We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Small Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dawn Beach

Dawn Beach
Dutch side of the Island, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$42*
and up
St-Martin and St Maarten Island Sights, Shopping...
Ranked #13 of 50 things to do in Philipsburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular tourist beach on the island's east coast.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Small Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Small beach only two options for food and chairs. View of the Atlantic Ocean and St Barts. Easy to park and get to. Not many cruise ship visitors.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely NOT a snorkelling beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This beach was promoted online and in travel guides as a great snorkelling spot. We rented gear and when we got there the waves looked too big to allow for snorkeling (you'd be fighting the waves just to stay in one spot), and the water looked a little too cloudy. We tried it anyway and there wasn't anything to see and the visibility wasn't crystal clear. All we could see was some brownish seaweed on top of some rocks or dead coral. I saw two sea urchins and two small brown fish. Otherwise, the waves were fun to float in without snorkel gear, the beach was small and less crowded than other beaches (which is a plus in my book), and there was a beautiful view of large mansions on the hillsides behind the beach. Beach chairs were well priced, $5/chair plus an extra $1 for an umbrella.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice Beach.....lots of white sand.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I would say that this is among the best beaches to sit in the sun and enjoy the view! The Sand is white and clean. The Ocean on this side is a little rough. Go to the Westin and drive to the back past the entrance, There is plenty of parking in a lot close to the ocean. Use the swimming pool that has a swim up bar and enjoy your day. Food is reasonable.....no one there to charge you for the chairs. Bring a small cooler and enjoy the day or a few hours without a lot of hassles.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Windy Side”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Beach is beautiful but often windy. A nice place to take in the sunrise, and sip coffee and eat a croissant from the little mini mart on the docks. Parking is limited but you can usually find a space early in morning.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlps
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Snorkel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This beach was promoted as a snorkel spot. It was way too rough the week we were there to even consider it. I am a good swimmer and experienced snorkeller and could not go in the water.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank turtle1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawn Beach also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
St. Maarten-St. Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Dawn Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing