We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rescued from the storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“rescued from the storm”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I were traveling to St Barts in early October. Landing in St Martin, we awaited our transfer via winnair. Rafael, later a hurricaine, was causing weather problems though, so our little flight was cancelled. Quickly grabbing a cab, we hurried to the marina to catch the last ferry of the day in Phillipsburg aboard the Great Bay Express. Barely making it, the ferry bravely took off, only to have to turn around due to the waves of the tropical depression. Back on the dock,faced with having to find a place to stay for the night, my husband and I found out from a local (who was also on the ferry) that Pasanggrahan was only a short walk away on the boardwalk, I had researched hotels before leaving in case we decided to stay extra days before or after our St Barts week, and had decided that Pasanggrahan would be where I would like to stay. Hurrying, we found the hotel and took the last room. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. The room was large-tiled floor, two beds in one area and a couch, TV, table and chairs on the other side of the room (which was divided by a chest high wall). The bathroom was large as well with a tub, double sink, vanity area and two person glassed in shower. The toilet was in a separate room. All was very clean as well!!!

We ate dinner in the small restaurant outside-the fish was nice and the wine great! Breakfast the next morning was delicious and a quick lunch at the bar with the smiling waitress was perfect before trying to get to St Barts again at 4 pm on the voyager-a larger catamaran ferrry on the French side of the island. (This ferry was able to make it, though it was pretty roly poly, to say the least!) I would recommend this ferry for crossing over if you wish for a ferry option. St Barts Commuter Air also would be recommended over Winnair as it is much cheaper! We would stay here again!

Room Tip: We were in the renovated side overlooking the beach and it was very nice. I didn't get to see a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    101
    31
    8
    12
See reviews for
33
117
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My mother and I were greatly satisfied with our weeklong stay at the Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse. It was such a delightful hotel, our room designed marvelously down to the details. Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse has such a great location on the beach boardwalk and in the center of all the great shops of Front Street. You can enjoy the beautiful view from your patio or you can enjoy a homey feel right inside your room. The service was absolutely genuine. From the maid to the front desk clerk, they were sweet and gave great advice on what to do on our first Caribbean adventure. Staying here definitely made our trip fun, relaxing, and full of pleasure. I recommend staying here for an island and personal feel.

Room Tip: Beach side rooms have an amazing view of the ocean and beach boardwalk. You will be dazed into the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We did not stay at the Pasanggrahan but decided to eat dinner there one night and we're so glad we did. The bar is outdoors and you can choose to sit on the porch or outside under the trees. We chose the porch and had the ocean breeze and ceiling fans to cool us. The people who work there are some of the most pleasant and service oriented that we encountered on the island. My husband ordered the lobster special and he is still talking about it! I had a fish special and it was absolutely delectable. Dinner was leisurely, but not too slow and we will definitely put it on a list to do again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed there the first two times we were in St Maarten, Stayed somewhere else this year. That was a mistake. Stop by to see the new building and loved it so much that we went ahead and booked for next year. Quite charming and the nicest enviroment on the island.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 6thohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We choose to stay here for 2 days after our cruise arrived back so we could explore St. Maarten. We usually like smaller local hotels for the experience. Pasanggrahan is conveniently located as it is sandwiched between the beach boardwalk on one side and main shopping street on the other and across the street from a casino (if you are so inclined) You can walk everywhere from here or just sit on the beach. (The hotel provides lounges and towels). While it is touted as a charming guesthouse with antique and plantation furnishings, it is just really just old and badly in need up upgrade. Mirrors are cracked , rust is happening, and the paint is pealing kind of upgrade. We choose to stay in the older section on the third floor ocean front. It was just okay – basically the air worked and the bed was comfortable. We saw rooms in the newer section which was just being completed and there is a world of difference. The rooms are large with lovely décor and new wicker furniture, granite, wet bar, etc. Stay in one of these rooms with a view of the ocean and you will not be disappointed but I think they will be pricey. The new street side rooms would be ideal for carnival parade or similar happenings. But don’t stay in the old section – it is old,not charming!

Breakfast was good. Happy hour was a deal (2 for 1). Staff was pleasant and most accommodating – arranged a rental car for us, made restaurant suggestions, and arranged an early airport pick up for us.

Room Tip: New section rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mchcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Hotel has a great location.We felt very good and safe.I would recommend to stay in new part...saw rooms and they are very nice and modern, but of course if you want to have a old caribbean feel stay in old part.old part is in need of some up keep and as we heard it is already planned, so we are looking forward to stay there again...had breakfast and dinner there ...good service..good food ...breakfast kind of pricey compare to the other places. All together we had a great time!

Room Tip: New part is really new, modern... Gym is about to open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sushifreak2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turner Valey, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We have had some great breakfasts here in the past but this time we only made it for lunch. The service was indifferent. The waitress wasn't all that excited that we were there. The food was bland but one person in our party had the fish and chips which they said was great. We were pretty disappointed especially when we have had such good meals there in the past.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leahsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.1 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#9 of 12 in Philipsburg
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
3.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.3 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Philipsburg
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse

Property: Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Address: Front Street # 19, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse is St. Maarten's oldest and most charming inn. Formerly a rooster farm, Governor's home, V.I.P. guest house, and Dutch Royal Residence, it is ideally located in Philipsburg on a white sand beach amidst enchanting tropical gardens and enclosed within its original stone walls: a green oasis hidden on Front Street. A national landmark and one of the last bastions of West Indian culture, the Pasanggrahan is secluded and offbeat in the heart of St. Maarten’s capital, and it's a minute's stroll to shops, restaurants, casinos, banks and other institutions and activities. This authentic, colonial style inn has all the special features of a larger hotel including concierge service, the Sidney Greenstreet Bar, boardwalk beach bar, complementary chaise lounges, beach towels, and social hour. “A special place for special people” General Information"This vintage West Indian-style guesthouse has a prime spot on the beach in Philipsburg, sandwiched between the busy, narrow main street of Philipsburg and the harbor. It's set back and shaded under tall trees, a charming relic from another time. In fact, this was once the summer home of the Dutch Queen Wilhelmina, and the interior has a gracious, late-19th-century feel, with peacock bamboo chairs, Indian spool tables, and a gilt-framed oil portrait of the Dutch queen. The small- to medium-size accommodations have queen-size, double, or king-size beds with four-poster designs; some are in the main building and others are in an adjoining annex. The finest have genuine colonial flair, with antique secretaries and four-posters swaddled in mosquito netting, madras valances, hand-stitched quilts, beamed ceilings, and still life paintings. Set among lush palms is the harborfront Pasanggrahan Restaurant, which specializes in fresh fish caught by the hotel's own deep-sea charter fishing boat and family-style dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse Hotel Philipsburg
Pasanggrahan Royal Hotel
Hotel Pasanggrahan Royal
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing