courtesy and stop for the pedestrians so they could cross the street. Anything you wanted you can find on Front Street. The couple of casinos on the strip were small (not like I am used to - no glitz/glammer) but if you want to gamble then try the Diamond Casino as they have slots as well as tables for those (like us) that enjoy roulette and black jack. The only thing I didn't care for was the merchants standing outside their store being pushy to come into their store.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luve2Travel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Parking nightmare!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good luck trying to find a place to park!! Be prepared to walk your feet off !! Redundant shopping. One gift shop is the same as the others. That goes for the jewelry stores too. Unless your consumer savy or just want a few souvenirs then I wouldn't bother. I can get brand name items at outlet stores in the U.S. for almost same price. You won't find GOOD jewelry for less than $500. If you go, be a smart shopper. Frontstreet is mostly for the cruise crowd.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lots of Shops!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Frontstreet is a narrow street through Philipsburg where all the fancy shops are. Walking down the street was fun because there was some, but not much pressure from vendors to see their wares. The prices on cuban cigars and all liqour is amazingly low, great linen stores as well. The architecture is very different and good for pictures.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tycosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
504 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Shopping Mecca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

You can find a shop for just about anything here, especially jewelry. Very crowded when the cruise ships are docked, but probably better than being scarcely populated. Prices compare with US, but of course no tax/duty which can be a decent savings on a big purchase.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CARIBBEAN757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontstreet also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Maho, Sint Maarten
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 

Been to Frontstreet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing