We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

Great location, friendly staff. Rustic accomodations, but very confortable beds and great view of the beach. Specialty rooms on the 3rd floor are very nice. Restaurant serves a good breakfast at reasonable prices. We immediatley rebooked for our next trip after staying here the first time. Close to all downtown shopping and casinos. Visit the beach bars nearby; several to choose from.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no elevator to third floor
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chapmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    98
    27
    7
    12
See reviews for
30
108
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

We stayed for 6 nights in mid-March. We have only positive feelings about the inn, less so about Dutch Sint Maarten. Location is perfect for anyone who prefers the "old" Sint Maarten
versus the Las Vegas/Atlantic City developments outside of downtown that appear to have sucked the life (and customers) away from "old" Sint-Maarten. If you don't need or want the glitz, the Pasanggrahan has the advantage of a location that provides easy access to the shops and restaurants of Front Street and to the new boardwalk that is a few steps from the rear of the Pasanggrahan.During our stay we found this part of town unexpectedly quiet, but pleasant - e.g., for early morning walks and for evening strolls that often included good music (e.g., at Oualichi an awesome rock band touring from Amsterdam - , Taloula Mangos, - dj on the sand - and Holland House - sax and piano while enjoying an end of the evening Sambuca and coffee).. Pasanggrahan also had perfect dinner music on one of our evenings. Enjoyed breakfast and dinner also at the Pasangrahan - relaxed, charming "ambience", with very friendly, helpful staff. The little bar between the "restaurant" area and the beach is a pleasant place for glass of wine before dinner. Other restaurants highly recommended within easy walking distance - L'Escargot, Antoine's, and for a change of scenery at breakfast, the Holland House is very nice. We had Room 26...no issues...a perfect room for sunrises and sunsets...But because we ended up driving to French St. Martin every day, we left the Pasanggrahan (with profound apologies) after 6 nights when we were able to secure a room on that side of the island. We also took the boat to Saba for a day-trip - an amazing place - took The Edge (the name of the boat ) from Pelican Bay resort. The Pasanggrahan staff made the reservation for us. Yes, the Pasanggrahan is a rare find in today's fast-changing Caribbean - you can be there and easily imagine Sint Maarten 50 years ago
while enjoying easy access to the 21st century Sint-Maarten.

  • Liked — atmosphere, historic character, charm, friendly staff
  • Disliked — no serious complaints
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BayState44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

Stayed for 6 nights. Room is charming. King size bed overlooking the ocean was amazing. Bartender is friendly and gave us free drinks a couple times. Front desk is very friendly. We think there was a bed bug or two, but if you cant handle a mosquito bite then too bad. If renting a car, rent the smallest one you can. Parking is in a tiny lot and they pack the cars in there. Very good price compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scottkusf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2008

I just returned from a 4 day St Maarten vacation and had picked the Pasanggrahan Hotel from CNN travel site and also used the Trip Advisor reviews to help my hotel decision. As I've never been to St Maarten before I wanted a central location with easy access to the beach ie walking distance without the fuss of taxis or car rentals. The Pasanggrahan seemed to be in the middle of everything - shopping, restaurants and beaches.

I will certainly compliment the staff on a warm welcome, on being very helpful with just about everything and having the overall homey feel of a b&b. The hotel itself is full of character both inside and out - the lobby area has the royal portraits and the carved furniture while the veranda and bar/restaurant in the back are great to people watch. Food was a bit on the pricey side but I only ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there once.

Having received a tip from one of the jewelry stores I visited that the husband of one of the Pasanggrahan waitresses offered island tours I called Anthony to set up a time to go. For $65 we were gone for 2 1/2 hrs approx going all around the island with a 20 min stop in Marigot to explore the market. He offered island insight, knew the backroads when there was a massive traffic jam and it was overall a very good experience. I also booked him to take me to the airport since from experience I knew booking a taxi and having it show up was an iffy thing when the ships were in port.

The only downside to the hotel was the infamous #11. I didn't realize it was a two story room with pretty narrow steps going to the second floor bedroom. With a bad knee this wasn't going to work for me and I asked to be moved to a single level room. There were the same complaints about the room as other reviewers - the first floor only had one small light over the table so reading was impossible from the sofa, the bathroom was really run down and the majority of the pillows very lumpy and uncomfortable. I did move to #29 which was on the 3rd floor, again with stairs but at least if I wanted a drink in the middle of the night I didn't have narrow steps to contend with. The view was spectacular and it was fun watching the people as I relaxed on the chaise on the balcony - although the room change did come with a $25 price increase.

Although a word of advice, wander farther down the boardwalk away from the marina for clean blue water to swim in - the photos on the website are old since the boardwalk has been built and I found the beach in front of the hotel is full of kelp and not appealing to swim in.

Overall I gave this a 4 dot rating based on the friendliness of the staff, the location to shops, the boardwalk, the beach and the jewelers tip.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olive66CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2008

i stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in january. they gave me room #11 and at first glance i thought it was wonderful to have such a large (2-story) room. but then i realized that i kichenette seemed unusable, the wiring in the room was makeshift (extension cords everywhere), shower had virtually no pressure and there were bed bugs. at first i thought that i had been bitten by mosquitos but by the time i returned home my legs were the home to more than 30 bites. i would caution anyone before staying at this hotel. the upside to the hotel are the friendly bartender and security staff and location.

  • Liked — location, bartender, security staff
  • Disliked — bed bugs
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babygirlohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga tn
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Pasanggrahan. We stayed here two nights before moving to the French side for the rest of our vacation. The price was right. We had a great dinner there and the staff was extra accomodating. A real plus is being able to shop and explore Phillipsburg without the hassel of parking and traffic. The rooms could use a little updating, but I'm sure that is why the price is right. They were very clean and,we really enjoyed the balcony overlooking the ocean. My only real complaint was the spiral staircase leading to our room with no handrails- they had broken off and could have very easily been fixed. I would stay here again, but probably request a ground floor room. We enjoyed a great meal at Antoines but our fish at Holland House was inedible.

  • Liked — view and proximity to shopping
  • Disliked — broken handles on spiral staircase leading to room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ya-ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

A sweet and charming old hotel with great service and charming staff. The room we were in was a little dowdy but perfectly clean and with a great view over the harbor. A coat of paint in the bathroom wouldn't have gone amiss.

If you're staying on the Dutch side of the island (which is far more commercial than the French side) then this is a great choice for an affordable and characterful vacation.

  • Liked — Charming and authentically Caribbean
  • Disliked — Plumbing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.1 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#10 of 12 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse

Property: Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Address: Front Street # 19, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse is St. Maarten's oldest and most charming inn. Formerly a rooster farm, Governor's home, V.I.P. guest house, and Dutch Royal Residence, it is ideally located in Philipsburg on a white sand beach amidst enchanting tropical gardens and enclosed within its original stone walls: a green oasis hidden on Front Street. A national landmark and one of the last bastions of West Indian culture, the Pasanggrahan is secluded and offbeat in the heart of St. Maarten’s capital, and it's a minute's stroll to shops, restaurants, casinos, banks and other institutions and activities. This authentic, colonial style inn has all the special features of a larger hotel including concierge service, the Sidney Greenstreet Bar, boardwalk beach bar, complementary chaise lounges, beach towels, and social hour. “A special place for special people” General Information"This vintage West Indian-style guesthouse has a prime spot on the beach in Philipsburg, sandwiched between the busy, narrow main street of Philipsburg and the harbor. It's set back and shaded under tall trees, a charming relic from another time. In fact, this was once the summer home of the Dutch Queen Wilhelmina, and the interior has a gracious, late-19th-century feel, with peacock bamboo chairs, Indian spool tables, and a gilt-framed oil portrait of the Dutch queen. The small- to medium-size accommodations have queen-size, double, or king-size beds with four-poster designs; some are in the main building and others are in an adjoining annex. The finest have genuine colonial flair, with antique secretaries and four-posters swaddled in mosquito netting, madras valances, hand-stitched quilts, beamed ceilings, and still life paintings. Set among lush palms is the harborfront Pasanggrahan Restaurant, which specializes in fresh fish caught by the hotel's own deep-sea charter fishing boat and family-style dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse Hotel Philipsburg
Pasanggrahan Royal Hotel
Hotel Pasanggrahan Royal
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing