We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Yummy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company

Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company
Ranked #21 of 64 Shopping in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in a historic 18th-century building, this company sells a rum-based drink that is very popular among the locals.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had read about how the guavaberry liquer was special from St. Maarten. So, I knew I had to get some when docked via cruiseship. And it is awesome. Just wish I could have brought more back to the USA as they cannot ship to USA at this time. I also got their bbq sauce and it is wonderful. I bought a bunch of stuff in a hurry and they threw in a couple free t-shirts.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nishia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    46
    15
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is one fine liquor company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The free tasting samples really prompted me to buy some really good stuff. The hand painted liquor bottle are a beautiful keepsake. They pack them well so that one can carry them easily without the fear of breakage!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ankuremail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petionville, Haiti
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Grand Marnier St Martin's style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Guavaberry is a like the national liquor of Sint Maartin. Its taste (at least the bottle I bought) is very similar to the Grand Marnier. They will let you taste the different varieties they produce before you make your choice.
The main store is a tourist attraction by itself. All red and white with the typical original architectural style of the West Indies. It's next to the 'famous' international crossroad sign in Philipsburg.
They also usually have a kiosk close to the cruise ship dock in case the main store is closed

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank juliohlarosiliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Guavaberry Emporium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Guavaberry is the National Rum Liquerur of Sint Maarten/St Martin made right on Frontstreet in Historical Philipsburg. It is nice to see, there are such a huge variety of different flavors.
They offer free tasting samples, which is a good thing! This rum is delicious! They also sell a Frozen drink very refreshing!
Excellent! It is a Must See when in Philipsburg.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MarciaRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delicious Beverage and Hot Sauce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This island libation is very unique and definitely delicious. They also make a garlicky hot sauce that is out of this world.

It is almost impossible to find Guavaberry in the US so stock up.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EuropeinFebruary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing