We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Love...Lots of food!”

Freedom Fighters Ital Shack
Ranked #18 of 103 Restaurants in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One Love...Lots of food!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife and I stopped by here after a recommendation from some locals. She is a vegetarian and there aren't many options on the island.
The Freedom Fighters Ital Shack is amazing.
We stopped by for a late lunch (4:30) and we're treated to an awesome feast of veggies, cracked wheat and greens, along with Sorrel Tea.
Amazing food, and this is coming from someone who likes meat. $15/pp, which was a great value!
We had a great opportunity to talk with Ras-Bushman, who runs the place, since we were the only folks in there.
I hope we get the chance to return before we leave the island.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bergerkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patterson, New York, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go here. Your body and spirit will thank you.”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We ferreted out Freedom Fighters based on the Anthony Bourdain review. Hiding in plain sight, it's a little gem on the Dutch side of the island. Immaculately clean and decorated with posters extolling Rasta culture, reggae, and local agriculture collectives, this restaurant's menu changes daily, depending on what's available in the owner's garden. My husband and I feasted on gigantic portions of quinoa, roti, veggies, and freshly squeezed juice (I would love to get that recipe for the ginger juice--it was just right for a hot day!). The owner is friendly and happy to tell you all about his gardens and other local endeavors. Even if vegetarian food isn't on your regular radar, this place is definitely worth a visit. Ital is vital!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great natural food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

the real deal great healthy food. the cook was real jamican. the food was made fresh, and the shack was very authentic

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 610xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Came here off the recommendation of the Dinghy Dock owner. He didn't steer us wrong. I don't eat vegetarian normally, but this was good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
1 review
“Homegrown cooking at it's best!!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

At the Ital Shack you get fresh homegrown food. This is the best for the food is still electrical, that will then nourish your body as was intended by our creator. Not only is the food healthy but it is also wholesome (medicinal). Not to mention the delight for your gustatory senses. I would recommend the Ital Shack to everyone who plan on visiting the island, and also who are living on the island. The Ital Shack does the body good....Go ahead,...You deserve it!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mykey12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedom Fighters Ital Shack also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Freedom Fighters Ital Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing