We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always start our vacation here”

L'Escargot Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 106 Restaurants in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“always start our vacation here”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we've always enjoyed great food at reasonable island prices, and great service at Joel's restaurant. best escargot and sole at a fair price. excellent wine list and the staff is always very friendly without being intrusive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ricardo10023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    44
    23
    12
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“been a long time patron but no longer”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We visit SXM annually and we always go to L'Escargot once. The food is usually good but still not the best on the island. The service is always a little rude considering they know us by name. Call it tradition but we always go back. Never again. The owner, not his wife, was sooo rude on our last visit, merely because we were not happy with our food. I ordered the cesar salad and it was the worst salad I can remember ever having. Every cocktail we ordered was wrong, even the glass of wine. I had the steak au poivre as usual and it was cold tough and the sauce was over peppered and I had to scrap it off. If you want to be treated like welcomed guests and not like a burden I would suggest other restaurants. If however you liked being ignored and enjoy it when waitors roll their eyes than you'll love this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfort,ky
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“everyone has their hand out”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a very average, very expensive restaurant on the Dutch side of St. Maarten.
After a whopping 20% service charge is added to the bill, the staff still expects tips in cash.
The portions are very small , and are very overpriced.
The decor is "cute", but this place is definitely a miss for those who are are looking for a positive experience.
The show has a very popular drag show on Fridays which is loved by those who love that sort of thing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank miamisaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible service, flee”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We'd had a reservation for 8:30 pm. We arrived at 8:15 pm and were greeted by a lady (maybe the owner) without any patience, an arrogant lady.
Only at 8:50 pm we were invited to sit.
A very grumpy man presented us an expensive wine menu, keeping in view the products offered.
We waited about 15 minutes to order starters and dinner.
Only at 9:15 pm they offered us bread and butter!!!
The starters came after 9:30 pm.
When it was 10:00 pm, our dinner had not yet been served. Nobody not even tried to apologize. We got up and went away, starved.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angelo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One of the Worse Dinning Experience of my Life”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We made reservations for 8pm at L'Escargot for Valentines Day out first night in SXM. Walking in the restaurant was nicely decorated and very charming. Then it went completely down hill from there. We arrived 10-minutes before our reservation and hostel/waiter(he seemed to run the place, old French man) told us to sit at the bar area. We thought that meant until our table was ready...though we saw many empty tables for two available.
We sat their for about 10-minutes before he came back and asked us what to drink. When we asked for the wine menu he seemed annoyed and said he'd be back with it. He did eventually come back when he saw us there annoyed 20-minutes later. By this time our reservation had past about 30-minutes and still we were sitting at the bar area while the restaurant was half empty!
The waiter took our drink orders then tried to take our dinner order at the bar area. He knew we had a reservation but expected us to eat at the bar. After 45-minutes if this we were extremely annoyed. I said, we had reservations and you expect us to eat at the bar? We are leaving.
Instead of stopping us and rectify the problem he simply replied. "Okay" and walked away. I was dumbfounded by the rudeness and disregard for customer service.

Thanks for ruining our Valentines Day dinner!!

Helpful?
4 Thank Chau81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Escargot Restaurant also viewed

 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to L'Escargot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing