We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing tropical paradise, great service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fond Doux Plantation & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing tropical paradise, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Wow, what a wonderful evening we spent at this hideaway in the rainforest. We splurged for one night after "roughing it" for one week in St. Lucia with no regrets! Excellent service and a beautiful private cottage to stay in. 100% recommended.

Room Tip: "Angelina" is a large cottage for 5 guests, "Bamboo" and several others sleep 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
THANK YOU FOR THE AMAZING TROPICAL PARADISE REVIEW!
Dear Megan H,
Wow, what a simple and sweet review.
We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts about our Plantation Paradise and we are delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your short stay here with us.
Thank you for the 100% recommendation; this is indeed a great endorsement. Hopefully all of those fond memories of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation will encourage you to return for a much longer stay.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    165
    31
    9
    0
See reviews for
148
480
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in the Cinnamon cottage for a week. The surroundings were amazing and we enjoyed the privacy each individual cottage, with its own private porch, allowed us. The staff and owners, who always had a smile for us, were so accommodating. Every request we had was catered to - from extra drinks in our room to the rental of a vehicle. Fond Doux looked after it all. We also had arranged for us a wonderful day exploring the island with our guide Dennis. Very memorable. I highly recommend this wonderful slice of paradise to anyone looking for an exceptional vacation. We hope to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
PARADISE REVIEW –MOST APPRECIATED!!
Dear Melissa B,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Tripadvisor community.
We are very proud that we were able to provide an exceptional vacation experience especially coming from a first time visitor. We greatly appreciate all your positive remarks from the amazing surroundings to our private accommodations. We are delighted to read that you found the team here to be very accommodating as we go above and beyond to ensure that we attend to all the needs of our guests –whether it is to supply extra drinks to our guests room or arrange for a car rental.
Thank you for recommending our “wonderful slice of paradise” and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Once again thank you very much for your contribution on Tripadvisor.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I have been to St Lucia so many times - I am actually building a house there (sadly still incomplete). I knew about Fond Doux but had never stayed until last week. Needing a room for a few days whilst over to check on my construction, I discovered the charm of Fond Doux. Authentic plantation cottages dotted around a lush garden dense with cocoa, banana, heliconia, begonia - with a dense canopy of palms, bread nuts and bamboo creating shade and shelter. It is peaceful and friendly too. The breakfasts are second to none - homemade local bread, omelettes, local fruits. The owner, Lyton, is one of the most friendly and helpful people too - giving me excellent advice about gardening. Fond Doux is unique and lovely - not to be missed if you are visiting Soufriere. The current rates are a steal....

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastasia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
THANK YOU FOR THE EXTRAORDINARY REVIEW!!

Dear Anastasia A,

Thank you for highlighting the unique historical aspects of our eco-friendly boutique plantation hotel and defining the lyrical qualities of this rainforest retreat. This is indeed a powerful endorsement to confirm that our plantation is a living museum which combines a bi-gone era with the sustainable aspect of providing quality service as a boutique resort. We are highly impressed with the superlatives in your review considering the fact that you have been to St. Lucia numerous times.

Fond Doux Holiday Plantation is a hidden gem, off the beaten track and we are glad you took the time to discover our beautiful retreat. At Fond Doux Holiday Plantation one can enjoy the beauty and sultry warmth of the tropics whilst walking through lush fertile vegetation and marvelling at the diverse range of tropical flowers and plant life.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings including the home-made local bread, omelets and local fruits.Saint Lucians are generally known for their friendly hospitality and we are happy to read that you share the same sentiments. We are always happy to give advice on gardening and it was indeed a pleasure connecting with you.

Thank you for your unwavering support of the “extraordinary living museum of plantation cottages and lush garden” and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel consists of various cottages set in the gardens, some in the forest and others on the slopes. Breakfasts and dinners were all good, as was the service by all the staff we came into contact with, the owners were always on site.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFK145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW!
Dear CFK145,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay here with us and that in general our plantation paradise met your expectations in terms of the scenery, location, food offerings and the service.
At Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, we make it a priority to attend to the needs of our guests and we strive to create an atmosphere of relaxation and enjoyment of the simple pleasures of life.
Thank you for choosing our property and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Myself, my husband and our two year old son stayed in Banana Tree for a week. We have the most wonderful time!

The cottage was really private (we didnt need to worry about our son making noise early in the morning) the view was lovely and the surrounding flauna and flora was beautiful. We loved having a coffee on our balcony in the morning watching the hummingbirds hover over flowers.

Our son loved the surroundings and took great joy in lizard, frog and bug spotting. He made friends with many memebers of staff, the cat 'Socks' and loved the chickens. Althought the pool layout is really set up for adults with the lovely drops from one cascading into another our son loved to play in the fountain and the water flowing over the steps. He even had his afternoon nap poolside a couple of days.

The staff were very attentive and friendly. we were made to feel welcome and valued throughout our stay. After the first day of our son sitting on cushions at dinner and breakfast they appeared the next day with a newly made wooden high chair!

The location is perfect for exploring and even the onsite trail gives you a view of the Pitons from the top of the estate (make sure you do the Plantation Tour). There are great beaches near by which you can go to via the shuttle to Sugar Beach or Happiness / Dennis will drive you to one of the of the others (recommend Asne Chesanet and Mamin)

If 5 star international resorts are your thing then Fond Doux is probably not for you - in our opinion such resorts are the same all over the world and dont give you the real feel for the location. However if, like us, you want to feel immersed in the local culture, surroundings and in a slide of St Lucia paradise then you can't go wrong!

Room Tip: Banana Tree is nicely hidden away from the other rooms and up on the hillside a bit so has a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegremlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
THANK YOU FOR THE FANTASTIC REVIEW!!

Dear Thegremlins,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your recent stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay as it is our goal to create memorable family vacation experiences for our guests. Fond Doux Holiday Plantation is indeed a family friendly resort, the land of adventure where delectable tropical fruit hangs from the trees above, where the smell of chocolate wafts by on warm, tropical breezes, and where brilliantly plumed exotic birds call out from the canopy. We are delighted to read that your son was able to connect with nature and that he took great joy in lizard, frog and bug spotting. We are amazed at how easily he adapted to the new rainforest atmosphere and how comfortable he was with the staff members, socks and the chickens.
We are pleased that you found everything to your total satisfaction, including the private accommodation, lovely views, beautiful flora and fauna, perfect location, the nearby beaches, and of course, the friendly and attentive staff. Thank you for acknowledging our efforts in creating a memorable fun-filled family vacation and we greatly appreciate all the positives highlighted in your review.
We couldn’t be happier with your final remark – if, like us, you want to feel immersed in the local culture, surroundings and in a slide of St Lucia paradise then you can't go wrong. Thank you once again for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic family vacation.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed in Tree Top. Lovely outside living space with plunge pool and fab views. Everyone really friendly and helpful. This is a really unique place to stay. Was a lovely mother and daughter holiday. Great breakfast included in cost and nice restaurant.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a lot of rain forest night time noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
THANK YOU FOR THE FABULOUS REVIEW !!

Dear Sue B,


Thank you wholeheartedly for this concise, but powerfully positive review. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable mother-daughter connection at our plantation paradise. We are happy to read that you share the same sentiments with previous reviewers on Tripadvisor, regarding the uniqueness of our property, fabulous rainforest views from the cottages, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast and nice restaurant.

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this magical place in the Soufriere area. The gardens were so lush and our Avocado cottage was like a dream. I think it was the soft, fine linens and beautiful mosquito nets we had. I travelled with my two young daughters and they felt very comfortable skipping around the property, as did I. I enjoyed the changing menu and really appreciate the restaurant staff and kitchen being flexible with the meals as we were on an all inclusive plan. I loved the breakfast buffet and trying new foods and particularly, eating only local and what was in season. I thank the entire staff who I got to know by name, too many to mention here. For the tours, I would try to reserve ahead of time and be specific as to what you want to see so you can get an informed guide particularly for the Heritage tour where we had a driver but no guide, but really was not so much an issue. I would like to return, hike every morning and relax in the afternoons! Some hints: look for the fireflies in the evening in the hike leading up the hill; ask about feeding the hummingbirds, try all the rum cocktails and do not miss the rainforest hike which was great. We can't wait to return.

Great for kids, great for parents and for the city folk who want to immerse themselves in nature for a while and be taken care of.

Room Tip: Avocado cottage is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
SPECIAL REVIEW MOST APPRECIATED!!
Hello Belinda L,
We are delighted that we were able exceed your overall expectations in providing a "magical vacation” for your family and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It sounds like you had an amazing experience and such great fun exploring our property. We appreciate you sharing what made this trip so special to your family including your cottage, breakfast buffet; flexibility with the meals and the friendly staff. The island of Saint Lucia is indeed special and beautiful, as are its people and we appreciate all of your kind remarks. Our staff members will be so pleased to know that they were able to ensure that you had such a memorable experience.
Thank you for entrusting Fond Doux Holiday Plantation with your family vacation and we eagerly await your return to Paradise.
Thank you for your overwhelming support.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
3.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
#4 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.5 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
10.0 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fond Doux Plantation & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fond Doux Plantation & Resort

Property: Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Address: Soufriere 250, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fond Doux Plantation & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort is a 19th century eco-friendly colonial resort nestled in the heart of St. Lucia, best known for romantic, intimate, and private luxury cottages. The resort is situated amidst a 250 year old working plantation and features an assortment of 15 uniquely crafted cottages, two on-site restaurants, and a collage of outdoor swimming pools, as well as an organic spa. The resort is a scenic 45 minute drive from the island's international airport. As a guest of Fond Doux, you will be conveniently located just minutes away from St. Lucia's main attractions, including The Pitons, The Sulphur Springs - 'The Caribbean's only drive in volcano' - and the best diving sites on the island, all within a prestigious UNESCO World Heritage Site. Whether you're traveling for business, a romantic honeymoon or wedding escape, or for a fun-filled family vacation, Fond Doux Plantation & Resort offers the perfect ambiance in St. Lucia for all travel types. A mere glance out your cottage door will evoke both tranquillity and a journey into the land of adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fond Doux Plantation & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation Hotel
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing