We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Nearby Hotels
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$312
$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$400
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$578
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Haut Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$91
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$200
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$107
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveler rating
636
194
32
11
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
194
32
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagescinnamon cottageafrican tuliphillside guavaangelina cottagest luciamangobamboo restaurantsugar beachshort hikebedroom cottagetet paul nature trailoutdoor showerfruit treesfree shuttlemade to order eggscocoa tree
Filter
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 873 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2010

One year ago (Fall 2009), I was planning a Spring 2010 trip to the Caribbean. I'd been telling my husband and son (13 yrs old) that St. Lucia was a beautiful island (visited it for one day in 1990). We finally decided to plan a trip to St. Lucia. With many options to choose from, based on Trip Advisor reviews - we decided that Fond Doux was perfect for us. We were right - we loved Fond Doux!

Fond Doux interested us because we love nature, hate crowds, prefer to be away from the mega resorts and get to know the local people. We also are "foodies" having worked in Chicago hotels, restaurants and catering. And yes, we are on a budget so money is an object - we booked the Family Package. (FYI - we have been traveling to the Caribbean for over 20 years and have stayed on St. Kitts and Antigua three times each, Cozumel twice, Isla Mujeres twice, St. Croix, Jamica, and St. Martin. St. Lucia was by far the best!)

Fond Doux is quiet, beautiful and truly paradise. We stayed in the Angelina Villa (we were booked into the Cinnamon cottage and we were thrilled to be upgraded to a larger house.) The Angelina Villa was perfect - we had plenty of space - 2 levels, 2 bathrooms, 2 living rooms. It was wonderful for our son to have his own sleeping area and bathroom. The Villa was in a quiet spot with beautiful gardens, front porch, front lawn. We enjoyed all the spendid flora and fauna (hummingbirds, small lizards, butterflies, and every type of tropical plants and flowers and of course cocoa trees). We walked through the plantation one afternoon exploring the gardens and hiked up the mountain to the overlook - both a must do. The pool area is peaceful and perfect for a relaxing dip - 3 small pools to choose from - and a great view from the deck.

Not only did we love the planation grounds and our plantation house - we loved the food and staff. First the food, we think Gilda is a kitchen goddess. She cooks with love and creativity. We ate all our breakfasts and dinners there. Each breakfast had all the foods we enjoy: yogurts, bakery, fruit, juices and more - our favorites were the johnny cakes and the "porridge". Dinners were a delight: Each night different selections to choose from and we were never disappointed - each night Gilda came out to check on how we enjoyed our dinner - each night we enjoyed special chocolate desserts. Because we were on the Family Package, all meals and beverages were included and we never lacked good food and drinks. We ate our lunches out while we toured the island every day by car and boat, but they will pack a lunch for you if you would like.

And finally, the staff made us feel so at home and by the end of our week, we felt like we were family. Where to start? Our son wasn't feeling well on our 2nd day (1st day lunch on a local beach - oops) - but everyone from our housekeeper to the owner Eroline came to check on him and offer anything to help. He felt so cared for! The restaurant staff was friendly each morning and night - Tracey was so special (she also gives great massages). The office staff was always helpful with whatever we needed (fresh beach towels daily, phone calls to local tour operators, answers to any questions we had) - especially Indira and Rheana. Rheana was so great answering all our questions via e-mail and helping us with our booking before we arrived. Many other staff that I can't remember names were all friendly and helpful.

A couple notes about the island - excellent snorkeling - right off many resort beaches. (Renting a car is ok - just drive slow - roads are curvey but good.) Visit Jalousie Beach, Anse Chastenet, Ti Kaye and Hummingbird for nice beaches to snorkel. We took snorkel trips with Scuba St. Lucia and Dive Fair Helen (and kayaking). If you stay around Soufriere and like quiet and quaint - no need to venture farther north than Marigot Bay (Castries is busy and far). You really need more than a week to explore the island - we are saving waterfalls and hiking for our next visit - nature lovers have plenty to do here. (And personally we liked falling asleep at night to the sounds of the rainforest!)

We left hoping to return soon - but whenever we go back, we will definately stay at Fond Doux. (FYI - we saw just about every part of the island and place to stay but this was perfect for us.)

I have many wonderful photos of the plantation and the island but what I've seen from other visitors will give you a good idea of both.

It is a beautiful and special place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaribSnorkel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2010

Thank you once again for visiting our picturesque Island of St. Lucia and Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

We are happy that you had a safe and comfortable journey back home and that your stay with us was pleasant and our accommodation and service were acceptable to you.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Fond Doux Holiday Plantation in the near future.

In the meantime, we are happy that the Island of St. Lucia and Fond Doux will remain a pleasant memory for you.

Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Last week, my Husband and I went to Fond Doux with our one year old daughter. We loved everything about this hotel/plantation. Because of a flight delay we missed our connecting flight and went to a different airport and Fond Doux sent a driver to pick us up at 9:30 pm. The driver, Jerome was so nice and friendly and very helpful. He told us about everything that we passed and gave us a look into life in St. Lucia. When we arrived security took us to our Hillside room and we found a snack awaiting us. The room was beautiful and we loved it. Throughout our vacation the staff and the owners of Fond Doux went out of their way to help us and make sure that we had the best vacation possible. I have been to many Caribbean islands and St Lucia has been my favorite. The mountains are gorgeous and the beaches are stunning. My family and I felt at home in St Lucia and at Fond Doux. Oh, and we really enjoyed all the fruit and bread at breakfast. The food was great!
We generally dont travel to the same place more than once, but we plan on going back to St. Lucia and staying at Fond Doux. The hotel is great for everyone, families or couples and I hope if you go to St Lucia you consider staying at Fond Doux. I know that you wont be disappointed. Make sure to take time to get to know the locals, their genuine kindness will steal your heart!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AprilBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2010

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Fond Doux Holiday Planation.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliment is very much appreciated.
Thank You! Our team believe in exceeding all guest expectations and we are thrilled to hear that we provided a wonderful experience for you. We are excited to see you and family in the future. Best wishes!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

me and my partner traveled to st lucia for my friends wedding that was being held in the jade mountain resort, i am so glad that i found fond doux it was the most memorable, relaxing holiday i have been on yet!
we booked for 2 weeks and the wedding took place in 1st week and we stayed with the wedding party for a few days then they went home and we got back to fond doux for the remainder of our holiday.
if you are looking to relax and forget all the stress and noise of city life this place is for you ,all the staff are so friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
the food at fond doux is amazing if you like caribbean food its the place for you, just thinking about the chicken creole is making my belly rumble!
we were also lucky enough to meet the owners lyton and eroline
and we spent the evening talking and having a few drinks! bounty rum of course! lyton even took us down to soufriere town to show us around.
me and my partner are planning to get married in the not so distant future and the fond doux is our ideal venue bar none.
fantastic place and people if your thinking of booking go for it we were so glad that we stayed there we had the time to talk and enjoy each others company without distractions ,it was so romantic,and we allso got a free room upgrade , v nice indeed ,i will try to add some photos later when i learn to use my camera .

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Management Representative at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2010

Thank you for your feedback!

Your comments have been very much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed our local cuisine and that your stay at Fond Doux was a relaxing and memorable one.
Lyton and Eroline Lamontagne (the owners) believe in meeting all Fond Doux's guests on a one to one basis which adds the personal touch to this authentic Plantation Resort.
We are happy to host your wedding and to be able to share with you another wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fond Doux soon!

Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at the Fond Doux Plantation. First of all we thoroughly recommend staying in Soufriere, by far the most beautiful part of St Lucia.

Soufriere is a quaint little town close to some beautiful beaches, such as Jalouse and Anse Chastanet. In addition you have some breathtaking views of the Pitons, which are two volcanic plugs that represent the beauty of St Lucia.

We hired a friendly and reliable driver called Marcus, who is well known and highly respected in Soufriere. After spending a few days with him, we could see why he was so well liked.

You only need a day to explore Soufriere on a taxi tour and Marcus will ensure that you see as much as possible, without making you feel rushed. We also recommend a Water Taxi tour.

The beaches in Soufriere are much prettier, and less busy than the beaches in North of St Lucia, where it looked like cruise ships had just off-loaded hundreds of people on to the beach!

In Soufriere town you have a few small cafes where you can enjoy lunch. For dinner, you need to factor in the cost of taxis to the local restaurants, however for most nights we chose to eat in Fond Doux.

The chefs in Fond Doux did a fantastic job, using a lot of fresh ingredients from the plantation or from the local market in Soufriere. The restaurant staff are incredibly friendly and very good at their jobs.

The Fond Doux occasionally has poolside barbeques with live music, which we happened to experience one night. The evening entertainment was an enjoyable experience, but maybe the hotel could have publicised this more to non-hotel guests to create a livelier atmosphere.

The reception staff, Rianna and Indira were well organised, polite and very helpful. Always available to make suggestions and any bookings to help you plan your day.

There was a family oriented environment in the hotel, with a very genuine sense of hospitality. Daytimes in the Fond Doux were often busy with outside tour groups visiting the Cocoa Plantation. However in the evenings there was a much more intimate environment with mainly the hotel guests dining in the restaurant.

Soufriere seems to be the heart of Cocoa Plantations, with a number of plantations within the area. Staying at the Fond Doux you get a learning experience about the hard work that goes into the processing of cocoa beans, before they are sent abroad for chocolate production.

Be aware that since Fond Doux is in a rain forest you may have a slight problem with mosquitoes, so we advise that you spray your room in the evenings before you go out for dinner.

We stayed at the African Tulip cottage, which was pleasant enough, but suggest the owners consider improving the bathroom condition. Also the housekeeping could be improved.

Overall we would recommend the Fond Doux and would consider coming back if we were to visit St Lucia again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelqueen2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Firstly, after spending a week in Saint Lucia, I question why anyone would visit this island, with its small, narrow beaches of dark sand and steep beaches when there are so many other islands in the Caribbean with wide stretches of white sand with much more gradual inclines into the water... the Saint Lucia tourism industry does a great job of marketing the island (read: fooling people into visiting), but Saint Lucia can’t hold a candle to Barbados, Tobago, Saint Vincent, or Grenada, to name a few much better destinations...

As many have said, the Fond Doux Plantation is picturesque, and we had a fabulous view from our hilltop cottage... one of the things that soured our visit, though, was that we weren’t given the right keys for our cottage, resulting in our being locked out after having been down to a late dinner... when we realised that our key didn’t open the lock, we went back down to get help and, to our surprise, all of the staff were gone except for a security guard... there was no way for us to get into our cottage! My husband ended up scaling the pole up to the balcony and going in through the balcony door –- luckily we had left that door unlocked, imagining that there would be no risk of anyone getting in that way!

Also, the insects, amphibians, etc. are extremely noisy at night (and you can’t really block the outside out completely because of the openings in the walls) and the wifi simply doesn’t work unless you are virtually in front of the reception area...

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews