We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guavaberry Piña Colada” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company

Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company
Ranked #21 of 64 Shopping in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in a historic 18th-century building, this company sells a rum-based drink that is very popular among the locals.
Calgary
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Guavaberry Piña Colada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Bought a guavaberry piña colada right before we entered the security point for the cruise ship.

There was a small hut with a few bar stools and some other souvenir items inside.

Cost was $7 but it was wonderfully refreshing after a hot walk around the shops near the port.

I loved it - not too sweet. Excellent. I will go there again if I'm at port in st Maarten.

Helpful?
1 Thank somanytrips2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    46
    14
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Great rum and great hot sauce!

Try the Mash Up rum - probably the best rum on the planet. And the garlic habanero hot sauce - to die for.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Snavelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I just got back from a cruise that stopped in St. Maarten. We stopped at Guavaberry Emporium and got free samples of rum, liqueur, and colada made with the liqueur. It was fabulous! We came home with bottles of both rum and liqueur. We also got steak sauce, several hot sauces, honey and bbq sauce with guavaberry. It is very good. We tasted almost everything in the store!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 5ofusde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Get the Guavaberry Colada!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Not much to write about. It's a rum store. They have an assortment of flavored liqueurs and then the actual rum. I believe the flavors are mango, guavaberry, strawberry, orange...and something else. You can taste them all....except the tastes are served warm so none of them tasted that great.

I bought two bottles of mango, two of guavaberry, one rum, and a Rum + Guavaberry Liqueur mashup. I highly suggest the last one. But I would also suggest the guavaberry liqueur. It has a recipe for the Guavaberry Colada on the side and it's delicious!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Something different to bring home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Guavaberry is unlike anything else! We stopped for a sample and it was good. At the beach, we ordered chicken and it was so good, we asked what they use for a marinade and turns out it was this lovely guavaberry rum! Of course, we got 2 bottles to bring home - one rum and one liquor. It is SO good. Bring it back and it would make a nice gift!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing