We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just "D" Best”

Original Fat Boy Jimmy's
Ranked #47 of 129 Restaurants in Philipsburg
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I have been visiting and volunteering in St. Martin for 8 years now. Our stay on the Island extends now to 2 months and we could eat at the the Original Fat Boy Jimmy's every day inexpensively. However, besides the inexpensive food the meals are plentiful. My wife and I can share a meal and be full until noon the next day. This Lolo also has the best potato salad we have had the pleasure to eat while staying on the Island.
This is our favourite Lolo on the Island and as my opening statement indicated the food is simply just "D" best (as in DELICIOUS). A must try while visiting St. Martin.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Ddarkness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2019

The food is ready to go, just have to wait a few minutes till you can eat at this place. Prices of all food is super good, especially when you go for either the grilled chicken ($3!) or Ribs! These are in plenty loads on the grill as well which makes that they are ready super quick! Also possibilities to get a salad or fries! Just an experience with great service!

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick_Mulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2019

I learned about this place from Trip Advisor and we are always looking for some place different to try out. This is what is called a "lolo" or "food truck" type deal but very good and reasonably priced. If you read other reviews you will see the the BBQ rib and chicken dinner is $11. and the meal is $15 but the meal comes with rice, potato salad and a small salad. They have oxtail soup and other items you can get. You can also just get ribs and chicken by themselves for $3 or $8. If you stop in, and see Francous (heavy set Caribbean man), tell him
Scott and Mary from Chicago said HELLO. Hope he will remember us!!

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Pookie449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019

For starters, this is a lolo, for those not familiar it’s like a Caribbean food truck. Set up at the end of a parking lot. Plenty of parking and seating. Seems to be more of a word of mouth place, as we heard about it at the weekly update/orientation at our hotel (Thanks Tony!).

During the day the cruising is more Creole, at night it is BBQ. A great value (ribs and chicken combo was $11, or a ribs and chicken combo meal was $15). The Meal has potato salad, macaroni and cheese, a green salad, and a lot of rice. Don’t forget to add on a Johnny Cake ($1). They also sell beverages.

True Caribbean roadside restaurant. If you’re expecting table service, 5-star dining, Michelin star plating, fancy table cloths, etc, you won’t be happy. Even though it was outside, there was a nice breeze and surprisingly no bugs.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank skyhawk352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

Spent most of my trip eating at restaurants suggested by others via TripAdvisor. This is one of the spots that you see, smell and just must stop by. Word of mouth helped also. Service was excellent. Although I didn't get a chance to taste the ribs because of the time of day, the sides and Snapper were worth the stop. Save yourself some money and time and the next time you're in Phillipsburg, stop by and pick up a couple platters and maybe eat it on the beach... Helpful hints: Plenty of parking, Cash only

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Fat Boy Jimmy's also viewed

 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Original Fat Boy Jimmy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing