We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting shopping experience”
Review of Frontstreet

Frontstreet
Ranked #7 of 56 things to do in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This crowded street is a popular tourist center for duty-free shopping.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Interesting shopping experience”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

you can find all kinds of things on frontstreet... although jewelry stores dominate the scene. Almost all prices are negotiable... which is interesting. The shop owners will make it sound like you are asking for the world if you go for any type of discount but most of the shops (especially the jewelry ones) are working with quite a hefty margin. There is no shortage of competition so shop around before you buy... and getting competing shop owners to fight for your business is never a bad strategy if you are looking to save a little money.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gdawh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    572
    274
    47
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very nice tourist street. Clean and well kept tourist oriented shopping street. Too many "come see my shop" folks around.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LarsMorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Front Street”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have been visiting St. Maarten & Anguilla either by cruise ship or traveling on our own for the last 15 years. We just returned from a cruise on the Oasis of the Seas. We always shop for high end jewelry on Front Street when we visit. Please go to Ballerina Jewelers and see Deepak Kapoor. He has always given us exceptional service and prices. We just received our appraisals on email and are very gratified. He is very professional and can be trusted to do what he says. You might also try Splash which is about a block down and ask for Gary Laungani (owner).Tell them Shila & Stephen sent you. If you have time take the ferry over to Anguilla and spend a few days or more enjoying their 33 beautiful beaches and restaurants for a very laid back experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Parasailing No. 1 SXM”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Don't parasail with this company! They promised to pick my son up at the dock at 3:00, didn't show. Rescheduled and promised he would only be out 20 min. Picked up 2 more families after that and was out 1 hour 15 min. We called when they were so late and asked to drop him on the dock by our cruise ship, they instead dropped him off on the island. We were frantic! He got to the cruise ship 5 min. after departure time and kept over 5,000 people waiting!
Loved everything else about Frontstreet.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Minneotatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“LOVED THE SIGHTS AND SHOPPING”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

we found the shopping great. Very interesting area .Lots of jewelry shops for the ladies Good quality and duty free.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontstreet also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 

Been to Frontstreet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing