We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Snorkel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dawn Beach

Dawn Beach
Book In Advance
$42.00*
and up
St-Martin and St Maarten Island Sights, Shopping and Maho Beach Tour
Ranked #11 of 55 things to do in Philipsburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular tourist beach on the island's east coast.
Mlps
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Snorkel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This beach was promoted as a snorkel spot. It was way too rough the week we were there to even consider it. I am a good swimmer and experienced snorkeller and could not go in the water.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank turtle1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    144
    86
    38
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“dawn beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

smaller beach accees through beach bar, parking a issue, open to more waves and rough water makes swimming less than ideal for children, several larger resorts on beach, but was not crowded.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank justfishing1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Nice beach, BUT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Dawn Beach is a beautiful beach. It is a great place to spend the afternoon or even the day. But, I have reservations about it. There are so many great beaches on St. Martin, that Dawn Beach doesn't make the top seven (enough for one a day for a week). The reason is that the only way to Dawn Beach is through the Westin Hotel. As you know by now, all beaches on St. Martin are open to the public. If you want to use Dawn Beach, you have to drive to the Westin and park in their parking lot, which is free. However, you can't get near the Westin without being stopped by people with pamphlets. They are selling time shares. They try to get you to sign up to hear the sales pitch for the time shares. These people start by pulling cars over to the side of the road on Oyster Pond road, even before you take the cutoff to the Westin, that is, to the Dutch side of Oyster Pond. When you enter the Westin site, another group of these time share sellers descend on your car. When you get to the parking lot, you may see as many as two dozen of them standing around.
I don't begrudge anyone trying to make a living. But to say that this is intrusive is putting it mildly. You can get through this crowd by just saying "No thank you" a number of times and by just keeping the car moving.
Because of this, I would recommend other beaches over Dawn Beach (Orient, Mullet, Bay Rouge, Gallion, Anse Marcel, and the list goes on.)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Pretty beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We struggled on what beach to go to and Im so glad we did this instead of Orient. We were ported here for a cruise. It was spendy to get there by taxi but it truly was beautiful and you can walk to the end with no people especiallly if you dont want a chair. Big waves for the kids to boogie board and rental equipment right there. I felt that the people selling stuff werent as pushy here. Waves were definately too big for small kids.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AIRBICHEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

On the Atlantic, but a wonderful beach. Whether at the Westin Resort or over at Oyster Pond and Mr. Busby's restaurant, this beach was beautiful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Herb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawn Beach also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 

Been to Dawn Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing