We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Esperance Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$70
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vicky's Keys(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alicia's Inn(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Holland House Beach Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$215
$201
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
27
34
9
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
34
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolkitchen utensilsliving areaexploring the islandlounge chairswithin walking distancesimpson baybedroom
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 72 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We chose L'Esperance for the price. We only needed a room for one night before our dive trip began and didn't want to spend money for more than just a comfortable night's sleep.

PROS:
very clean room
large, comfy bed
spacious living area with kitchen - refrigerator, microwave and stove
helpful front desk staff
beautiful outdoor areas kept immaculately clean (bring bug spray!)
pool
very quiet neighborhood
steps from grocery store

CONS:
no ice
AC barely cooled a very hot room (we are not big AC users and still were too warm)
no bar soap - bath gel only (not a major inconvenience)
no dish soap or sponge-type thing for cleaning dishes

Overall it was very nice for the low cost we paid and near enough to town to walk for groceries, drugstore necessities and restaurants.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so be prepared to lug your heavy dive gear or other luggage up the stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KimLanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our first impression of the hotel was a little skewed, based on the fact that it took us some time to find it and the location seemed a little iffy. We knew we were not near a beach but this seemed to be in a residential area and most of the surrounding area was a little seedy. As it turned out, we loved it. The staff was friendly and accomodating.....found us a blender and a hair dryer as they promised. The pool was very nice and we mostly had it to ourselves....the only down side was that by late afternoon it was totally in the shade. We were walking distance to 2 grocery stores - Grand Marche and Econo - better options at GM and better prices at Econo. Also walked to a restaurant in the parking lot of the GM on our first night and altho the loc was odd, the staff was friendly and the food was good. The central location of this hotel made it perfect for us as we had a car and didn't plan to stay home much anyway. It was clean, roomy and well situated. My only complaint was that the internet service came and went like an irritating mosquito. Most of the other guest were European....Dutch and friendly, with good English abilities. I think one plus would be to add driving directions to their web site.....but the price was fantastic and we're glad we found it.

Room Tip: We were on the main floor - only 2 floors and maybe 14 rooms total - and that made it handy to have coffee at the pool. The only noise was from luggage rolling over the tile veranda.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shariej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is located in a residential area which a lot of people haven't been to. However, it's not to tough to find. This was our 3rd visit to this lovely little gem. The owners and staff are amazing and very friendly. If you want to visit Sint Maarten on a budget and don't care if you aren't staying on a beach this is the place to stay. We alway rent a car to explore the island and don't go to the same beach every day so this hotel works great for us. The rooms are very, very clean and so comfortable. It's like a home away from home. We feel very secure here as well which is important on a vacation. I miss it already and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leahsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

L'Esperance Hotel is a lovely place to stay when visiting St. Maarten. We went on a holiday to the island in October of this year and found that we had booked the right hotel for us since we prefer small-scale, homely places. We felt very much at home indeed because of the flowery patio with swimming pool and the rooms where you can sit and relax. Also, the owners of the hotel were really friendly.
Unfortunately, upon arrival there was a problem with the toilet in our room and because of that we couldn't check in right away. We were really tired because of the long flight and weren't too happy about this, also because it was unsure how long it would take for the toilet to be fixed. When we finally entered the room, the toilet was still not working properly - it was leaking (clean) water - and during our stay, despite the several attempts that were made to fix it, the toilet kept on leaking. The owners apologized extensively because this was indeed not the way it should be.
However, the room was kept very clean every day so the leakage didn't cause too much trouble. We very much liked the room because of the separate bedroom (with air-conditioning) and the small kitchen with refrigerator in the living area that made it possible to prepare simple dishes. Also, the television came in handy when a tropical storm hit the island and we couldn't do much for two days.
About the location: the hotel is situated in a quiet area and we knew beforehand that it wouldn't be close to a beach. Because we like to drive around during our holidays we had a rental car so that was not a problem for us. There are loads of stunning beaches on St. Maarten and because the island is small they're never too far away from the hotel.
All in all, we had a lovely stay. Hotel L'Esperance is a nice, homely and clean place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. It's off the beaten path, so a car is probably best to have. The room we had was great, small kitchen and a 2 bedroom right off the pool. The staff was friendly and efficient. Would stay again as it was priced just right too.

Room Tip: There are store close by to get groceries. We brought a few of our own things so we didn't have to buy it, like coffee, salt and pepper, sugar etc. Small stuff that could be packed easily and consumed completely while we were there.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews